Wander logo

Traveling Across the Countryside

Traveling Across the Countryside

By Nick GuciPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Traveling Across the Countryside
Photo by Federico Respini on Unsplash

Last year, my four children and I were going to Southern Indiana and Louisville, Kentucky. We are from Mississippi, so it has been a wonderful trip for us especially since we are not used to traveling. I used to go there to need a job test.

When I start a journey, I think that packing and making sure that one does not forget anything is part of the journey. that's especially true when one of your teens is diabetic. We packed up last night so we could get up early and start.

I own a Chevy Avalanche, so the only thing that needed to be done was to make sure it was able to move. it's a real moving car. many rooms, but can also get good miles when one is on an open street. i used to wonder how well he did with mileage.

Arriving at Interstate 65 which was close to direct in Louisville, we cross Alabama on Highway 24 ... which always seems to be the construction that takes place on it! By the way, try touring without GPS. Use the Atlas. That's what we've done, and it's honest. My sister didn't think we could go up there without GPS, but well ...

When we arrived at Interstate 65, we headed north. I have been to Alabama and Tennessee before, but not in Kentucky or Indiana. However, driving in Nashville, Tennessee is a particular challenge because there are six lanes, and there are forks and if you enter the wrong road ... you have to go back and start again. We set up the fork in the wrong way at the same time and visited Kentucky and saw nothing but Interstate and therefore the trees. I have decided in any case to drive to Nashville that when we return, we will not take that Interstate. Besides, I wanted my children to explore the countryside.

As we approached Louisville, I became more and more nervous about driving to this city. I was wondering if driving in Nashville was so bad, what would Louisville be like ?! Shortly after our arrival in Louisville, we heard thunder ... and boy it had been raining! I bragged while crawling, the old Avalanche remained as stable as possible. It was like a thunderstorm, but we finally got to the other side. After that we arrived in Louisville.

Louisville, Kentucky was the most important city we have ever seen. it might have been difficult under normal circumstances, but they were working full-time in the provinces in the city! DETOURS! Hewu. But with all that, it was easier than driving through Nashville. i feel something very challenging about driving during a place like that changing lanes. i feel like everyone knows that sometimes you have to show up in your light bulb, to talk. I felt that we were the only people inside the Mississippi landmark, and I felt as if everyone there knew exactly where they were going except me. However, we became proficient in Louisville, and crossed over to Ohio after seeing this great KFC center my kids wanted to review.

Our hotel was located in Sellersburg, Indiana, which was the size of a town we were accustomed to. The hotel was not the easiest I had ever stayed in by any means, but it was perfect. I took my job test the next day, so the next day we went home.

It seems that the journey back home is always shorter than the long journey.

I told the youth that we were going to see the southern part of Indiana, so we took the 62nd highway because it was following the River. However, I even decided that “it too” existed within the country, so we came to Interstate 64, and even if it was Interstate, it was the best thing I ever had. Little did I know that Southern Indiana was so beautiful that we took it there. When we got to Capitol Hill Road as we were going up the hill, we saw MILES, and there were farms there with red barns, and soybeans. I don't know if I've ever seen so many beans in my life grow in one place. And if it wasn't for beans, it was corn ... and it was good.

When we arrived in Evansville, Indiana, I was very tempted to go across the Illinois tip and see what it was like, but I thought we had better go to Kentucky because we had to beg home, so we took the 41st highway from there. talk about being in the countryside! And if it were Indiana beans, it was CORN in Kentucky! it was unbelievable. I had never seen so much corn in my life. We saw nothing, except houses, miles and miles away. When we got back to Tennessee, the road was as strong as the waves. it has been going up and down for a long time. Finally, we headed back to Mississippi on the 45th highway. it was an exciting journey.

So don't be afraid to go out to the Interstate and see the agricultural areas. you do not know what you are missing, and it is something your children will always remember.

travel lists
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.