Wander logo

Winter Home

Survival

By Jess GambinoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

It was a cold snowy morning atop of the glazed hill where I awakened. The shivers went down my spine, as I stretched out my arms and legs as much as my little body could. The frost around my home was glistening and dripping, as if it were melting by the heat of the sun. A ray of sunshine came up over the hill and shun through my home onto my face. I was delighted, and I quickly let out a long yawn as the warmth came over my body once again. I then turned to my left then my right, trying to decide which way I desired to scramble to my feet. I felt hungry, a slight grumbling came from my stomach. I began to search about my home to find something tasty to eat. Sadly nothing edible was found. Determined to find some food, I had made up my mind to go out. It was a decision not made lightly, but I knew that I must in order to survive the rest of the winter. It was still chilly but the sun helped even out the feeling of the cold breeze. I went out to the edge of the hill, it was now snowing. A few flakes of white floated down towards the ground and landed on and around me. I slowly followed some footprints already made in the snow down the now icy hill. Alert and trying to be aware of my surrounding neighbors, I started to slide a little. I quickly caught my balance. I was feeling very clever that I didn't fall over. I then heard a loud screech a crossed the sky. I looked up, trying not to be blinded by the sun. Scarcely being able to see through the flakes of snow, that had landed on my eyelashes. I had seen a barn owl, it swooped towards my home atop of the hill. It landed on a perch right near my front door. Driven by fear I froze, frightened by the sound. I hoped I was not seen, I did not want to disturb it's hunting. For it was known they hunt during the day as well as night. Still frozen not wanting to make any sound I stayed where I was. Thinking to myself I would have to be careful to remain unseen. The barn owl was fluffing out it's feathers and turning it's head searching the grounds. I must be covered in snow more then I thought, for I was not seen. It took to the sky once again, spreading out it's brown and white wings heading in the other direction towards the mountains and steep cliffs. I heard it let out one last screech that echoed throughout the valley. What a wonderous sight to be seen, even though I had been frightened I now felt rejoiced. I could now continue my search for food. It is usually a quiet area around my home during winter, everyone keeps to themselves. I finally inched away from my spot on the hill where I had froze up. Heading to the bottom once again. It felt a longer walk then normal. Still looking about for any other critters that might come my way. I came upon the path way that led into the woods, which was sparkling with ice and snow. The footprints I was following came to a stop, at the trunk of a tree. A white rabbit sat in front of me at the base. Just above it's head was a wide hole in the tree. It stopped twitching it's nose and looked at me. I had nothing to fear from a rabbit so I smiled and gently scooted up the bark. Then the rabbit ever so quietly hopped away. Inside the tree it was surprisingly dry. The far corner was piled full of my spring collection of acorns. They were untouched and tasty looking as ever. As I started to eat, I smiled to myself. Oh how clever I had been to have had a second home in winter. Feeling grateful for making it in one piece, I gleamed out of my home out over the snow. The sun was now starting to set as it went behind the hill I caught a ray on my face once again. I started to doze off, thinking, dreaming of what adventures tomorrow might bring.

nature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.