Wander logo

Universal Trip

Day 1

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1

Our first real stop in Florida will be Universal studios. My father got us tickets for 2 days but a special was happening so we really have 5 day park hopper tickets. We definitely won’t be using all of the days but I have a schedule for the 2 full days that we will be using, plus the halfday for horror nights. So we are going to take this day by day and I will go ahead and preface this with; our Universal days are going to be much more relaxed then our Disney days if for no other reason then we are season passholders to Hollywood and I have no problem spending two whole days in the Harry Potter section of the park.

We will be starting our park days on Monday, we will of course be rope dropping because I don’t like lines. Opening is at 9 and I want to get as much done as possible, but I am also very aware of how long lines can get. I am hoping that is mitigated a little by the fact that we are going on a Monday firmly during the school season. But I suppose we will find out if everyone else had the same idea. Now I of course want to spend a lot of time in Harry Potter world (there is so much of it, I am so excited). But we have to get the rest of the parks out of the way first, so we will be starting with Doctor Doom's Fearfall, The Incredible Hulk Coaster, Skull Island and the Jurassic Park and Jurassic World rides. We then have 2 hours of scheduled shop and wander time and during that time we have a food checklist! Starting with the Dr. Suess part of the park with Moose Juice, Goose Juice and Green Eggs and Ham where I am looking forward to pizza tots and a sugary drink. I have to make myself excited for Universal food but Disney food is just so much better.

By 3PM we will be in Harry Potter world in line for Forbidden Journey. An actual meal will be had at the Three Broomsticks where we will enjoy The Great Feast, even though that will inevitably be too much food for my dad, mom, husband and I. They say it's for 4 people but it's definitely more for like 6 people. We will then go on Hagrids ride and park hop over from Islands of Adventure for the rest of the evening. Taking the Hogwarts express is probably the thing that I am most excited for. But upon landing at Universal studios we will get the rest of the park out of the way before I firmly ensconce myself in Harry Potter.

The rest of the evening will be spent on Revenge of the Mummy, Hollywood Rip Ride Rocket, E.T. and Men in Black. The lines for those will inevitably take up the rest of our night. I am trying to be realistic with wait times because who is affording the express passes? Seriously $120 for a fast pass is actually insane especially when your tickets are the same price as Disney’s…getting a little big for your britches there Universal.

We are going to be very busy and there is lots to do but I am hoping with my very well thought out plan we are able to do everything that we want to. I feel like I know how to navigate amusement parks pretty well and I am very efficient so I am hopeful. Now we might be hindered by the fact that my joints don’t work the way they are supposed to but I bought myself a cane so theoretically I’ll be in less pain.

guidetravel listspop culturelistbudget travelamerica
1

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.