Wheel logo

After that, we will have a meeting to discuss tyre planning, strategy and car training, and the drivers will talk with us about what we need to do in Friday's practice. In addition, the car will be sent to the FIA for inspection on Thursday to ensure that the car is legal.

Racing info on Friday, we arrived at the stadium an hour early and had a meeting an hour before the first free practice to make sure everyone knew what to do on that day. After the first free practice session, we will have a briefing, and there will be several longer meetings after the second free practice match.

By Aeroiy UnitedPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Friday's meeting is very important because we have accumulated two free practice sessions of data, we can discuss the next strategy, especially the race strategy.

Saturday and Sunday are very similar except that we have an extra meeting on Saturday morning. There is also a meeting before qualifying to discuss tire information and countermeasures.

After qualifying, we sat together again to discuss and determine the strategy of the game, and there was a briefing on Sunday morning.

"the most important thing at work."

You may be surprised that my job is not to be an expert in a certain field. Many of the team's engineers are responsible for different areas, so I need to get information from them and digest them.

For me, the most important thing is to have good communication, to collect different information and to communicate with different engineers, mechanics and team leaders. I think the main thing to do this job is to be able to do well among all these people. and extract the best from everyone.

"three must-have competitions"

The first is my laptop, which contains important data from different departments.

The second is my stopwatch, which is a must in the departure area. The final preparation in the starting area before the start of the race is a bit like military action: there is no room for any mistakes, and it is very important to stick to the time table. I have to keep a close eye on everything that happens, such as when to load the tires, when the driver needs to get on the bus, etc. I need a stopwatch to make sure everything is on time. I don't need to tell others what to do, because people will know what they are going to do at some point, and we need to make sure everything goes smoothly.

The last one is my pen. I used it to record a lot of important information. The people I keep in touch with... The driver himself, of course, and my performance engineer. He is the one who collects all the data and we mainly talk about the training of the car.

"what do you do after the game?"

After the game, we went back to the factory and spent one or two days analyzing our last game. Summarize where it has not been done and where it can be done better.

Finally, based on all the information, we will make a long post-race report, some of which will be sent to the drivers and we will move on to the next race in two days.

"what would happen without you?"

Basically, if there is no race engineer, the team can't work. This is a very important position, a bit like a band conductor. I'm directing the work of a group of people. It's not a person's job, but I got all the information from other engineers, and I have to coordinate with them and tell them what to do.

"what does F1 mean to you?"

It's harsh! It's a great sport. It's something I've wanted to do since I was a kid. When I was eight years old, my father took me to Monaco to watch the first game, which I still remember.

I have always wanted to be an F1 engineer for as long as I can remember, because I know I will not be a race car driver. F1 technology attracts me deeply and there are many challenges here.

Working in this industry will encroach on more of your personal time, and I also have a family. People tend to see only the bright side of the car, but not all the time.

This is a heavy workload, less sleep, stressful profession.

I don't want to say any more negative information, but people must also understand that the world is not all pink champagne and roses.

Ask for retweet, attention, and a big like!

"on his 42nd birthday, he realized his dream of being a F1 driver."

Bernie: F1 has come to the crossroads of survival.

"what will happen to F1 tires that cannot be used in Australia?"

The pose is in place.

Just waiting for you to order.

racing
Like

About the Creator

Aeroiy United

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.