Wander logo

Why Xel-Ha in the Riviera Maya is Not Your Average Water Park

An Eco-Water Park where Snorkelling is King

By Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl TravelPublished about a year ago 4 min read
7
Image by J. Ketelaars from Pixabay

Intro

If I told you that I went to a water park that only had one slide, you’d probably assume it was the world’s worst waterpark! But not this time! Xel-Ha Park in the Riviera Maya is based in an inlet of the Caribbean Sea and is an incredible spot for more natural water activities making full use of the natural landscape and wildlife. It’s unlike anywhere I’ve ever visited.

It’s funny, when I heard “natural water park” I had imagined natural rock slides into the water, rope swings, and diving boards, I thought it would be a lot more low-key. But it’s couldn’t be more the opposite of low-key. I’d describe it more as a theme park for snorkelling and as someone who loves snorkelling, that’s just fine by me!

You get handed a snorkel when you enter the park and every few feet there are steps into the water leading to yet another incredible area for snorkelling. It was wonderful, just hopping in and out, snorkelling all day long.

Here, I’m going to guide you through what a full day out here looks like.

Arrival

I was sceptical when we first walked in, it was by far the most commercial thing we’ve done so far on our trip and the most expensive. Even though our tickets were labelled “All inclusive” at the gate we were great with a barrage of upsells and add-on experiences along with a giant gift shop, it actually felt quite overwhelming.

One thing I should note is that one of the first things we came across was dolphins in captivity. I believe that large marine animals that should be covering miles and miles in the wild just shouldn’t be in captivity. I didn’t realise they would be here and found it a bit of a shock. It made me feel immediately guilty for being a part of it.

Trying to shake off the icky feeling, we decided to take a look at the map and see where to start exploring this huge park.

The One and Only Slide

Image by Maria from Pixabay

Our first port of call was not so natural, the only water slide in the park. A giant helter-skelter-style waterside overlooking the ocean. As we queued up the stairs I became more and more apprehensive of the height, I realised that it wasn’t an enclosed tube but a half tube.

I said to Joe half joking, half panicking “what is there to stop you from just slipping and popping out over the top and falling to your death?!” He just laughed.

It went a lot faster than I was expecting and at some points, I slipped up to the top of the sides and thought that my fears might be realised! But a gasp, a face full of water, and a high-five later and it was over. I survived.

The Snorkelling

One of my favourite experiences was when we hopped into an area with two gorgeous and enormous sting rays! We were lucky enough to have them glide beneath us several times, each time no less magical than the last. I could have spent the whole day just with them.

Another highlight of the day was snorkelling through mangroves. It felt a little wrong at first because to me mangroves equal crocodiles but thankfully not here. I’ve enjoyed seeing mangroves from a boat before but this was incredibly special and totally different.

We floated face down through a narrow corridor of mangroves, I couldn’t quite decide what was cooler, lifting my head to look up and see the sunlight dappled through the snake-like branches, medusa’s locks cradling the bank or looking below me as fish flash between the hanging roots as it darting through the bars of a cage.

Image by Ravini from Pixabay

Water Activities Galore

We then walked through the forest to come to a cliff with people queueing up to jump off into the water. Joe obliged as he always does and I watched from the side lines, the proud, dotting girlfriend.

At the end of the park, you could go tubing all the way back to the beginning! We were laughing trying to get two of us into a double ring and wobbled off down the river, again through some mangroves to begin with, trying not to bump along the sides like a pin in a pinball machine.

We came out into the open and enjoyed views of the entire park in all its glory. This was perhaps the laziest of lazy rivers as we moved incredibly slowly down, as it slowed to its natural stop you came to an obstacle course and zip line.

We discarded our rings and ascended the zip line. We flew before crashing into the water and then swimming to the bank.

Ending the Day

Exhausted in the best possible way we wandered back through the jungle boardwalk to the huge restaurant to tuck into a buffet dinner. I was thankful for a buffet, we had worked up on hell of an appetite after the day we’d had!

Thank you for reading! Hearts and tips are always welcome and your support is very much appreciated.

This story was originally published on Medium

If you enjoyed this, you may also like 👇

naturefeaturecentral americaactivities
7

About the Creator

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest

Follow me on Instagram! https://www.instagram.com/sh.t_happens_lost_girl_travel/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    I haven't been snorkeling in years. Loved this!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Terrific!!! Loved traveling vicariously, thank you!!!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I had no idea anything quite like this existed! I think it sounds amazing though! I do agree about the dolphins but maybe they will change that in the future.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Sounds like a very fun, unique adventure! This was a great read, thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.