Wander logo

Travel Gear

Exploring & The Gear I Bring

By Steven AltmanPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
Trains running across Europe 

It has been almost a decade since I've had the pleasure to look out across my former backyard and watch the rolling hills sprawl across the Alberta prairie. In that time I have spent my life playing a sport I love, hiking and traveling in Europe and the USA. Wherever I go to play I make a strong effort to really explore the sites around me, the city and all its wonderful weirdness. In this article I will be focusing on the gear I take with me that always seems to do the trick.

Footwear

Depending on the type of day I might have planned and the length of time on my feet, I usually opt for 2 types of shoes. For short walks, especially in a city, taking your favourite pair of runners, cross trainers, or athletic style shoe is the way to go. Right now I am using the Nike Free Trainers in a very neutral colour. They go with anything I want to wear, light and comfortable. If it isn't snow or rain, these will be the shoes that are pulled out for a day trip walking through the streets of Copenhagen or New York.

If the plan is to be out for a hike, even if it is a city park, I will bring along my Salomon X-Chase mid GTX, light weight trail boots. They're water proof, have toe protection, and are light and supportive. Coming in black and looking a lot like a sneaker helps for them to not stand out when heading on big walks within a city either. When you spend 8 hours trekking over cobblestone roads and uneven pavement, your feet will get sore. These will save definitely save you a few times. They are made of Gortex which will keep your feet very dry and have an inner lining to help stave off moisture from getting in. Now, this is not a brand known to be inexpensive so I suggest signing up for newsletters and looking for deals that you can grab. I ended up picking my boots up at the end of season for a steep discount, plus with them being waterproof if you grab a good pair of warm socks you now have winter boots too.

Pants

To keep things light, minimal, and easy I have one pair of hiking pants by prAna that I take with me everywhere. They have small vents to keep you from getting over heated in some of the most important places, they are water resistant and dry fast material so even if you get soaked and continue on your path they can will dry while you are still wearing them. Beautiful bonus when going through a country like Denmark or the southern regions of Sweden where rain can and will come at a moment's notice.

The stop cut material adds a little more confidence that my pants won't become shredded exploring abandonded buildings or on rocky terrain. In the past, with all pants really, I have been known to snag and rip them. Once that happens it is only a matter of time before they become clean up rags at home or work. The pockets are fairly good, with the back pockets having a cover over top if the opening, easy to put your wallet in, hard for it to fall out. The final piece I enjoy is the built in belt. I never have to worry about forgetting my belt and I know they will stay in place and do their job.

Backpack

I have been using an Osprey Talon 11 for the last few years. It isn't big by hiking standards but for general commuters and travels it is a blessing in disguise. It fits a lot more than first meets the eye. If I am going city exploring I will try to leave my bag at home unless absolutely needed. For trips out to the mountains and more unfamiliar territory it will tag along. You never know what can happen on a trail, especially if it is a new one and you don't know the area like the locals. It has enough room to keep clothes, water, food, and extra things such as my knife, safety blanket, and first aid kit to name a few. Over the years this has been my go-to bag and it has seen its fair share of abuse on planes and buses to mountians and trails. After 3 years of hard use the colour still holds up, I haven't ripped it and it still has no wear marks. All of these are huge pluses when factoring the cost in. The return over time has made it a favourite.

Other Brands

I haven't had the luxury or experience to test and try all the brands around, in fact I think I've barely scratched the surface. When I look to load up my travel gear or head out on a hike I want to feel confident that my gear won't let me down. As of now Osprey, prAna and Salomon will always be in my repertoire. Below I will add some companies that have really peaked my curiosity and for you to take a look at.

  1. Fjällräven- A Swedish brand that is extremely popular in the day to day commute world. Everywhere I go during my day whether it be Sweden or Denmark I see people using their bags. The logo is unmistakable and the design floats towards simple and tasteful. They are conscious of being eco friendly and focus on having a product that works from mountains to sea level. If you are looking for a clean and stylish look being in the city but having something that would work in nature, give them a shot.
  2. Norrona- Norwegian company that specializes in surf, ski, mountaineering, hiking and lifestyle. They seem to have all their bases covered and focus on making the best gear around. Compared to some other brands, they do tend to be on the pricier side of things but when you research the company, you'll find some interesting pieces. Created in 1929 they value roots, innovation and passion. They want to get people out in nature and exploring like those before us. The biggest eye catching piece is what they call "loaded minimalism" all the things you should have none of what you don't need. Simple design, straightforward use and a 5 year warranty. This is one that I am waiting to try out.

I will leave at those for now. Happy exploring and enjoy the journey.

Banff, Alberta, Canada

travel gear
Like

About the Creator

Steven Altman

H

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.