Wander logo

What a day at Yosemite National Park!

If you are in California, a visit to Yosemite National Park is a must!

By Chelsea MartínezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
What a day at Yosemite National Park!
Photo by Oleg Chursin on Unsplash

Yosemite National Park is a huge wonderful valley with many things to do for fun if you are an adventurer like me. You can hike different trails, camp, enjoy the scenery and even dine, among other things. Unfortunately for me, I only had a few hours to get to know the park so I only got to hike up to where the park is best known for, its waterfalls!

I used the Mist Trail and it took me around one and a half hours to reach the top of the first waterfall, the Vernal Fall. Of course I wasn't just hiking nonstop, I used some time to take pictures and to enjoy amazing views while resting (very necessary).

At the top of the Vernal Fall, there is a flat area where you can take your time to rest, sit and eat (oh yeah, you are going to want to carry some food, hiking can make you very hungry!).

Here you can see closely where the fall starts and you can even sit by the river, you are not allowed to swim though, it is said to be dangerous. In fact, along your way you see a couple of posts describing a certain tragedy that took place there.

And then, you can decide whether or not you want to continue hiking up to the Nevada Fall for a next one and a half hours, or simply go back down. I certainly chose to continue the journey even though I was exhausted already. A little after I started hiking I saw people coming down the trail and I asked them how much longer did I have to my destination, they laughed and replied: "Oh trust me, you don't wanna know but it will be DEFINITELY worth it". That DEFINITELY motivated me more, apart from me telling myself with every step taken that I wasn't a quitter.

So the hiking continued, and then the rain started. With that said, the hiking had to be slowed down because the rocks were slippery and I had to be more cautious. The entire trail itself involved mostly a rocky path or a rocky staircase, with some parts being just a flat path or just plain dirt. At some points you would find yourself along an edge or at very dangerous spots where you have to be completely focused because one wrong step could be a painful or deadly fall. But none of that was going to stop me from reaching my destination. And as such, around one and a half hours later I was again relaxing at the top of the climb, watching the Nevada Fall and falling in love with the breathtaking scenery, 2000 ft. high.

Those people were right! It was DEFINITELY worth it! And it stopped raining!

I had a subway, got myself some pictures and rested for a little while before I had to turn back down for another 3 hours.

Before leaving completely I stopped at the famous Tunnel View of Yosemite National Park. GORGEOUS!

All I could think about was that whoever said that life's a climb but the view is great was damn right!

With that I said, Yosemite National Park is my favorite nature park of the West Coast, USA.

Fun fact: Around where people were camping I saw a warning sign for bears. That was a first, I was shocked! I low-key was hoping to see one. But all I saw around the park were squirrels, they seemed to be used to humans though as instead of running away as they would usually do, they came closer to you, very friendly.

Before hiking any of the trails:

- Be prepared for it to be a long, very tiring hike, unless you are a professional hiker, maybe not so much, I guess!

- Make sure that you are carrying enough water and that you are wearing comfortable clothes and shoes for around a 6 hour journey.

-If the weather forecasts rain, remember your poncho! It saved me on October 2, 2018, when rain became a part of the great experience.

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.” – Helen Keller

travel advice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.