Wander logo

We Ran away from Scout camp.

By Khool

By Kebrah Khool Published 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
We Ran away from Scout camp.
Photo by Mael BALLAND on Unsplash

I am listening as my mother and twin brother and scout leader argue. John declines the offer to enter grizzly bear country, John is my twin brother almost been side by side our whole lives. I laugh inside as I tune in, I ask myself the question, is he scared of a grizzly bear and I answer myself, I know I am. I am in the room next to them with a half wall separating my noisy ears from there conversation. So I tune in more as John hesitates to explain to the Church guy/scout leader, "well ya.. um you see I have this girl, her name is Heidi and her parents invited me to lake Powell from Friday to Sunday", "Great, you can come with us from Monday to Thursday" brother Page responds and I tune in to the plan that's designed. I realize this guy is full of shit and what he says is a lie. I knew it was a trap and a way for a church guy to be noble and ruin fun. But I act like I believe the guy and go along. "Kerry what do you say"?, "You and I will canoe John out of the camp to meet your mom Thursday so he can be with his shmirlfriend". Nodding even tho the color of his eyes were even brown., "yes I will make sure we get John out" I had done the high adventure briefing that twin was not there for because he was probably smooching his shmirlfriend. I knew the canoe ride alone was dangerous full of bear fishing waterholes. We were to canoe from Lewis lake up a 6 mile river to Shashone lake. I knew how badly lake Powell was a priority for John but man brother that's quiete the distance to go. In my mind I ask will he be ready for this journey, having a sense of the future through imagination. The deal is done John is added to the list of lunatics wanting to adventure through the back country. The day arrives, Monday is here and we unload our canoes getting our water proof containers (buckets) ready. I am dazing off staring at the girls group readying themselves for a hike. Listening more to their hike debriefing than our trip. Interrupted and taken from my dream Of wishing I were on that hike instead. I get a shout from Denny say "Kerry kid, hey are you paying attention". He saw where my eyes were wondering and probably judging my thoughts because that's what this guy did. I answered "yeah sure, of course" but I wasn't listening at all I had already heard and listened to the bad news of the unforgiving nature. Meaning the water and lakes were to be crossed and trailed in a specific manner. Denny is a ex special forces ranger. He never complains, and is like a geriatric GI Joe. He says to me, "okay than what is brother Page saying"?, "This is no joke Kerry scouts from a troop capsized and died of hypothermia"He responded,

"yeah Denny I know and I know thats why we trail the shores as close as possible and take the long way through".

"Great, you can come with us from Monday to Thursday" brother Page answers.

I tune in to the plan that's designed. I realize this guy is full of shit and what he says is a lie. I knew it was a trap and a way for a church guy to be noble and ruin fun. But I act like I believe the guy and go along.

"Kerry what do you say"?, "You and I will canoe John out of the camp to meet your mom Thursday so he can be with his shmirlfriend".

Even tho the color of his eyes were even brown.

I replied, "yes I will make sure we get John out"

I had done the high adventure briefing that twin was not there for because he was probably smooching his shmirlfriend. I knew the canoe ride in alone was dangerous full of bear fishing waterholes. We were to canoe from Lewis lake up a 6 mile river to Shashone lake. I knew how badly lake Powell was a priority for John but man brother that's quiete the distance to go. In my mind I ask will he be ready for this journey, having a sense of the future through imagination.

The deal is done John is added to the list of lunatics wanting to adventure through the back country.

The day arrives, Monday is here and we unload our canoes getting our water proof containers (buckets) ready. I am dazing off starting at the girls group readying themselves for a hike. Listening more to their hike debriefing than ours. Interrupted and taken from my dream Of wishing I were on that hike instead. I get a shout from Denny.

"Kerry kid, hey are you paying attention".

Knowing where my eyes were wondering and probably judging my thoughts because that's what this guy did. I answered "yeah sure, of course" but I wasn't listening at all I had already heard and listened to the bad news of the unforgiving nature. Meaning the water and lakes were to be crossed and trailer in a specific manner.

Denny is a ex special forces ranger. He never complains, and is like a geriatric GI Joe. He says to me, "okay than what is brother Page saying"?, "This is no joke Kerry scouts from a troop capsized and died of hypothermia"

I respond, "yeah Denny I know and I know thats why we trail the shores as close as possible and take the long way through".

He smiled, "okay you did listen to us through preparation".

I knew he saw my eyes wondering but now as I think of how some people listen differently. I picture the most famous picture of the "Sermon on the mound", many people in that painting are doing different things but listening. One looks at a bug on the ground, one person pays attention to the butterfly on the other man's shoulder. I imagine one doing even the sketching of the painting. Some people absorb knowledge doing random things. I'm snapped back to reality as my enthusiastic twin approaches. Reading my concerns with his mind he says, "are you ready" and before I can answer he said "were born to be wild" in a singing tone. Reminding me of one of our favorite movies as a kid.

"Yes I'm ready let's smoke these sloppy fools up this river", trying to sound positive as I concerned myself of journey.

Well nothing exciting but alot of work happened on the journey in. A ranger approached us halfway up the river warning us of a grizzly bear spotting the prior day at the water hole 2/3 up the way. We took a dip in the water once we approached the water hole and jumped off the cliffs. Only a few of us cared to freeze our butts off in the 0 degree Back country freezing water.

Our adventure up on Shashone lake was fun. Most memorable experience was the lake trout Kyle caught while him, Orrin Pope, John and I were side by side in two canoe's. Our canoes moved from the lake trouts force.

The fish wasn't easily retrieved but it was at least a 20-30lb lake trout which I didn't even know was possible they got do big. I also ate a fish raw that I caught by hand. We laughed and kicked rocks while the scout leaders sat around doing most the work. Wednesday came and John mentioned being canoed to meet my mother who was already headed to Wyoming to pick up a brother of mine. And brother Page denied ever agreeing to that and laughed acting like he was a hero. "Yeah John no lake Powell with your girlfriend".

John didn't respond he knew he had been tricked. I coulda saved this from being such a late realization but I would have missed having him around on the trip. John was absolutely defeated and upset that he would miss lake Powell and boats and his fly honey for this boring piles of sticks we were burning.

When him and I got a chance I said to him "We will get you out of here.

"We're getting me to mom by tomorrow Kerry". I literally pre planned by bringing my phone and keeping it ready for an alarm and a midnight escape. To further our conviction we let Orrin know the plan and I gazed at my blue and silver flip phone setting an alarm for about 4am. We didn't even think twice or hesitate whether this was our worse idea yet. By that time we had better plans but until now we have experienced worse maybe.

I knew we would follow through I just didn't know the hell we were about to face.

-to be continued

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Kebrah Khool

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.