Wheel logo

A Lady and a Camaro

Episode 2: Of All These Cars, SUV's, and Hatchbacks, How Did I Ended With This One?

By OmayPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

My first choice was a Ford Mustang.

My late step dad first car was a 1965 Mustang. It was a used one, rusted on the outside, and old on the inside. He used it for commuting to go to work and church. It was a classic red, still beautiful beside it's rust from all the years of use. I don't recall this car being stuck. But we dealt with flooding one night after church service in the evening and the water was up to nearly the seats. We got out safe but drenched but the Mustang was still going strong.

But how much has changed! There's a lot of different models to choose from. And confusing too, not forgetting the price. I choose to go to the traditional method of looking for a car than going online like many people do now a days. In my case, I like to see the products and test them. Not just watch it at a screen. So I went to the first dealership that sells Ford, got to test drive a 2018 Red Mustang v4. Accompanied by the dealer, during the test drive, I just hit the gas and I didn't feel anything. It was like I was driving my freaking van! I was puzzled! "Doesn't suppose these cars to be powerful? What's going on?" I thought. When I finished the test drive, in the end, the beautiful red car with all the bells and whistles with a touchscreen along with a rearview camera, it didn't rock me on acceleration or the sense of thrill. It didn't rock me on fun or remembrance. Not even a shock! I was a little bit disappointed!

So, I kept on looking. Two days later and took my boyfriend along to help me pick up which one. At first, we stopped at another Ford dealership, and in a few minutes later a tall slender man came up like if we have been invading his property. Didn't even greet us, or even say good afternoon. What he said was just "Are you looking for something specific?" in a tone that basically says: "Please, go away! Why you're interrupting me on my lazy shift if you're not going to buy anything?" He wasn't enthusiastic, he was more like being forced to work, in a place that actually has no customers and were the only ones on their parking lot full of cars. As we looked for certain Mustangs, I told my bf, "Let's get going!" The prices are thru the roof on those models and they were used!

And we made another stop at a Nissan dealership. In there it was pretty different. Some of the dealers were outside like looking for their prey to entice them to buy the newest car models. There's also another lot of used cars and we stumble across a nice looking white car. At first, I didn't like the color. I thought, "Well, it's going to a be a pain in the ass to constantly washing it." But looking at other models my boyfriend at the time convinced me to do a test drive on this car. The car isn't an ordinary car. It is a 2015 Chevy Camaro V6. When the dealership gave me the keys, I was nervous. It felt like I have a piece of delicate porcelain that if I break it, I'm done. This car isn't a beater. This car is a sports muscle. And I thought these cars are expensive!

First things first. Placing the key in the ignition, adjusting my seat and along with my boyfriend I started driving... in the parking lot. My nerves were at all time high. My boyfriend noticed me driving all carefully like an old grandma.

"You know, in order to do a test drive, you have to drive on the road, not on the parking lot." My boyfriend said while having a chuckle. And I agree on going to the highway. When I hit the gas pedal, I felt like I was on a plane on take off. The exhilaration and the adrenaline was fascinating! It makes me forget all my problems and issues and focused on driving and hearing the motor roar louder than a fierce monster devouring everything at it's path. In a few minutes I couldn't figure it out the right words to describe it. But it was the perfect fit. Myself and this sports car were fit like a glove.

But sadly, I have to bring the car back at the dealership. I told the dealer that I'm going to think about it if I'm going to purchase this thing. The moment I left this car, and took my SUV back home, I felt this dissatisfaction in my face the moment I push the ignition to start my SUV. And more when the power window by the driver side stopped working and all I hear is a loud whistle because of the wind from it, I was irritable. We couldn't have a conversation because of the noise. And to top it off, I was trying to get out of my car after we got home. And I bang the door to make this window come down unsuccessfully, asking him to open the door from the outside and repeat the process like 5 times. I was infuriated, frustrated. If only I could have that chance to have a hammer, I could break the damn window kind of pissed.

He knew how angry I was. But my priority was waiting until September to pay this SUV off so I don't have to worry about it. But I'm already worried because even thought it works perfectly fine, I spent a good quality of money on fixing it over 6 years. Shoot! I really don't want to get into the fear of having worse problems due to my issues (still single). I was afraid I couldn't even have the money to fix engine issues. I heard stories of people after they paid the whole amount of the car, their precious car just started to stall or have severe engine problems. I didn't want to go this way!

So, he gave me some info about the car and the value price. But my mind was settled in my SUV issues with the door and the power windows not forgetting the door handle that is still broken. My mood changed, from a happy hopeful person driving this sports car, to a normal self of being irritable, pissed off, struggling single person with a bout of anxiety and depression. With a mentality that I have a car that can go to point A to point B with no problems and I have to be grateful for that. But I didn't chose this. I actually didn't chose to have an SUV. But at least it went from a big point A to a big point B with no problems except for a cracked windshield caused by a truck three winters ago, changing the brakes, replacing the ball bearing, oil changes and getting new tires. It was more of taking care than enjoying it!

"You know what? Get this car!" He said while stopping to look at his phone while looking at me with conviction. "I knew for the moment you drove it, you were incredibly happy! Plus, the Blue book rated this car valued at $18,000 when the dealership offers the 2015 Chevy Camaro for a mere $15,500!" He said, "It's not a bad deal! Besides, you're going to be happy down the road once you get it!"

"But I wonder what's the payments will be." I replied while the dealership explained what's the payments will be an hour ago. Should I go and risk it by getting this car? Or should I continue to wait until I pay it off and be done with? Should I take the plunge? Or should I have to wait for my SUV for severe problems down the road with more money in my hand?

This is it! It is one chance, one shot. "Are you sure, you want me to get this thing?" I asked with my mind running in circles over payments and what not.

"This is a huge offer! You don't have to worry about the power windows or the air conditioner not working." He convinced me to get it. I only have to choose if I'm going to take it or not. Plus, its the same payments as I'm paying it now. So, why not take the plunge? So, I pick a few garbage bags, spent a good 15 to 20 minutes to clean this whole SUV the best that I can with my boyfriend at the time helping me. Got my purse, my car keys and up to this adventure of the lifetime to get this car.

After an hour or so which felt like an eternity, I felt these new keys in my hands as people were greeting me congratulations on getting it. The payments, were lower than what I thought. The car insurance was the same price. For the first time in my life, I choose to get this car. I started to love the color of it. I started to love their interior. I started to admire it's beauty and it's power and what it can do. I didn't want to think about what's gonna happen next.

Now, my car is in my name. I own it! I fought for years to get my credit up after a bankruptcy, a broken relationship, driving into a unknown state to start over to then having this blessing of an attractive looking car. Even if this present relationship could break, I have this medal. Even if I'm going to be single for the rest of my life, I have this precious car that I could take a good care of it. Now, the adventure of having a 2015 Chevy Camaro is just getting started!

designhow toproduct reviewracingpop culture
Like

About the Creator

Omay

Hitting the so call wall is compared to having to think that a plane will arrive with no problems but the reality of it is that it will have faulty issues that can lead to a hard and perhaps disastrous landing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.