Wander logo

What’s the Point You’re Trying to Make?

Lessons from a travel photographer

By James GarsidePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
James Garside | Unsplash

We’ve all got to start somewhere

Japan is where and how I became a travel photographer.

I recently shared some photos online from that fateful trip to Japan.

It was a photo essay that briefly explained how and why I got started.

Although I’d taken photos abroad before these were my first real foray into travel photography.

I’d never even thought of myself as a photographer before — it was just something that I liked to do when I traveled.

People are mean

Someone commented on the photos: “What’s the point you were trying to make?”

My knee-jerk response was to say: “My point is that you’re an arsehole.”

Their comment seemed very rude to me at first but then I saw that they were a talented professional travel photographer and now I have guilt.

Why do I have guilt?

I don’t really. It just made me do a double-take on whether they were asking in earnest. I even said as much to them in my reply.

I also realised that “What’s the point you’re trying to make?” is actually a good question to ask yourself before you take a photo.

It’s also good life advice if you narrow your eyes, squint for a bit, and concentrate.

Don’t be a talented jerk

My Twitter friends were supportive in ways that my real-life friends rarely are.

And, no, I don’t just mean that they dutifully pretended to want to see my travel photos or feigned interest in my life.

They had interesting things to say in support of the theory that the commenter on my photos was indeed an arsehole despite being a professional travel photographer.

You shouldn’t feel guilty about sharing your photos — professional or amateur — and you shouldn’t be shamed for this by strangers on the internet.

If you take travel photos when you travel, and not just holiday snaps, then you’re a travel photographer.

They also pointed out that it’s possible to be both an arsehole and a professional at the same time.

At first I took that as a personal challenge to become a professional arsehole and wanted to say: “Challenge accepted!”

Then I realised that they meant the photographer was just being a talented jerk.

I should probably use my inside voice more often, read things more than once, and drink tea before I read and repsond to anything online.

Either way they’re still right.

Talent shouldn’t preclude manners

A legit famous and wonderful Canadian comedian was also quite chuffed that I called my hater an arsehole.

I won’t say which comedian out of respect for them.

They said: “Well done, neither talent nor photography should preclude manners.”

As someone who loves their stand-up I may have to adopt ‘Talent shouldn’t preclude manners’ as a personal mantra.

It’s definitely good life advice.

Why do I take photos when I travel?

What follows is basically the response that I gave to the travel photographer’s original question.

It’s an honest explanation of why I take photos when I travel:

When I saw your comment on my travel photos: “What’s the point you were trying to make?” My knee-jerk response was to say: “My point is that you’re an arsehole.”

Your comment seems very rude to me and my photos mean a lot to me even if they aren’t very good.

I assume that’s what you meant.

But then I looked at your photos and saw that you’re a gifted and talented travel photographer with an eye for photos that tell a story so now I have guilt.

Your travel photos are very good.

With that in mind I’m going to assume instead that what you asked was in earnest and give you an honest reply.

I’ve been obsessed with Japan since I was a child for reasons that remain a mystery to me.

All I can say is that I knew I had to go there before I died and I cried inconsolably on the plane when I left.

I’m a writer.

These photos represent to me the birth of my travel photography because I’d been to other countries before but this trip was the first time that words failed me.

I didn’t have an agenda. I wasn’t trying to make a point.

I didn’t have a fancy or expensive camera. I knew nothing about how to take a good photo.

All I knew was that I had to take photos because I couldn’t put into words what I felt.

I travel because I want to see the world as it is.

I take photos when I travel because I’m unable to put the experience into words.

The world tells its own stories. I’m just there to record them as best as I can.

Here is a link for anyone that wants to see my photos of Japan.

Incidentally, the cover photo on this story was also taken by me on another trip.

It was accepted by Unsplash. I think I’m getting better. What do you think?

James Garside is an independent journalist, author, and travel writer. Join Chapter 23 for the inside track on all their creative projects and insights about life, work, and travel.

photography
1

About the Creator

James Garside

NCTJ-qualified British independent journalist, author, and travel writer. Part-time vagabond, full-time grumpy arse. I help writers and artists to do their best work. jamesgarside.net/links

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.