Wander logo

Why You Should Learn Another Language and Take It to Another Country

A Story of a Shy Girl Who Decided to Take German and Then Go to Germany

By Jenna SandersPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
This is a picture I took at my German exchange partner's garden on my second exchange. 

When I was a freshman in high school, I knew I wanted to take German. I signed up for the class and it has altered the course of my life.

In my German program, there are not many people. My German one class was about 20 kids with one other class of the same level of about 18. Now, my German four class consists of eight people. I decided that I should share with the world my journey involving German.

My freshman year, I heard about this wonderful exchange program that my school is a part of, I knew I had to do it. I went home with the information spewing it to my parents so excited. They saw how amazing of an opportunity it was and they let me go.

There I was, an insanely shy 14 year old in another country for three whole weeks. Yet, I was so in my element. I knew what I wanted, and I tried my best to say it. I knew my German wasn't amazing, but I knew it could lead me somewhere amazing.

When someone asks me what my best experience is, I say it was that first exchange to Germany. I'm being completely honest when I say that, it truly was an amazing experience.

This is a picture I took looking out my window of my first house in Germany.

I sat looking out my bedroom window every morning when the sun came up and every night the sun went down. It was gorgeous. It let me think about life and I felt like I was finally finding myself. I made amazing friends there.

Two years later, I decided to go again. This time, it was even better. My German had improved and I only spoke German with my exchange family as much as I could. I was at home again.

The second time, I made even more friends. I was so beyond happy, and I finally was myself. My partner and I got along insanely well, once again. It just made me feel like I was at home.

I was no longer afraid of what was to come. I knew that the future was going to be an amazing place, and I was ready.

Coming home was so hard both times, but I was homesick and it was good to be back.

These exchanges allowed for me to see the world in different ways, and it allowed for me to see myself in different ways. I wouldn't take either of them back for the world.

This is the last picture I took in Germany. It was during the farewell party during sunset.

Learning German and going to Germany for a total of three weeks changed my life forever. I am beyond grateful for those experiences.

So I challenge you, yes, you reading this, learn a language and go to that country and use it. It's different than just visiting. You'll see.

The German flag hangs on a wall, prepping for the German National Soccer Team to play.

student travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.