Wander logo

Why I Stopped Taking So Many Pictures on Vacation

The pictures were for social media, not me.

By Sarah Maclin LyonsPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Ethan Robertson on Unsplash

Why have we underestimated the value of just making memories and being in the moment? Why do we feel the need to capture everything on a vacation with endless photos and videos?

For some, the pictures really are for personal reasons. We want to print photos for a scrapbook or put together a photo album for the family.

For others, the pictures and videos are for every person who we imagine will scroll past our profiles online. We want the double tap. We want the positive comments.

We want the validation and social acceptance that comes with a shared photo or video being received with praise.

We want to share it and show everyone how wonderful our trip was. You didn’t really enjoy yourself unless you post a picture of you seemingly having the time of your life. It didn’t really happen unless you have proof.

The proof is in the perfect photo.

I was never one to show off my vacation pics to people before social media. I wasn’t concerned about what they thought of my trip. I’d come back with a tan and a short but sweet story.

That’s about it. People generally don’t ask about your vacation more than once.

But now, with Instagram and Facebook, I felt the need to capture the most aesthetic photos to share with my followers and friends. I needed to share the great time I was having.

I wanted everyone to know I was traveling because traveling is cool.

I wanted them to see me as happy and successful. Maybe they’d even feel a little jealous of my adventures.

In thinking about other people’s perceptions, I lost sight of why I took the trip. I stopped thinking about my own experiences and started to see my trip through all of the possible eyes of friends, family and strangers who’d ultimately see what I shared.

Every architectural tour, sightseeing walk or moment on the beach was a photo opportunity. I approached each new experience as a photographer or videographer trying to sell the optics of my cool life.

But, that’s not fun when you’re the only one doing it.

My friends and family weren’t as interested in Instagram likes and views like I was so I could tell that I was getting on their nerves whenever I asked for a very specific shot or video.

I’m the only one of my siblings who’s active on social media so when we took family trips, none of them could relate to my obsession with good photos.

My friends also aren’t constantly trying to pose for the gram. They are pretty good with staying off their phones for the most part when we’re together.

When I was increasingly the odd person out who wanted the right photo with the perfect lighting, I became more aware of my ridiculous behavior.

I didn’t want to make people uncomfortable with trying to get them in a picture when they didn’t want to be in one. I felt weird filming my family for my Instagram stories if they didn’t share my exaggerated “Heeeyy” for my followers.

So I started to put my phone away. I stopped reaching for it every second.

In keeping my phone out of my hands and just enjoying the experience, I realized how much you can miss when you’re just looking at the world through your phone.

At first it was difficult to not respond to a beautiful view with “Let’s take a photo!” And let’s be honest, the photo is NEVER as good as the reality. The picture should just be about capturing the moment with friends or family.

I rarely go back and look at solo pictures of myself. I’ll look back at pictures with friends who I don’t see very often. I’ll cherish my family group photos, because we don’t live near each other. The photos with all of us are truly a special thing to capture.

Even then, that’s one photo. I’ve stopped following everyone around like I’m the paparazzi. I’ll get to the top of a hike overlooking a gorgeous view and not feel the need to take a photo. I make a mental note that this is a treasure to see and I tuck it away in my memory.

Photos are great to put on the wall or in an album. Videos are amazing to relive memories from special events. It is valuable to capture your life in pictures, but make sure it’s for your sake.

Looking back at home videos and photos are supposed to spark your memories about the experience. If you’re too into your phone, you won’t have very good memories.

I’ve realized that living in the moment will give me the best memories. Ultimately, the feeling is what you’ll remember. So instead of just seeing moments through your phone, feel them.

travel photography
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Maclin Lyons

Storyteller, Poet and Content Creator. I just write what feels right.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.