Wander logo

What You Should Know If You Want to Move to Europe

I wish I'd known these things when I moved to Europe in my 20s by myself

By Victoria KurichenkoPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Image: Amanda Bartel/Unsplash

A parental home is a comfort zone that is often difficult or, sometimes, even impossible to leave.

Back in 2017, I left my home country to get a master’s degree in Europe. I moved to Hungary alone without knowing what awaited me once my plane landed in a new place. My parents were far away. There was no one waiting for me in Hungary. I was surrounded by new people, new culture, and a new language.

It’s common to experience anxiety, stress, and fear when you end up in a new environment. How you react to it and which steps you take to get back to everyday living are vitally important.

Moving abroad is a new chapter in life and an experience that no one can prepare you for.

No matter which country you go to, your feelings, thoughts, struggles will be the same.

If you consider moving to Europe for education, work, or other purposes, here is what you need to consider in advance.

1. International Study Programs Rarely Have Local Students (Seriously)

It seems so cool to study abroad and meet new people. It was one reason I decided to get my MSc in Marketing outside my home country.

I wanted to meet like-minded people; I wanted to explore new cultures and make new, life-changing connections.

I was lucky to study with 26 students from more than 10 different countries, but only 2 students were local. I didn’t think it was an issue back then. Later on, I realized how important it is to make connections with locals.

Hanging out with locals helps to integrate into a new society much faster.

At first, I used to google everything: “Best dental clinics in town,” “Local grocery markets,” “Events to visit on the weekend,” etc. Yes, I could find the solutions, but they were rarely the best possible options.

None of the tourist guides or Google suggestions will share what you can learn from local people. They help you better understand the culture, customs, and habits.

I failed to make local friends during university. I didn’t realize the benefits of doing so, and therefore I didn’t try hard enough, and it didn’t happen naturally.

What you can do

If you go to study abroad, try to connect with your classmates in advance. You will already know someone upon arrival.

Connect with locals at your school, attend events (at least right at the beginning), and get to know more people around you. New connections mean new opportunities and insights you’d have never learned otherwise.

Schools often organize events for international students, like dinners, sightseeing tours, and job fairs. It’s a great chance to learn more about a new country. I’ve personally attended a few job fairs and semester opening parties. It’s a great experience and long-lasting, pleasant memories.

Moreover, some universities offer mentorship programs, where you can ask local students for help regarding residency, apartment rent, healthcare, insurance, etc. This information is usually available on the university website. Make sure to check it out before you go.

When you are abroad, you never know how your tomorrow will look like. Hence, be ready for new adventures.

2. Prepare to Wait (A Lot) For Your Residency Docs

Before moving out to a new country, you will most likely need to arrange your residency documents. Immigration policies are not simple, especially in Europe. However, you will not be able to stay there if you do not have all papers ready.

If you come from the USA, Canada, China, India, or any other country, which is not part of the European Union and EEA (European Economic Area), you must get a residence permit to stay in Europe.

Here are just a few things you will encounter while dealing with the immigration offices:

  • Long and multi-step application processes;
  • Be patient to wait (at least 2 months in some cases) to get your residence permit;
  • You cannot leave the country until your residence permit is ready;
  • You might get a rejection if something is unclear for the immigration authorities.

Random people work in the immigration offices. It is their job to serve you, but they can make mistakes too. It will not cause any problem for them, but it might ruin your plans, career, and future.

Here is what you can do to facilitate your experience with the immigration offices abroad.

What you can do

Consult with a lawyer regarding your application, especially if you do it for the first time. Ask your university or the employer to support your application.

You might need a local friend to assist you if the immigration authorities don't speak English.

All in all, you need to be patient. The process is not always easy, but sooner or later, your documents will arrive.

3. No One Cares You Speak English

I was excited to go abroad, where I could practice foreign language skills.

To my surprise, English is not a widely-spoken language in many European countries. Even though most tourist places welcome English speakers, you might be in trouble when using local services, such as banking, hospitals, shops, etc.

Local people prefer the local language. Since I don’t speak Hungarian, I am often “out of the party.” I am not able to join local events and support a conversation with locals. I often feel they are forced to switch to English if they see me in the vicinity. It often makes me feel uncomfortable.

A continuous inability to understand and communicate with people can lead to social anxiety. I sometimes experience a lack of confidence and a fear of talking to locals.

What you can do

If you ever decide to relocate somewhere, do a favor to yourself — start learning at least the basics of the local language. Some phrases you can start with, which I found extremely useful:

  • “Hello,” “Thank you,” “Yes,” “No,” “Sorry.”
  • “Excuse me, I do not understand (language)”
  • “Can you give me this, please?”
  • “I also need a bag.”
  • Learn numbers 1–10
  • “I need something against (headache, throat sore, etc.)”

These are common phrases you have to understand and know while living abroad.

If you consider staying abroad for a long time to work or study, I would highly suggest learning at least the basics of a local language. I know you might be busy and have more important things to do besides learning another language. Nevertheless, you will experience multiple instances where local language skills will save you time and energy.

4. Cultural Disintegration and How Traditional Solutions Can Backfire

I’ve studied with international students in Hungary. As a result, I’ve graduated without knowing the peculiarities of local people’s behavior. It isn’t the best strategy if you decide to stay in a country for the long-term.

People live and work differently across different countries. Italians, for instance, tend to express themselves with gestures, and you can often find them at work after 6 pm. 85% of Germans take their appointments seriously and expect others to do the same. Ukrainians often consider work experience first, while the soft skills and team fit come secondary. Hungarians value personal comfort and corporate culture above everything.

I got used to a different working style than the one common in Hungary. I practiced another management approach, and I expected a different expertise level and the work attitude.

I’ve made many new Hungarian friends, but it wasn’t easy from the very beginning. This is why it’s vital to know cultural differences and the lifestyle of local people.

What you can do

Here is the most powerful strategy I’ve been practicing for several years of living abroad:

Observe and listen more, act and argue less.

This humble advice will save you from multiple issues before you get to know a new environment and start acting accordingly.

5. The Only One Question You Need to Ask Before Moving Abroad

People often move abroad to run away from themselves. They believe a new country would solve their personal issues, and life will eventually get better. Unfortunately, it doesn’t happen this way.

After living for several years abroad, I’ve realized the following:

A home is a place where you don’t feel a need for a change.

Before you move out, ask yourself: "Do I feel at home now?"

If you feel happy at home, then go ahead for some adventures and come back. You need to be honest with yourself, though. Despite the relocation difficulties, you might feel a new country is your new home.

If you can be yourself in a new country, if you can easily make new connections, if your values are not neglected, if you do not feel a need for a change — then you are at home.

It might sound philosophical, but the right questions can guide and help to build a bright future when you are young and motivated to change.

Develop the Following Skills to Survive Abroad

These are the most essential skills you will need to develop to start living a whole new life in a new country.

The longer I live outside of my home country, the more these skills are being developed. If you want to become a part of a new society and smoothly integrate, save yourself some time and start developing these life-essential skills in advance:

  • Patience. Be patient when it comes to building your life from zero in a new place. Get patience to handle immigration processes. A lot of things will be new for you, so be patient and keep exploring.
  • Become a listener. Talk less, but observe and listen more to what locals say and how they behave. It is a key to successful integration.
  • Tolerance. You’ll have to develop a tolerance towards other nationalities and religions.
  • Respect. Show respect and tolerance towards locals and other nationalities. This way, you will earn respect for yourself too.
  • Emotional intelligence. Learn to understand other people’s feelings without asking questions. It will help you to evaluate and adjust your behavior.
  • Multitasking. You will have to deal with way more duties than the locals do.
  • The life of an ex-pat is thought to be a sort of adventure and luxury. Living abroad is a dream — another country, a different culture, and people, but is it that flawless?

    Transition stress and loneliness also give a different definition to this adventure.

    Moving abroad is never easy, regardless of where you go. You might find a new, gorgeous home away from home, or you might feel there is still a need for change. One thing is for sure, though: Your habits will change, and so will you.

    europe
    Like

    About the Creator

    Victoria Kurichenko

    Self-made marketer & content writer. Writing daily. Creating SEO-friendly content for 3 years.

    My site: https://selfmademillennials.com/

    Let's get in touch: https://www.linkedin.com/in/victoria-kurichenko/

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.