Wander logo

TRIP N DAISY - Episode 4

Visit Imagine Peace Tower on Iceland

By Len ShermanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

How much time had passed since that humongous whale had flipped the Hippie-Hangout through the cerulean sky and Aquaman, Jason Momoa had dived to the bottom of the sea, I have no idea, but when it materialized on a narrow twisty road and heading downhill, I thought we were time-travelling rather than having a mind-blowing experience. When the heavy blue smoke from the bong faded away, leaving only the sweet pungent aroma of its contents, I could scarce believe my eyes. Coming towards us in the middle of the road was a Viking riding a bicycle and not only did he have a helmet containing a set of horns on his head, but he was also wearing a pair of designer sunglasses. I don't know whose eyes bugged out the most, his or ours? Talk about a mind-blow!

Shortly after passing the strange looking man, muscles on his muscles, we met some other residents that appeared to be rather normal. Didn’t exactly look like us—beads and peace symbols hanging around our necks and flowers in our long hair—but not from another era, centuries ago. They told us we were in Iceland, which I thought was strange because I couldn’t see any ice anywhere, not even ice cubes for our drinks. However, stranger yet, it was rumored that a clan of actual Vikings from the 10th century also lived here, their exact whereabouts unknown but thought to be residing in some caves located on nearby Drangey Island. The Icelanders weren't too surprised that we had come across a Viking, even riding a bicycle, because they were suspected of sneaking about and pillaging the countryside, especially on dark and stormy nights. Apparently, a Viking ship was occasionally spotted too, an intricately carved dragon at the bow, shields attached to the hull and its sail silhouetted by the moon.

I'd have to think of someway to visit Drangey Island because meeting a real live Viking was a must. However, before searching for a Viking’s lair, we had to check out the John Lennon Imagine Peace Tower. After all, that's what our Hippie-Hangout is all about—groovin' to peace and spreadin’ the love.

The Peace Tower had been built by Oko Yono on Viðey Island in Reykjavík in memory of her husband, John Lennon. The tower symbolized their campaign for world peace and while we were parked near its base, Daisy baked a delicious pan of brownies (her own magical recipe). After devouring several bites, the sweet chocolaty flavor bursting in my mouth, I stretched out on the bed and set my mind free. As I thought about world peace, the sun had barely dipped below the horizon, when a tall shimmering light suddenly shot out of the Imagine Peace Tower into the heavens like a spotlight.

My being felt as expansive as the universe, starbursts of thoughts exploding in every dark cavern of my mind, as we began cartwheeling through the heavens. Man! I may have eaten too many brownies crossed my mind and before I knew it, Daisy and I soon arrived at Drangey Island, but without the trailer, which seemed a little odd, since I was almost convinced it was a portal through a magical door or a time machine. However, the timing was great because the Vikings were in the middle of a feast and we had the munchies.

I'm not sure if we were a mirage or if they were because no one seemed to notice us when we sat down on one of the benches alongside the long wooden table where everyone else was seated. Grabbing meat-laden bones, the size of a brontosaurus’ back legs, we joined in. While everyone was gorging themselves with fistfuls of meat, blood dripping off chins, we tried conversing. However, we didn't understand Norwegian if that's the language they were speaking. The only standout word was ‘Odin’, which was yelled often, while lifting huge mugs of mead high into the air.

They were a rugged looking group of people, dressed in furs, hides and crotch-tight Spandex. However, as the evening merriment continued, they began looking at us a little oddly, that is, until Daisy passed her pan of brownies around. Before long, everyone was smiling and laughing hysterically, especially when the guy on the bicycle we met on the road, rode in and instantly fell over; too much mead I suspected. Whether it was the copious amount of food, drink or brownies or a combination thereof, almost in unison, the Vikings began falling asleep and then poof; we were back inside our trailer parked near the Peace Tower.

I don’t know if my imagination was on overdrive, if I was dreaming or hallucinating because when I awoke and began rubbing my eyes, a large shadow descended over our Hippie Hangout and poof; a giant eagle suddenly swooped down and began lifting us skyward!

DON'T MISS OUT on our magical mystery world tour—become a friend and follow our Trip 'n Daisy page on Facebook or Vocal.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Len Sherman

I'm a published author/artist but tend to think of myself as a doodler\dabbler. I've sailed the NW Passage & wrote & illustrated a book, ARCTIC ODYSSEY. Currently, I live on 50 semi wilderness acres & see lots of wild critters in the yard.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.