Wander logo

Walking Through the Woods is Good for Your Health

Walk through your neighborhood (woods) makes you feel incredible.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Walking Through the Woods is Good for Your Health
Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

Last weekend I made a very long walk through the woods in the neighborhood, with my husband and with my daughters. Also, last week I went to walk too with my husband a lot, every night before going to bed. I had such a lovely time walking through the woods in my neighborhood.

Talking to him and talking with him was so much fun, and also, you see another side of your partner that you might not haven seen earlier during your relationship together. And, sometimes talking when you're walking together makes this obligation a little bit more fun. Also, when you walk you together, you totally forget that it is an obligation to talk together in your relationship.

Talking about anything that comes on your mind is good too. Talk about all issues on our work, the issues at home, issues on raising your children, talking about what is on your behavior towards one another, and anything else that comes up on your mind during that walk. All this needs to be spoken about.

What does it feel being in the woods?

Walking through the woods (in your neighborhood) makes you think and it makes you feel to be one with nature. It feels fresh, it feels new every time you walk - even when you walked there a million times, and you come home with new ideas for anything you need to find a solution for, or just writing and being creative anyhow.

Every time I come home, I get inspired by nature, just what life is actually all about. I am thinking about life, I am thinking about any kind of relationships, I am thinking about my new ideas (on how to solve an issue – i.g. at home), I am thinking of what to do when your children don't listen or ding anything wrong, and I am thinking about my spouse. It all makes this feel so very fresh.

I believe a lot of people stay at home these days. A walk through nature in your neighborhood can do a few things on your mind and well-being, such as being more positive in any kind of situation you are in right now.

For example. You have to deal with co-workers who don't do their work properly. Either you can judge them for being lazy, or either you can help them out for finding solutions that actually work for them. What if that person don't know how to use that particular computer program at work? What if your co-worker broke his arm and can't do that physically job anymore he was signed for. Instead of firing your colleague, you can look what that person can do to make his or her work possible.

Sometimes finding solutions takes time to find.

One of those solution I believe that always works, is to walk through nature, through the woods, through your village, or working in your garden. That always helps me when I need to find solutions for writing articles, doing voluntary work, or when I am parenting.

What does it mean being in nature?

Well, being in nature means that it is healthy for your well-being. You – as I said before – will get inspired. There are more reasons nature is good for your health.

A team, led by Mathew White of the European Centre for Environment & Human Health at the University of Exeter, found out that 120 minutes per week in nature led to great response of a good health.

"Weekly contact was categorized using 60 minutes blocks. Analyses controlled for residential green space and other neighborhood and individual factors. Compared to no nature contact last week, the likelihood of reporting good health or high well-being became significantly greater with contact: 120 mins.", the report stated.

“It’s well-known that getting outdoors in nature can be good for people’s health and well-being, but until now we’ve not been able to say how much is enough,” White said. “Two hours a week is hopefully a realistic target for many people, especially given that it can be spread over an entire week to get the benefit.”

I have experienced it myself too.

Besides that I love being in nature, I also feel fresh after I come back at home, being inspired and I feel peaceful after coming back. And I feel very tired when I come back home from the inspirational walk. That means, as I feel it, a good sign the walk you had felt great and was worth doing so.

When did you feel great after a walk from the woods, or when you were in nature? When was the last time you were in nature?

nature
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.