Wander logo

Wisconsin

Home Away From Home

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 11 days ago Updated 11 days ago 2 min read
2

On a nice warm summer day, it’s close to 80s, with a breeze but it’s the most comfortable place to be on Earth. Traveling to Luxemburg, WI, has been a family tradition since I was a small child, and I couldn’t have asked for a more rewarding trip.

When you look at the state of Wisconsin, there’s that tip of land that breaches off into the Michigan Lake. This is where my favorite place in the world is. Kewaunee County is the home of Luxemburg. In a nice house on the bay, is where Grandpa Howie built his home for his family. I learned a great many things riding alongside Grandpa Howie when he delivered meals to those in need and still delivered the original milk glass bottles.

I was young then, maybe 8. My best friend and her parents were traveling entertainers, so I was waiting on them to return home. But that was okay too. Visiting was an exciting adventure, not only because my best friend had a wonderful imagination, but because I was in a loving and peaceful environment.

When we were young, Grandma De and Grandma Helen (best friends) took Bailey and me (best friends and the grandkids) up to Sister Bay to Al Johnson’s restaurant. It’s a unique Swiss experience. There are goats on the roof, which I always thought was hilarious. And it’s beautiful there. That first summer, we went on what turned out to be an abnormally chilly day for summertime.

Bailey and I were in the process of reading Anne Bishop’s Daughter of the Blood. (Another wonderful treat.) I used to have a reading problem and stuttered a lot then. Bailey was always patient with me. She’d read snippets of the book to me and make me feel like reading and eventually like writing! I blame her for the writer I’ve become.

I can also remember Grandma De, Bailey, and I would sit in the living room in the evenings watching M.A.S.H. Then, on commercial breaks, Grandma De would instruct me to read Shel Silverstein out loud. That summer, coincidentally, we almost cured me of my southern accent. Miraculously, the stuttering finally calmed and stopped. I loved reading. I just hated reading in front of others.

I’ve had a million adventures with Bailey and family. I love them all. I was able to spend a summer traveling with them to South Dakota, to a fair. Best summer ever! We saw the Corn Palace, Mt. Rushmore, and so much more. I don’t know if it’s always about the place and the adventure, or if it’s more about the company you are able to keep during the adventures.

So, taking you to my favorite place in the world, is on the Michigan Bay in Luxemburg Wisconsin. Mom and Dad (Bailey’s mom and dad) are there. Grandpa’s there when he’s not being a snowbird in Florida. Unfortunately, Grandma De is no longer with us, but remains loved in spirit and thoughts. If you ever get the chance to go, I’d highly recommend, Green Bay; Sturgeon Bay’s “The Farm;” and Bay Beach Amusement Park. It’s worth the visit.

travel photographyfamily travelamerica
2

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Lindsey Altom11 days ago

    I felt like I was there with you sis! That was a great article! It also helped me understand you better from when you were a kid and your and Bailey's relationship.

  • Nice article. I'm from Milwaukee and have never even made it to Green Bay or Door County. That's awesome your grandpa had a house on the bay there, must have been fun.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.