Wander logo

What Are The Top 3 Complaints of Foreigners Living in Colombia?

Most of my articles on Colombia are why you should visit, and I must admit the pro list for me does outweigh the cons. However, I feel it is essential to see both sides of the coin on any subject matter.

By sara burdickPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
What Are The Top 3 Complaints of Foreigners Living in Colombia?
Photo by Saul Mercado on Unsplash

I do not believe so much in good vs. bad; I believe in seeing all sides, so when you step into a new country to move or visit, you are aware of the possibilities of what can happen. 

This article will cover what I have seen and heard are the three top complaints from foreigners living in Colombia. With that said, they have not stopped me from living here; it is more about awareness than fear.

So let's get into the top 3 complaints about foreigners living in Colombia.

Very few speak English.

Well, you did come to a Spanish-speaking country. If you are not in the main tourist areas, expect that most Colombians do not speak English. They have no reason unless they work in tourism. 

For example, I took three years of high school Spanish. I had no one in my town to speak to, and this was before the days of the internet; I am that old. So I lost it, I was not working in tourism, and it did not benefit me (hindsight is 2020, right, jokes on me now).

The same happens here. If you go off the beaten track, please know that the chances of someone speaking your language are slim to none. It should not be a surprise, and I am still baffled at the number of tourists I meet and say I expected them to speak English.

The audacity of most of us from western cultures, no a country will not change because you are too lazy to learn. Sorry. 

So if you want to know, I recommend doing Duo Lingo, or you can book a lesson here. My boyfriend is very patient and a Spanish teacher. Besides booking with a local, you learn the culture and history and the accent of the country you want to visit. 

If you want to visit Argentina, book with an Argentine school, this is one I recommend! Links, not affiliates; I used them both.

Charco Redondo, Colombia

Gringo Tax, this does exist.

What is a gringo tax? You will pay more for things, except you will not notice unless you have a local with you and tell you that you are overcharged. Or someone who has been living in the country for years and knows how much the locals pay.

Trust me; it will still be more affordable and economical than any western country. When we go shopping, and I pay for certain things, my boyfriend tells me he always watches to see if they charge me more, and of course, they do not as he is a local and with me. 

Yet if I go to another town and he is not with me, the chances of them charging me more are very high. Let me say them overcharging would go something like this, papaya costs 4k pesos, which is 1 USD, and they may charge me 5K pesos, which is 1.25 USD. See what I mean; you will not even notice.

To be ¨ripped off¨, we do not like the feeling, yet I have come to the understanding that it will happen, and I do not let it bother me. The only time that it is an issue is when a ton of foreigners move to a specific area like Medellin, and the prices end up going up for the locals, and they are pushed out of their site, which is happening. 

Unfortunately, this has happened worldwide, and I see only two ways of stopping it. Foreigners stop moving in, or locals stop charging more to foreigners. Yet this is how the world works; when I lived downtown LA, I paid 1600 for a two-bedroom loft in 2014. Now that same loft will cost around 3k. 

The area got famous, and more people moved in; that is what happens, and I do not see it stopping anytime soon.

So accept that you will most likely pay a tiny bit more for things; it is part of traveling.

Shameless plug below, to give you an idea of the cost of things!

Crime does still exist here in Colombia.

This one is the one that I have the most challenging time with, as I have never been a victim of any crimes here, yet it does exist. Colombia has a long history of civil war, narco-trafficking, and sex tourism. 

If you partake in drugs and seek out prostitutes, the chances of you experiencing some crime are very high. That said, when I am in a city, I will keep my head on a swivel, knowing where I am and my surroundings. 

When you live in a country that has such a violent history, you can not expect it to have disappeared overnight. Poverty still exists, and pickpocketing is very common.

Yet it is easy to avoid if you use a little common sense. Watch your belongings; if you are in a cramped space, have your backpack or purse in front of you. Do not take out any valuables while walking on the streets, and do not walk around late at night alone. 

Like I said, common sense, but for some, it is not that common. If you turn on YouTube and google Colombia danger, you will see enough videos to scare you never to come, yet please do not.

Follow the basic rules above, and you will be fine. I have lived here for a year, and before that, spent four months here, and as I said, I have not experienced any form of crime, not even pickpocketing. 

Yet last time I was in Medellin, a man told me he was robbed on the metro. He had a bum bag (fanny pack) around his waist, and someone took it. He told me this story, and I was like, well, yea, if I saw an open target and had a family to feed, I would have done the same. Not saying stealing is correct, but you hopefully get my point, easy prey.

Me on the metro, my purse always crosses my body, one hand on the rail, the second on my purse, eyes constantly scanning who is around or near me. You may think that is a lot of work, and yes, it can be, yet it is life in the big cities. 

Look at my home country, the USA; people have to worry about getting shot. I prefer pickpocketing over death if I had to choose, which I have, and I am here.

So with the rise in crime worldwide, food shortages, and inflation, use common sense wherever you are.

I hope this does not dissuade you from visiting, and just helps you to open your eyes, as I like to always see both sides. 

Vamos a Colombia!

south america
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.