Wheel logo

Angel over me

Lucky to be alive

By Doug YeoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

it was August 30th 2015, it was a nice hot summer day. I got my first motorcycle , it was a Kawasaki ninja ZXR 600, extremely fast bike. Well me and my girlfriend we’re going down to Saint Jacobs at the time for a festival , We had a great day , then on the way back about five minutes away from home we were going around a bend down a two Lane Highway, it was very dark and it was a big long wide turn. I was going about 100 km an hour and then I see another car on coming head on in my lane around the corner , also doing 100 km an hour, I thought we were dead , my life flash before my eyes and the car hit us. I pulled the handlebars at the last second and hit my foot right off the bumper , the impact put my foot right through the peg of the bike, I broke my leg and disintegrated every bone in my foot. My girlfriend fell off the back of the bike and slid down the road doing 100 hundred kilometers an hour , it was very dark out there and was on a road with no street lights , I can hear other cars honking there horns and swerving around her as she was laying in the middle of the road , the cars could not see her until they were right up close and had just enough time to steer out of the way . She got road rash all the way down to the bones on her knees , elbows , hands and shoulders. I ran down the road and picked her up off the highway with a broken leg and disintegrated foot, through her over my shoulder and sat on the side of the highway , we hid of the side of the road in the tall grass to wait to see if anyone stopped , the people that hit us did . I could hear them yelling “ oh my god they were on a bike , I think we killed them “. They had called 911 , and within 5 min there was cops , ambulance and fire trucks everywhere , we were still hiding in the tall grass, both injured very bad . We were found by police canine , we both went to the hospital, I went for surgery immediately and she was stuck in bed for three months having nurses come change bandages every day . It was horrible , I thank my lucky stars that if it was two more inches over we would’ve supermaned right through the windshield and would’ve been killed instantly, I also was driving with no motorcycle license, after the hospital I was arrested and taken to jail . I felt so horrible about my girlfriend, to think I’m the one that hurt her. I ended up doing six months in jail for it, and have now and not been able to get a license for the past five years . I have $100,000 in provincial offences fines , it will be a long time before I think I can ever drive again, as for my girlfriend, we both recovered and we both healed up very well, we then later on ended up having a baby girl together. Her name is raelyn anabele and is now three years old , absolutely beautiful and doing very well. Me and her on the other hand aren’t together anymore we split up six days after our daughter was born, it’s a shame because I really wish things worked out. I feel we had an angel watching over us that night because I wouldn’t be here to tell this story if there wasn’t .

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Doug Yeo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.