Wheel logo

A Lady and a Camaro

Episode 1: Parting Ways

By OmayPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Lets start from the beginning.

It was 2015, in a snowing night driving a 2001 Dodge Caravan. I was going home from work and all of the sudden a few miles closer to home I check the radiator temp at the dashboard and it gauge way up to steaming hot. In a few seconds, I panicked and called my boyfriend at the time and told him about the situation with the radiator. I was surely frightened to be stuck in this winter weather and worse, the roads weren't plowed yet as the snow kept on falling. I was driving up carefully and I was safely home. In the next days, the nightmare to fix my car has begun. It started as this, I went to the main mechanic and spent at first $30.00 bucks to figure it out what's going on. This mechanic was the son of a well-known mechanic in this rural town. He was helpful, honest and reliable. But he delivered the bad news. It was the head gasket. And as I didn't understand what's going on and neither understand about cars and what to do when it breaks, I thought it was an easy fix. But as we went to another mechanic, the news were turning pretty dire. The cost? 1000 bucks. And it wasn't a good sight! My mind was racing like a mice on a spinning wheel as I didn't have enough money to at least save this thing so I can go to back to work. It was paid off a couple of months ago. I asked my boyfriend to call the dealership in which he bought the mini van from. And I specified, "I need and affordable car to go from point A to point B. No an expensive thing, that we can't afford." I said it clearly. Did he heard it? Perhaps. Did he fully understand my words? I don't think so!

As the dealership gave a "deal" on a "car" I still didn't know what type of car it was. I was at work, after my co-worker gave me a ride. As the hours went painfully slow, finally when I finished doing my shift, I figure it out the car he bought on the parking lot that let me speechless.

This. Is. NOT. the car. He supposed to get.

He supposed to get a sedan at least, because he can't fit on a hatchback, because of being morbly obese. So, what did he chose of all the inventory of cars at that dealership? It was a dark blue 2008 Chevy Equinox. I felt speechless in a sense of anger. "How in the hell did you pick up this SUV?" His answer? "Because it fits me." I was mad! Furious! How much does it cost? How much it's the monthly installments? I was like freaking out in the middle of a solution that I didn't expect to happen. And I'm stuck with this SUV with a payment of 320 for 72 months which we have to split in half.

But at least it runs good. At least it has a good sound system. At the time the air conditioner was working perfectly like you're in the north pole on summer days. Although it has it's charms, bells and whistles it slowly got me. Like having something you don't want to later accepting it in the coming months. It was good what it lasted.

That is until my relationship went sour, and with the help of a women's resource center and the police, yes, the police for a civil standby, I was able to get my things, my PS4, my camera equipment and my small TV and got my keys to my SUV and embark on a adventure of my life to escape and start over. When I left, I felt this peace and this freedom as I driving my SUV, without knowing what my future may hold. But I know one thing. It was going to be a huge adventure. During the trip to the South, didn't have no serious problems. This Equinox is a beast!

Still, my worries invaded me. I was a afraid that I could get one of these tires blown or having problems with the engine. But the thing was that none of these happened. I only got a chip in the windshield that got problematic later in North Dakota when my battery died on a -16 weather and have to ask for strangers to jump start it. It became from a chip to a long crack. Still, I managed to get to Grand Rapids, Michigan to see my sister after not seeing her for 12 years. And then, to the South.

Starting over wasn't difficult. As soon as I landed to live with relatives, I started to work at a fast food restaurant for a few months before ending up in a good paying job. Moved to a small apartment. Have ups and downs in relationships, but my Chevy Equinox didn't fail me. That until the air conditioner stopped working. It was my first summer in the South is like living in Puerto Rico but 10% humid and hotter. Went to a mechanic chain and paid 35 bucks to see what was going on and if it's easy to fix. In 15 minutes they told me through paperwork, it needed a condenser, which isn't cheap. Plus, labor, adding freon and parts a mere $3000. My jaw just dropped! How the hell I'm gonna get this money for it? I'm not Kim Kardashian! By Far, the Equinox runs good. So I have to use a hand fan when the heat is unbearable. But in the winter months, the heater was working just fine.

In 2020, during the pandemic, in November when I was driving I noticed a grinding noise when I start to speed up to 40. I quickly freak out and went to the first mechanic. Let's say that he fixed the things I didn't want him to fix: the Stabilitrak and the ABS while ignoring the ball bearing on the passenger side. I was pissed! Losing my car for two days was like I was losing my powers. The noise was there, and I was afraid that this car was going to break at any moment. After I spent 824 bucks on this bastard, a co-worker of mine told me a mechanic that is good at what he do. This second mechanic, however, saved my life. After all I went through, I spend 542 dollars extra to fix it. He did extra. He fixed the light on the passenger side and the problem is fixed. I even forgot my house keys in the office and they were brought to me at my house. By the end of the year, I was emotionally drained. On top of the loss of a family member, the covid pandemic, the unsuccessful quest to get a house, having my car repaired twice was the last straw.

It's NOT you, it's ME.

My relationship with my Equinox was that I tried my best to keep this car in top shape but it felt like a nanny not getting what is worth. Getting oil changes every 3 months, changing the tires every two years. And even paid to get new brakes. Paying the full coverage on my car insurance, and the whole amount of 320 dollars at the credit union every month. But it does it's job. It didn't let me in the street or explode or disintegrate in the middle of the road. Didn't have any serious problems beside those three issues. But I was crazy to pay it off in September when I was choosing between pay it off, and use that money to fix the other cosmetic issues or saving it for a long trip like the UK or Japan, or just do whatever. But the more I grew closer to the goal, the more unhappy I was with my SUV. It was like I didn't pick this thing. Even thought it has a good sound system and everything, the reality of it is that I didn't feel it was mine. Like I have this van picked up and I had to deal with it. It's not about hating the car. It's about having my own identity and my own sense of worth and effort put into a vehicle. Once you have your vehicle, people know what type of a person you are. And basically, I was a very insecure, low-self, shy, person for as long as I got it. Or worse, a mom which I don't have any experience on Motherhood whatsoever. Almost 72 months of nothing but good riding and cruising, along with bad scary moments, being stuck in the snow, or in the heavy rain, it was a life saver. But I choose to get a new vehicle, for the fear that if I pay it off, I will have serious issues with the SUV, just like many people who did. I didn't want to get on that chance.

After paying it for almost 68 months, my car has run it's course on degradation. It's messy, with paperworks, fast food wrappers and cups, and even tax return folders. Not forgetting the two cases of CD's placed in the back and a foldable chair just in case. The right front light is out again so I have to use fog lights to avoid being stopped by the police, like they did before on the left right. There's still no AC, The CD player is busted, so I connect my phone to the aux port and play music like nothing happened. And the door handle from the inside doesn't work so I have to open from the outside. But, to make matters worse the driver side of the power windows is malfunctioning. So either if it's stuck I have to punch it still the windows goes down. Some times it was so frustrating, that I have to go to the passenger side to get out of the car. It was too much. And all my worries goes on how much it's going to cost vs making this SUV last longer.

But am I happy with my SUV? Honestly, No! As person in a relationship, I was surely complacent with it. I never had a flat tire in the middle of the road with this SUV, and that's what's I'm grateful for. Or have serious engine problems, that's a plus! But I had a car for convenience, not for the enjoyment of driving, or enjoying it. I had a car. That's it!

And then there were thoughts running through my mind about what would be my dream car be. At first, I thought getting a Mustang could be being close to my step dad in spirit. But I learn that he got a Mustang out of convenience, of necessity. That old Mustang didn't last long. He was involved into an accident, that the car was totaled. I wanted more than that. More than the sense of independence, it was a sense of identity. Having a car defines who you are. And it was a bittersweet moment, at the car dealership leaving my SUV and part ways with it. To pick a new car wasn't difficult. What I got was surely what I didn't expect it to have. Of all these new and old models I choose a very peculiar car of all these Hatchbacks, SUV, Trucks and Sedans.

Good Bye Chevy Equinox! It has been nice to be for the first 6 years. I will miss you even thought I didn't feel it as my own. I hope that the next people who purchase it, will teach a story of what this car did in those years.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Omay

Hitting the so call wall is compared to having to think that a plane will arrive with no problems but the reality of it is that it will have faulty issues that can lead to a hard and perhaps disastrous landing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.