Wander logo

We're Moving! To Texas?

We started in the city, but the country life keeps calling us.

By Ash GutierrezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Born and raised southern Mexican who busts out into her twang just to laugh her way through another day.

I've been so blessed, because I have the future we painted together before we event met.

I moved to Portland two years ago, and the person I moved out here to be with didn't make any of the changes we originally agreed to.

I was ready to call it quits and move back to Florida, where I'd have a loving father happily waiting with open arms.

The thing is, I had a considerable love interest and we both disliked the idea of me running away back to Florida when I knew I had to leave the relationship I was in.

He inspired me to try harder than I actually thought I was allowed to, and give our love a real chance. I lucked out and found an apartment in downtown Portland. The very downtown apartment I'd dreamed about, living the very love life I dreamed about. In fact, I have the very vision board that manifested this dream apartment and I could make a whole post just about manifesting your dreams with vision boards!

Somehow I went from early twenties and completely dependent to being an independent mid-20-year-old complete with fifth story downtown apartment, going on gorgeous dates in upscale downtown with public transportation serving all the stops!

It was the luxury life I dreamed about while watching my favorite show, Friends. That kind of life where everything's just right, even though things go kind of wrong. That life where you're in control of everything you have and the responsibility is nice even though it's exhausting. Daily life can make you feel that after the gym workout exhausted.

Life had our backs and coincidentally my boyfriend's roommate moved out around our year and seven months of dating. Our apartment was away from downtown, much closer to work, and mostly quiet.

It took putting myself in a new situation that made me incredibly uncomfortable for personal growth.

Before moving to Portland, I'd struggled to keep a job for even a year. Making it past two years with a corporate company restored a sense of self-confidence for me. Against my constant depression and anxiety, I went every day to a grocery store and drained everything I could of myself to be a star employee. I achieved becoming assistant and knew I didn't want manager, I didn't see myself reaching higher in this company so it just felt time to climb out of the glass box.

How perfect was the timing? My mom and her husband had 3.7 acres that needed someone to watch over it. If we'd be willing to live the country bumpkin life we could head down to Maud, Texas. Our celebratory time tradition was jumping any chance for camping outdoors, cooking on an open fire, and watching the ripples of water bodies in a good lawn chair complete with cup holder.

We're just seven days away from the truck's reservation date, we dream of things like a llama named Tina. I dream about walking among a sea of chickens with a book in my hand like real life Belle from Beauty and the Beast. I dream about focusing more on fresh meals and nourishing the inner as well as the outer self. I dream of more time to focus on art, writing, and all the things that make me truly happy.

As our story unfolds, we hope to update you on all the wonderful happenings and how inner self will have room to grow as we remove ourselves from the constant drain we felt towards the end of living here in Portland.

It's so important we believe in ourselves, because you can truly manifest your dreams. We're very excited to refuel ourselves.

couples travel
Like

About the Creator

Ash Gutierrez

29 and wandering through life finding their way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.