Wander logo

Travelling during covid

Staying safe and having fun while avoiding other people

By Lora DanielsonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
Bear Creek Falls, Glacier National Park

I have always been an avid traveller, for many reasons I have stayed in North America even leading into this year of covid but this is the first year I have been stuck in my Country. I have to say in the month that I have been able to hit the road I have discovered so many beautiful trails, small town markets and local spots that I have passed by every day but never had the time to appreciate their value.

Bear Creek Falls, Glacier National Park was one of many falls that I had never taken the time to pull into but passed by almost twice a year for most of my life. Located in beautiful British Columbia, this 95 meter hike down hill, had me in awe of it's glorious scenery and kept me on my toes with possible hidden animals in the luscious bushes, incline of the path and fairly narrow width with a sharp edge, I had to remember to look at my feet for unexpected roots and dips to prevent a tumble while taking in the sounds, site and fresh air. After spending weeks in the smoke blowing through from wild fires in the United States, this was a breathe of fresh air.

My whole hike I only encountered one family and another couple down at the waterfall. The staircases leading down and then back up are well built but extremely deep and a little intimidating with no railing for comfort. Being a figure skater until 13 I utilized the arms out for balance technique as we frequently did for learning jumps and one legged poses on ice and made my way ungracefully down the stairs. Being alone on a path, every noise makes you stand on edge, but in the era of social distancing having very few people and eventually no one left out by the falls but me it made this journey even more enjoyable.

At the start, and finish of the hike (There is only one way in and out of the area), the large grassed area holds tables to enjoy a nice picnic or visit off of the ground, and a well kept bathroom with no running water but available hand sanitizer and a big step up from an outhouse. This is a wonderful area for kids to play, pets to run and just to enjoy the outdoors without a crowd in a extremely beautiful landscape. Although I have only covered one of my many stops, I felt that this place in particular deserved its' own piece to give it recognition. The hike to falls will take about 20 minutes, the uphill does not have a time on it because that will be determined by how good of shape you are in, But the approximate hour you can spend doing this, either by yourself or with your friends and family is well worth the trip and you can utilize this space to fill up a whole day. There is camping close by as well as a hotel on the lake so you can even enjoy this without having to rush home when you are done.

canada
3

About the Creator

Lora Danielson

I am an aspiring travel writer, I create websites, digital marketing professional for individuals and companies. Newly an Amazon associate please check out some of my favorite books.

https://amzn.to/327ntJI

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.