Wander logo

Vanishing Point Chicago

Reflections on a pre and post COVID home

By Ami WatanabePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Yearning for Chicago

I am torn, at home in two places.

I wrote these lines after completing a pastel drawing of a sunset. I was a teenager whose friend cancelled plans, and I was not brave enough to venture into the city by myself. In short, I missed out on going to Venetian Night in 1999 because I was too chicken to take the train and go alone. Living in rural Crete, my real home was in Chicago; I longed for the adventure of city life.

I felt a strange gravitational pull towards Chicago. Living in the city was more important to me than marriage. Other girls dreamed of their wedding; I dreamed of my city life - the places I’d go and the cool people I’d meet. Other girls plan their wedding colors; I planned my future apartment (bay window, walkup, claw foot tub). It took longer than I expected, but eventually, step by step I moved to the city.

Harris Theater (pre-Covid)

Adler Planetarium

I started working downtown and got the daytime view of Chicago. I would sip small tastes of city life when partaking in afterwork drinks. Occasionally my friends and I would go to dinner and a show at Navy Pier and feel cultured. But even I knew the city had more than Navy Pier to offer.

Navy Pier

Living in Chicago

When I finally moved to Chicago, the struggle commute of getting into the city dissolved into a faint memory. A phoenix of possibility emerged. I lived life at warp speed, 24 hours, seven days a week. The greatest change was inside; I became independent enough to take a risk. To go to places alone.

Chicago no longer consisted of convoluted parking and disorienting streets. Chicago became my backyard playground. To celebrate, I bought a fancy camera, started a blog, learned to network and became the girl of my sixteen year old dreams. I attended independent movies with wine discussions; I partied in furniture galleries, art galleries, tile stores, libraries, nightclubs, churches and loved every second.

Field Museum

Or so I told myself. In reality, I would come home feeling empty and climb under a blanket of guilty emptiness as my manuscript gathered dust. I was exhausted to the point of declining events. I barely wrote on the blog. As an artist, I withered, yet the fun was too steep not to fall.

Then COVID hit.

COVID Living

I was attending two events, one at Coach and another at Hugo Boss on Michigan Ave. I stopped to pick up some groceries and felt a sense of foreboding. Slighty tipsy from the parties with glitter crusting in my eyes, I blinked in disbelief at empty grocery shelves.

March 19, 2020 Inside of Trader Joe's on Ontario Street
Art Institute - these steps are never empty

There was nothing to do. Day by Day, brought new rules. Like dominoes of fun collapsing, my playground of museums and art galleries, shopping and bars closed, halting the momentum of the city to a complete standstill. Spring clouds of uncertainity covered the city. Life seemed to be impromptu and unbalanced.

NorthBridge Mall - Closed for COVID

Dior (Oak Street)

Time stopped. I never thought I'd walk through empty streets, visit empty attractions, and see such desolation. I would traipse through streets without traffic, uneasy at the stillness. I walked suspended in encapsulated disbelief. As a habit from blogging, I brought my camera with me everywhere. It helped confirm what my eyes did not always believe.

The Bean at Millienium Park

Lyric Opera

Through the shutdowns, the riots, and the unrest, I immersed myself in photography. It was a way to get fresh air and exercise physically. But mentally it provided a way to reconcile the reality and history occuring throughout Chicago. My art has strictly revolved around writing and drawing. Photography became my therapy. There were many days where my expression was stunted; frozen in disbelief. With photography, I could still communicate.

Bridge raised after rioting May 2020

Murals to cover the boarded up storefronts
Bridges raised to protect Trump Tower
Under Armour (Michigan Ave) after rioting

Hermes (Oak Street) after rioting

At times, photography was the only proof I possesed to describe the chaos around me. I found another parallel Chicago. As the people disappeared overnight, I entered an alternate version of Chicago. It still felt like home, but the buildings stood a little taller, the architecture seemed more detailed. I noticed dimensions of the city that I'd never witnessed before despite walking past them daily.

Chicago Riverwalk
Chicago Riverwalk

Chi-Henge (event where the sun sets and rises on Chicago's grided street system)

My home settled into a quasi-normalcy. As I adjusted to the alternate reality of COVID times, I became slightly obsessed with mirrored images and reflections. I feel that the mirrored image captures the divide and duality we are currently living.

Lasalle Street (Ceres statue reflected in puddle)

Covid couple on Oak Street

These reflective pictures depict what no words may illustrate. In the present, the empty deserted streets shock me into reminiscing about pre-COVID life. To live in the present Chicago is to exist in the vanishing point of a parallel horizon unknown. The old adage dictates I can never return home again, but home and the moments that built both pre and post COVID Chicago will return in memory, reflected in my photography.

photography
1

About the Creator

Ami Watanabe

Ami Watanabe is a visual artist from Chicago. Her work has appeared in the Scribblarean, the Pond, The Calumet Press, and the Southeast Observer, and Performance Response Journal. Check her blog out at www.diamondlifeadventures.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.