Wander logo

Why Every Woman Should Solo Travel ?

I have traveled to very continent on earth other than Antarctica, hitchhiked on every continent, hiked, backpacked, camped, met amazing people. And it has turned me into the braver, more confident woman .

By Rehana KhatoonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Why Every Woman Should Solo Travel ?
Photo by AnneLaure Artaud on Unsplash

I've been solo traveling for more than eight years. I have traveled to very continent on earth other than Antarctica, hitchhiked on every continent, hiked, backpacked, camped, met amazing people. And it has turned me into the braver, more confident woman .

So why did I decide to start traveling alone? Well, I got a fancy job that I thought you were supposed to get working in finance. I did all the things that everyone had told me to do throughout my whole life. And then I realized, like, this is not making me happy.

When I decided to buy that plane ticket, it was not an easy decision for me at all. And I was leaving a lot behind. I ended my lease in California, I broke up with my boyfriend of four years, I took my savings and I went to Southeast Asia, where I pretty much slept exclusively in dorms for the first year. I only ate street food, which is delicious, by the way.

I made amazing friends along the journey. And I realized that like this is not that weird for people from other countries and other cultures. It's weird for Americans, but a lot of young people travel in other cultures to figure out who they are.

Left the boys in the dust, You can't even see them back there, Power of the unicorn hat. You could say I'm still on that trip now, basically, eight and a half years later, completely funding my travels through my online work now.

So these are the biggest things that I've realized over the past eight years that I think everyone needs to realize about themselves and about the world, to make the world a way better place.

By Holly Mandarich on Unsplash

The first biggest thing is learning that you can totally face and get over your fears on your own. We all need to have this experience in life where we are like chief adventure officer. I've got four days ahead of me with this turtle shell.

Solo traveling just strips all of the distractions away so that you are the one making the observations of your environment.

And now, I'm gonna head up north to the north so that I can see some of the other stuff up there. Maybe you never thought you could hike or backpack before. I definitely thought this of myself. And then once I started doing it, I spotted I really like this.. And I actually can do this. I've never hiked at altitude with weight. And this is the first time that I'm doing a multi-day trek on my own.

I'm gonna have to rappel down that, oh my god. I can get on a motorbike and drive myself around, I can totally go hiking and backpacking in the snow. 4750 meters. I'm proud of us. I can hold my breath and free dive down to 60 feet. The next amazing thing that solo traveling gave me was a beautiful trust in other people in our world. Most people in this world want it to be a good place.

The third biggest thing I learned is that trusting in the process is a beautiful thing. You witness so much that you can't help but build trust in all of it. Look back as things in your life all line up and make sense, and you realize that everything just sort of had its place.

Trevor got a flat tire and just left me there. His family came out and just like hung out with me while I waited. A situation that seemed really crappy turned into a really interesting cultural experience. So I was given a chair to sit on, That was nice. It's actually a beautiful place to be stuck, all things considered. I guess they are worse things.

I'm a bit delayed getting up north. But this is not an experience I would have had otherwise. And this is what traveling is. Biggest thing that I learned is that all of these things put together just empowered me to do more of whatever I want.

The world will open up for you in such a beautiful and amazing ways when you let it. Realizing that I'm the only person out here. In every direction that I look, I don't see anyone or anything except for two empty cars. That's such a cool feeling actually. I thought it would be terrifying, but it's...the sunset was so beautiful and actually, it feels really cool.

It's not anything special that I did or anything about me that you don't have in you as well. It's just that I made the commitment to go. So I hope that this article inspired you to get out there.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.