Wander logo

War in Ukraine, I am feeling pain in Indonesia

I don't like politicks but I have no choice

By Olga SunnyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I don’t like politic, but politic came to my home. I don’t like politic but I can’t ignore human feelings. When thousands die it’s not politic it’s tragedy. When millions force to leave their homes it’s not politic it’s drama. One thing is to travel for fun or make planned emigration, another — to become a refugee. Travel is filled with adventures, romantic, fun. Escape from war is filled with tears, fear, sadness and hopelessness. As many Ukrainian refugees say, save only the kindness and empathy of other nations. A laugh also saves, although in these difficult days it seems inappropriate. The humor pushes out negative emotions. Sincere laughter allows people to relax and forget for a moment about terrible reality. This way human consciousness saves itself.

What happens in Ukraine tears my heart apart. I am far away in Indonesia, but I have nightmares about tanks and exploding bombs. My parents, relatives, and friends are in Ukraine. For them it’s a fearful reality. When war started I was on a boat surf trip in the Mentawai islands without any internet and phone connection. But a few days before the war I had a nightmare: my cousin called me and told me that Russia attacked Ukraine. I heard a bomb explosion inside my sleep and woke up abruptly.

That morning I thought that I was just too impressed from the talk with my parents the previous evening. We were discussing the possibility of war . But they were optimistic. My father was making jokes and saying that people are panicking for nothing.

I didn’t tell my family in Ukraine about my nightmare nor did I tell my Brazilian husband . I didn’t want to escalate fear.

When the news came I was still in the middle of the Indian ocean. Boat was close to some island and I got some 4G internet for couples of hours.

It was enough time to know the shocking news and to call my parents, my nephews to hear that they are ok and safe. It was not enough time for reading all the terrible details. My psychology was saved. I stayed on the boat another week. Surfing helps me to keep positive and forget a little bit. When you are riding a wave you can’t think about anything else. When you wipe out your brain cleans. It’s like dynamic meditation. No thoughts you are fully engaged in here and now.

I am reading many stories everyday. I am crying inside and outside. It’s so painful. I am safe but I am feeling pain for all Ukrainian people.

I could abstract from all the news and just keep my Bali life. And honestly sometimes I do. Because time doesn’t go back. I even publish fun and beautiful content in my Instagram. For people to relax a bit. For Ukrainian to see that life goes on. For my family to change the subject from war.

But I can’t ignore it completely. I have to monitor what’s going on. That my family could move if needed. My parents live in the countryside of central Ukraine. Its relatively safe for now, but you know what could happen tomorrow, because my country is in that terrible war.

I wish all Ukrainians could leave from dangerous to safe places but it’s not so easy. I dream this stupid war us over and politicians could be smart enough to negotiate and use diplomacy.

I am in Bali but my heart is with my family and friends. I feel their pain and I cry with them. I pray for war to finish in the whole world. I pray for denuclearization and real peace on Mother Earth.

Please like my post write comment and subscribe to my channel. I will write about traveling, life in Bali, surfing, freelance, love and other interesting things

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Olga Sunny

Ukrainian girl, live dream life in beautiful island of Bali. I like it's amazing nature, kind people, reach culture. I felt in love with surfing and Brazilian surfer.

I adore travelling, yoga, dancing, reading, writing. I just love life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.