Wander logo

Visit: Leicester

The City of Surprises

By Hayley DodwellPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Visit Leicester

Leicester is my home city. I suppose it is not really up there with cities to visit for a day trip, or a weekend city break. But it should be, as it is a city rich in history. Full of interesting tourist attractions, parks, restaurants, music scene, shopping centres, museums, theatres. A great nightlife, bars, nightclubs. Of course there is also Leicester Market, where many bargains can be found! A proud city; a beautiful city.

Leicester the home of Kasabian, snooker star Mark Selby, the late great Sue Townsend, and filmmaker Richard Attenborough. Leicester has bred some amazing talent. It's a city full of pride. I saw Kasabian play at their home town gig, at Victoria Park, Leicester, in 2014. To a crowd of fifty thousand people. The atmosphere was electric. Many local bands who have successfully taken the music world by storm.

Leicester is in the region of the East Midlands, and the county of Leicestershire. The city lies on the River Soar. There are always exciting events taking place, including the yearly Carrabean Carnival, the Riverside Festival, Western Park Festival, as well as the fixed tourist attractions. Here are my favourite attractions, a must-go-to if you find yourself in the city. All places I have been to, and experienced myself, so I can assure you you won't be disappointed.

National Space Centre

Photo Credit: Trip Advisor

I went here a few months ago, and I really wasn't sure how much I would enjoy it or not. For space science and astronomy enthusiasts this place is a must. I had some knowledge of space, but only the basics. So I wasn't sure if the £15 entry was going to be worth my while.

After being in the Centre less than five minutes, I was hooked! I very quickly discovered why the place is so popular. I found myself fascinated, learning so much more about space. So much information is covered, and the way the Centre sets it all out in the museum is amazing.

I loved the Rocket Tower. But my favourite part, without doubt, was the Dome Cinema. It was an experience all new to me, you lie back, and watch a film, which is happening all around you, it was amazing.

Even if your space knowledge is not top notch, it is still a place to visit. I enjoyed it immensely.

Newarke Houses Museum

Photo Credit: Visit Leicester

I just love this museum. I have lost count of how many times I have been! It is not the biggest museum, but what they have done with the space is just incredible. It's like walking back in time. When I visit I can easily spend hours soaking up the history. Plus it is free entry. Bonus!

You can experience walking down an old 1950's cobbled street, complete with shops from way back when. There is an Anderson shelter, which you can walk through, with war sound effects, it is very realistic, it always gives me chills up my spine.

There is a room dedicated to Leicester's very own, Daniel Lambert. Who was an eighteenth century Leicester resident. He weighed over fifty stone, and was known as Britains largest man.

Curve Theatre

Photo Credit: Trip Advisor

Curve Theatre still blows me away whenever I step inside its doors. Located in Leicester's Cultural Quarter, it is a modern theatre, which opened in 2008, with a very welcoming feel to the place. On entry you can see up all the way to the ceiling, and the glass front is so unique and original.

My favourite productions there are musicals. Which they often have on. I went to see Annie awhile ago. The cast, the sets, the music, were pure perfection.

Do find time for a coffee in the cafe, or if you're feeling wild, there's a bar at the back!

Highcross Shopping Centre

Photo Credit: Trip Advisor

If you enjoy shopping, then the Highcross will be heavenly for you. Located in the city centre, there really is something for everyone. With over one hundred shops, forty restaurants and cafes, and the very popular Showcase Cinema de Lux.

My favourite shop in there is John Lewis, its a joy to look around, and I highly recommend having a latte in their cafe!

You'll find many top name shops, including, New Look, River Island, Next, plus smaller names too. Go along and explore for yourself. It's a shop-o-holics dream!

Leicester Cathedral

Photo Credit: Trip Advisor

The Cathedral is a stunning piece of architecture, inside and out. It's free entry to have a wander around. It's best known nowadays for being the burial place of King Richard III. There is a statue of King Richard III in the Cathedrals ground, make sure you go and have a look at it! It's not to be missed out.

King Richard III was buried in Leicester Cathedral in 2015. With a beautiful tomb, a rectangular block, made of pale swaledale fossil stone. Do ask one of the guides for all the information on the Tomb, it's quite a story.

I have been to see the tomb several times, last time I went a toddler ran and jumped on it, I was about to do that myself! Just joking!

Every time I go, I discover a new piece of Leicester's history.

There are regular services to enjoy too, and if you are in Leicester at Christmas time, the Christmas Carol service will certainly put you in the festive mood.

Leicester is definitely a city to visit. There is something for everyone to experience and enjoy. I must mention Leicester City Football Club too, to see the team play at the King Power Stadium is always a treat. As a city we proudly saw the team win, and become the Champions of the league in 2016. What a dream it was for us all. The city united together again more recently with the sad loss of our beloved chairman, Mr Srivaddhanaprabha. The man hugely responsible in seeing Leicester City win the Premiere League. There will soon be a statue proudly done for the Chairman.

Whether it is a day trip, or a weekend city break, do come to Leicester to discover this wonderful city for yourself. Go for an adventure, come and explore lovely Leicester.

europe
Like

About the Creator

Hayley Dodwell

I am a freelance writer. As well as Vocal, I have also written articles for numerous websites, including, Eighties Kids, WhatCulture, Child Of The 1980's, Online Book Club, GoNOMAD Travel, Hubpages, and ScreenHub Entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.