Wander logo

Will Bucaramanga become the next hotspot in Colombia?

My review of Bucaramanga.

By sara burdickPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Buc Park

I am a bit of a creature of habit. I sit in my room, listening to the rain on the tin roofs around me.

The sound drowns out the loud music blaring a minute ago and drowning out the sounds of cars passing by. Yes, when will I ever learn? I’m not too fond of cities.

I have been in small towns or pueblos for the past month. I enjoy my daily walks around Pueblos, checking out the locals, walking by the cows and chickens, and loving on-the-street dogs.

However, I decided to check out the city of Bucaramanga. I have heard so many good things about it, the overlooked city of Colombia.

The charm of the parks, the lack of tourists, and the slow, steady up-and-coming nightlife may one day rival Medellin. But don’t ask me about the nightlife; I am snug in bed by 10 pm.

I must say, no, lo sieto mucho Bucaramanga. However, you will never be Medellin. First of all, there are no Paisas here, which is the charm of Medellin.

I know you are reading this thinking, but Sara, you don’t like Medellin. That is correct. I have a new appreciation for the city and why so many move there. Will I move there? No, never.

Yet do I miss the charm of the Paisas? Yes.

I wanted to love this city, and I am a bit of a lazy traveler these days. If I can not walk out of my hotel, walk up a mountain or sit in the square, or explore the waterfall, on foot without taking a bike, taxi, or bus. I have zero interest.

The first day I got here, I thought ok, I saw on the map a Parque de Agua; I asked the girl where it was and if I could visit. No, it’s closed for repairs.

Ok, and are there other parks? She rattled off a bunch and then told me to see a small town outside the city or go to the municipality of Floridablanca south of here.

I am a lazy traveler, I came to see Bucaramanga, not the towns around, or I would have stayed there! I also picked the wrong hostel, well, it’s an amazing hostel, but it is only near a mall and a small dog park.

I have gone to the mall twice; I’m not too fond of malls, so that tells you something, I did have to resupply my skin cream ( ladies, Isdin has the best skin care ever, it’s from Spain).

The best part of the city is they have my creams.

So yesterday, I decided to find a nice brunch spot, explore, and find the town center. Usually, there is a square. Instead, I found more malls, shopping, and another park, not great, but green space.

The city is a bit meh, big, dirty, hot, and below my expectations.

At least I came, and tomorrow I leave, where it is almost 7 pm, and I am still deciding.

I have applied to two volunteer gigs, and one will accept me; if not, to the bus terminal, and I will decide when I get there.

The food here has been delicious, so that is one thing I must say about Bucaramanga; other than that, the accent is thick, I need help understanding anyone, and I have to ask them to repeat or slow down constantly.

If you love to shop, this is your town; I prefer to avoid shopping.

I have only two or three pictures, I did not film them as I did not feel safe with my go-pro out, and I have seen more homeless in the Santander region than in the rest of Colombia, possibly the closeness to the Venezuelan border, and it breaks my heart.

Yet it is a global problem.

So far, my favorite city in Colombia remains Manizales and that region. However, I have only one month left in Colombia; I have gotten too comfortable and need to mix it up, plus my visa will be expired soon.

Yet I have promised to meet my sister on the other side of the world, she is going to work, and I encouraged her to go, with a caveat that I would meet her.

So I am going to the motherland of my people, and I am so excited, a change! Yet, I have one month left here in Colombia, so I will vow to only go to Pueblitos from now on!

XOXO

S

south america
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.