Wander logo

Trip to the Farm x2

A different way to fly

By Victoria LaPointePublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

Playful dust bunnies rolled around on the floor under the sofa as I reached under and tried to trap them with my broom, when I heard the phone ring. This was in the eighties, so cordless phones were the new big thing. Not wireless, not cellular (a smart phone would have been seen as straight up magic) but cordless, meaning that they still had to be near their base to work and if the power went out they went with it. One of the cool things about them though, was that you could wander around and do things while you talked without pulling the ever-tangling, extra-long phone cord into the next room with you to drag things off tables and catch on your favorite lamp. (I still miss that lamp.) The freedom to move around unencumbered was great but, inevitably when the call was done you just laid the phone down where you were and continued with what you were doing when it pulled you away to answer it. Thus, the phone was anywhere but where you were the next time it rang.

This being the case that morning, I dropped the broom and headed for the stairs and the extension in my bedroom. I grabbed the handset in the middle of the third ring feeling proud that I had reached it before the caller hung up. Generally, back then, when the phone was picked up mid-ring you were connected, but not this time. The earpiece droned out the dial tone. No dead air or click to signal that the caller just gave up too soon, just a dial tone. This seemed odd to me and I felt an intense niggling sensation between my shoulder blades as if someone was really trying to reach me. I got quite anxious, in fact, so I climbed up onto my bed and relaxed into a meditation to see if I could get a fix on who it was.

The trance state came on quickly and I found myself watching the zigzag path of a small, brilliant green bee. I followed it until it landed on a bright pink rose where I watched it as it snuffled around in the pollen, dusting its head and legs with yellow. When I looked up again I found myself on a crushed stone path in a garden. As I turned and walked along the path I noticed that it led to a circle of the same crushed stone that wrapped around a central circle of rose bushes with three other paths like the one I was on leading out from the center. In the middle of the central circle of roses was a huge quartz crystal cluster. The bushes were well tended and in full bloom with vibrant colors ranging from snowy white through many hues of yellow, orange pink and red to deep, dark purple and the scent was amazing. Outside the main circle there were also rose bushes with other flowers and shrubs intermingled. Insects buzzed and whirled lazily around the blooms and cast off brief flashes of color as the sun hit the wings of butterflies and the flashy metallic carapaces of beetles and colorful bees. There were also two stone benches diagonally across from each other on the round path. Seated on the one farthest from me was Joan G. She was a channel (remember it was the 80’s) who had given various classes and workshops on developing intuitive and healing abilities which I’d attended, and the owner of a communal farm in Washington State where I planned to visit in a few days for one of her workshops. I walked over and sat next to her and we discussed Universal connections and plans which I really didn’t, and still don’t, remember though I have the feeling that those plans and connections are still with me.

The day arrived to travel across the country from Rhode Island to Wa. and I boarded my flight. We were all settled in and had begun taxiing out to the runway when the plane stopped, and we sat there waiting our turn to take off. I thought. But after Ten, then fifteen, then thirty minutes, the Pilot spoke over the intercom and told us that they were having electrical issues and were working on getting them straightened out. Again, I got very anxious. I was worried about arriving too late to meet up with a couple of other women who were coming from different states. We were to meet in Seattle and rent a car to drive up together. But I was even more anxious about the plane. I closed my eyes, sank into a light meditation and began to imagine energy flowing through me to the electronics of the plane. My focus was to align the flow of energy to all the junctions it needed to connect for things to react properly. I had been doing this for about fifteen minutes when the pilot’s voice came back over the intercom and told us that things seemed to have worked themselves out. We took off only about forty minutes late and made up the time in flight. I met my friends on time, we rented the car together and headed north from Seattle to a tiny town called Acme.

Having arrived in the evening, it was full dark when we drove across the cattle guard at the end of the drive to the Farm. We pulled into a side area off to the right of their curving drive, parked and set about pulling our bags out of the car. One of the couples who lived there met us outside the door of the main house and led us to a large barn that had been converted to a conference center where we could leave our bags. We were all to stay in various guest rooms available for those who came for the many classes and workshops Joan offered. After setting our things in the rooms we gathered and walked over to the house to meet the others who lived there and say hi to Joan. It was a bit late to stay up chatting, so we completed our greetings and headed back to our rooms with instructions to meet back up at the house for breakfast at 7am. Having come from the east coast, it was three hours later for us, so we were grateful for the brief meeting.

In the morning we woke easily, tended to our morning routines and headed over in time for breakfast. Their dining room was huge and furnished with a long beautifully made table with benches on each side that easily accommodated eight, and two chairs at each end. This was to be a rather small group as the workshop we were attending was relatively advanced and specifically open to people from across the country so we all fit quite comfortably around the table. Once settled, I found myself next to one of the residents living there permanently and we began chatting about this and that. At one point I mentioned the meditation I’d had a few days before and she began to smile as I described the circular garden. She took hold of my elbow and said, in her deep southern accent, “come on with me, hun.” I followed her through the kitchen and out a back door. We walked across a patio and onto a path of crushed stone that led to a circular rose garden with a huge quartz crystal cluster at its center. The path we were on was one of four heading out from the central circle and bordered with more roses and various flowers and shrubs. She pointed over at the two stone benches, turned to me with a big smile and asked, “Like this?” I was suitably stunned and excited about what, it seemed, I was capable of doing.

After breakfast, we all walked out to the barn, found seats and settled in for the beginning of the workshop. It took us a very short time to get settled, I imagine because everyone was as excited as I was to begin this intensive work. Joan had been preparing while we were having our meal and came out to sit in her big chair at the head of the room already channeling the entity she called the “Emissary”. As we all sat quietly waiting for The Emissary to begin a quick movement caught my eye and I glanced to my left to see a tiny green bee hovering over my left wrist. It didn’t land but it didn’t move away either. The sound of Joan taking a deep breath caused me to focus back on the front of the room just as she looked up at the group and then directly at me and asked in an odd growly voice, “How was your flight, dear one?” I blinked and stuttered a bit, surprised that she seemed to know about our sketchy start and said, “It started out a little bit scary but I pulled light in, up under the plane and through the wires. It seemed to correct itself.”

She replied, “That was good.” And began the workshop.

For this photo I used my Samsung S9 smartphone and enlarged it with Google Photo. The color has not been enhanced or changed.

travel photography
Like

About the Creator

Victoria LaPointe

I'm an intuitive Tarot card reader. It's my day job and I love it. My journey began in 1977 when I had my first card reading. I was astounded and inspired so I bought my first deck, began to learn and I'm still astounded and inspired.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.