Wander logo

Travel Advice

Every Last Detail That You Could Need

By Bri ColstonPublished 6 years ago 16 min read
Like

Traveling; it’s something we do everyday. Whether we’re just traveling to work, to school, or home, we all travel. However, some of us travel far and wide—sometimes to our nation’s capital for a school trip or across the world for a business trip. With those long-haul trips, anxiety seems to only be amplified with intruding questions like “What should I pack?”; “What should I say?”; “What should I not say?” Although I may not have all the answers, I’m hoping to share my experience with you and help out for this thing we all do everyday.

Packing

No matter where you’re traveling, you’re always going to have to have a packing list. Making lists are essential to packing. First, I start out with how many days I will be away from home and then add two more outfits that will be needed in case of emergency. Here are some of the questions to ask yourself:

“Will I need a swimsuit?” There is nothing worse than getting to where you need to go and realizing that you actually needed a swimsuit. Even though the worst case scenario is you have to buy a new one, there are other things that money could be used for.

“What’s the climate going to be like?” Always, always, always check the whether to where you’re traveling to. Even though you may think of a place as hot or cold, there are the rare instances it could be the exact opposite.

“What kind of shoes will I need?” It’s easy to want to overpack shoes, especially if you’re like me and own way too many. For me, I limit myself to a pair of running shoes and nice sandals. These sandals can be used for when you go swimming, if that’s the case, or even a night out. When traveling, walking is always going to happen, no matter how much avoiding you try. Having proper running shoes will keep your feet from being hurt from day one.

“Will I be able to carry all this?” Even though most suitcases have wheels, pulling them through an airport for a while or down a busy street can be extremely tiring. Always pack lighter than you think you can carry because if you’re testing it by just lifting it up, try holding it up for ten minutes and see if it’s just as light.

Subsection: Carry-On

This can either be what you carry on to a plane or what you keep in the front seat of a car while you’re driving. Here’s what I always carry in it:

  1. Toothbrush and toothpaste (in a plastic ziplock bag)
  2. Extra pair of clothes with undergarments
  3. Chargers
  4. Socks
  5. Sunglasses
  6. An empty grocery bag
  7. Sunscreen (in the plastic bag with toothbrush and toothpaste)
  8. Portable charger at full charge
  9. Adaptable charger with a power surge protector
  10. Aspirin

I know it seems like a lot, but these are things you could always need while traveling right away. Once when traveling in Croatia, my group and I decided it would be a great idea to go impromptu cliff jumping. Not only did none of us have swimsuits on, some of us were wearing jeans with a white shirt and a black bra underneath. The perfect outfit for cliff jumping… not. After we all jumped, we continued to walk around the Old Town in Dubrovnik, Croatia to dry off a bit before our three hour drive over the border and to Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina. If you’re a huge Game of Thrones fan, Dubrovnik is definitely the place for you because that’s where season two and up of King’s Landing is filmed. Also, you can walk down the walk of shame!

Now that I’m done geeking out, I’ll get back to the point of this story. After drying off a bit, my jeans were stiff with sea salt water and my shirt was still very much seethrough, which is something they definitely frowned upon in Old Town. So, I decided to use my extra pair of clothes and the plastic bag. I put the wet clothes in the plastic bag and tied it shut so it wouldn’t get anything else in my bag wet. I kept on my socks because my shoes were still soaking wet at that point so I would’ve just been dirtying two pairs at that point. For that three hour trip, it was really nice to be in dry clothes so I hope I’ve stressed this enough: even though it may seem like a lot to pack, you never know what will happen or what you will impulsively decide to do while wearing the worst imaginable outfit for it.

Subsection: Adaptable Charger

First, what is an adaptable charger? Before I started traveling, I had no clue. After some quick searches on multiple blogs, it seemed pretty important. So, I decided to purchase one off of Amazon. I was weary when buying one because I was still unsure of what exactly it was I was purchasing. I ended up spending $20 on mine but more recently, they’ve been going about $10. And if you have Amazon Prime, you can have that in two days with free shipping if you’re on a time crunch.

An adaptable charger is something that can plug into any electrical socket anywhere in the country. I bought mine in 2015 and I’ve used it in three different countries in three years and it has worked out perfectly.

I first bought my charger when I was 15-years-old and about to travel to a new country for the first time, and be separated from my family for the first time. It’s safe to say I had no clue what I was doing. Luckily (and a bit unluckily) neither did anyone I was traveling with.

I was traveling with nine other Americans who had also never left the country, so we were all going through the same thing together. When we got over to China, where we were studying abroad, my roommate was the first to strike bad luck. When she went to plug in her phone to charge it for the first time since being off the plane, she noticed that her charger didn’t fit into the sockets. She started getting hysterical since it was her first time away from family too, and with her phone dead, she had no way of reaching them. Luckily, I had my adaptable charger that had to USB ports so we could both charge our phones.

However, these chargers don’t always stick in the sockets the way they should, so always be prepared to fix that. My roommate had tape with her journal so we ended up duct taping the charger to the wall with bright orange duct tape. It was classy, let me tell you.

Long story short, whenever leaving the country, please bring an adaptive charger. It will definitely pay off, I promise.

First Time Jitters

When traveling for the first time, it can cause an overwhelming anxiety. Not only is it normal, there’s also a way to avoid it: planning. If you’re getting on a plane, always pack some gum so your ears aren’t hurting during or after the flight. When traveling long distance in a car, make sure there’s enough money for gas so whenever you have to fill up, you can fill it up all the way. Either way of travel, make sure that you have some sort of entertainment to keep your mind off of the part freaking you out.

Personally, I always download two movies and bring an adult coloring book (even a kid’s coloring book on short notice) and some crayons or colored pencils. While watching the movies, especially if I’ve seen them before, I like to color. It keeps my hands, ears, and eyes busy all at the same time.

Yet, even movies and coloring gets boring after awhile. Then, it’s time for sleep. Depending on how long your flight is, you might get used to being in the air after a while. On my first long flight, it was a whopping 16 hours straight. About three hours in, it started to feel like a bus ride. I know, I know, “more car accidents happen than plane crashes,” but it made me feel safer. So, if that helps you, believe it.

But honestly, I still get nervous everytime I go to get on a plane or long distance ride. I always sweat the small things.

“Will we stop the car when I have to pee? Will that slow our time?”

“Can I even fit into this airplane bathroom?”

Honestly, always stop to pee or try to squeeze into that abnormally small bathroom because time and dignity aren’t worth a bad kidney.

Anyways, the best advice I can give about jitters is to breathe and think of where you’re going. They say that the destination isn’t the point, but the journey, but I think that’s more metaphorical and not physical. So, hang in there and get through.

Passports

When I first left the country, this was the biggest worry I had. No one in my entire family had ever had a passport in their entire lives. So, naturally, I waited until the last possible moment to get it.

Here are some things I can tell you that will 100 percent help you in the future:

  1. Get your ID photo taken at Walgreens—they are cheap and get the job done. (Also, please make sure you’re ready for it. I took mine looking like a sweaty mess after work and now that’s my passport for eight more years.)
  2. Do it as soon as possible. If you wait until the last moment, you will have to expedite it, which can raise the costs by almost double.
  3. Print out the application for your passport but don’t sign it just yet.
  4. There is a form called Form DS-11 Application that you have to fill out if you live in the United States. You can find it on the State Department website.
  5. Next, make a copy of your ID and proof that you are a citizen of the United States.
  6. I know there’s a lot of printing and copying and more printing happening here and I didn’t own a printer or scanner either so I went to my local library. Libraries typically charge about $0.10 per page.
  7. Lastly, head on over to a mailing service (I used FedEx) and put all of that into an envelope and pay for your passport there. They are usually about $150 with all fees included. Hand all that in and then it’s a waiting game.

Passports typically take up to six weeks to get to you; however, if expedited, it can be mailed to you in as little as three weeks. I got my passport two days before I left, so again, I highly suggest not waiting.

So, these steps are based on my own experience with getting my passport in the United States. I have no idea what the process would be for getting a passport when out of of the States. For that, I would refer you to one of my closest friends, Google, to help you out.

Again, I can not stress this enough, please do not wait until the last moment. Do this first before anything if traveling out of country. It’s so, so important.

And when traveling with it, always keep copies of your passport with you, in your luggage when you’re staying, in a safe, or anywhere else because to get back home, you’re going to need that.

Safety

When I was traveling to China, I was most scared about being robbed. Not because that’s what I thought about the country or the people, but that’s what all of my research showed of international travel and what my advisors had drilled into our brains. By the time we had gotten over there, I was a nervous wreck, as were my friends. Some carried their bags on their front so they couldn’t be robbed from behind the back. Personally, I bought zip locks. Mine weren’t quite as fancy as some of the actual locks that can be found by simply googling them. I used ones where it had a latch on either side so you put one zipper in one side and the other zipper in that one. Therefore, the bag couldn’t be opened without unlatching each zipper. For someone looking for a quick grab, this is a huge inconvenience and move on. But once you’ve used the latch just a few times, it’s easy to get back on and off if you need to get into your bag.

I also kept a traveling wallet on me, under my shirt.

In it, I kept the following:

  1. My passport
  2. My debit card
  3. Cash in both American currency and the currency of the country I was in, which is Yuan for China.
  4. Any receipts I had gotten just to hold onto because I become a bit of a hoarder when traveling because I want to hold onto any memories I can.
  5. My phone with headphones.
  6. And when traveling on planes, that is where I kept my departure tickets.

My wallet ended up being around $10 and I have used it on every trip I’ve ever been on and there is no sign of wear, so I’m pretty happy with how it’s held up. It’s definitely worth the investment. Unlike my friends, I didn’t have to keep getting in and out of my bag for money or my phone or risk either being stolen by putting them in my pocket.

Besides making sure your bag and possessions are safe, it’s important to make sure you are safe. Never wander off by yourself anywhere, even if it’s to go to the restroom. Always bring a friend. Once in Bosnia and Herzegovina, three of us wanted to go shopping while one of us wanted to go sightseeing, so one of the shoppers had to go sightseeing to make sure that person wasn’t alone. This one is really important because although traveling internationally is extremely amazing and eye opening, you also want to make it home safely.

The Do’s of Traveling

Here is just a quick list of things you should do when traveling, no matter where it is.

  1. Always drink water. Although caffeinated drinks can keep you awake, they also keep you away from drinking water which can leave you dehydrated and sick.
  2. Keep your mind open. Whether traveling out of state or out of country, people are bound to be different than they are back home. Don’t judge, just observe.
  3. If someone asks you to do something based on their cultural beliefs, such as taking shoes off before entering the home or praying before a meal, follow their lead and soak it in. This is how someone else, a family, and an entire other culture lives. Even though it may be different than your own, it’s beautiful and unique, just like yours.
  4. Again, please drink water. It’s so important.
  5. Try things you never thought you would. I’ve eaten fish eye in two different countries, neither of them being the one I was born in, and that’s something that not a lot of people can say. (I hated it both times but that’s besides the point.)
  6. Use the buddy system as mentioned in the safety part of the book. No matter what age or where you are, never go alone.
  7. Keep calm. There might be a language barrier or misunderstanding, but just work through it. I’ve been on the giving and receiving side of this and neither one is fun. The important part is for both sides to just stay calm and get through it, because it is possible, even if it means a lot of hand gestures. (I once spent an hour getting makeup in China because I knew none of the words in Chinese).
  8. Remember: you don’t have to take pictures of everything. Enjoy the moment with the people, the scenery, or even the food. Take some time away from snapping pictures and just simply be in the moment.

The Dont’s

  1. Do not force your culture, religious beliefs, or beliefs on anyone. However, conversation is great! Talking about the differences and similarities can be stimulating and great for learning on both sides. (The best example I can give is the day I found out that my Italian friend from Milan has never eaten a Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwich. Although it was different from where I’m from, where kids are essentially raised on the sandwiches, I didn’t go out of my way to make her try one or say she was weird for never having one. I was more fascinated that the PB&J isn’t world known, despite them knowing the song associated.)
  2. If you’re not from around the area, especially if out of country, don’t drink the water from the tap. Always drink bottled water because bodies that are from far away aren’t used to the bacteria that is in other’s water systems, which can cause sickness.
  3. Don’t be rude. As cheesy as it may sound, you’re an ambassador from wherever you are. If you are from Ohio, like me, and only talk about corn, then every person will think that every Ohioan just really likes corn and that’s all we ever talk about. (Even though we do have large amount of cornfields and corn, we don’t really ever talk about it. We’re kind of used to it.) This goes for the same for the general public. I once met an Italian who though all Americans were rude because she spent a few days in New York. When she met my friends and I, she was blown away by the fact that, indeed, not all Americans are rude.)
  4. Don’t complain. Sometimes living conditions aren’t forever. Just remember that you’re not there forever and some people have lived like that, or worse, for their entire lives.
  5. Don’t run on no sleep. It’s so important to be wide awake and alert when traveling so getting a good night’s sleep is always important.

Lists

I’m a list maker by nature, but I highly suggest utilizing lists while traveling. The main type of lists I always use is making a list of people who I need to bring souvenirs back for. I always manage to forget one or two in the business of it all, so I like having something physical to hold and check off as I buy things. Also, when I buy things, I always write it down so I don’t forget. This can help when going through customs if traveling abroad or if you’re worried you forgot to pack something. As for what I make the lists on, I usually go for a post-it note or pen instead of my phone. However, I do use my phone in case of not having the paper with me or not having the time. Truthfully, they work about the same.

Keep a Journal

No matter if just going an hour away from home or around the world, remembering the experience is always important. I usually buy a journal for the occasion, but it doesn’t always have to be like that. Recently, I’ve started just including it in my regular journal that I use everyday. If you have a bad memory like I do, I usually make “mental notes” on my phone of things I want to write about later so I won’t forget. I leave just a few words and expand on it later. Journals are great also because you can tape things in from wherever you are. One of my favorite things to buy and tape in is postcards since they are so internationally known, you can find them just about anywhere. Having something physical from the place you were is something really amazing. It serves as a momento for when you traveled, and if you don’t get the important now, your future self might just be really grateful to have a simple postcard from an older time in their lives.

Yet, journals aren’t for everyone. With hand cramps, lack of supplies, and even more hand cramps, there are some cons that come with journaling. But another great option is always a blog. There, you can write about your experiences and upload photos from your trip so they can be saved online. There are a lot of different blog sites that one could use, but I’ve found the most simple and easy to use would be blogspot. When traveling to Bosnia and Herzegovina, my teacher used a blog to memorialize all the amazing things we did while over there, along with posting pictures from the trips. It was nice to just share a link with friends and family who were curious to see what we were doing. I would say the only con about it is losing the link. As mentioned before, I’m bad at memorizing anything so I always have to look back and find the link which can be a bit of a hassle.

And if you don’t plan on blogging while you’re there, I cannot stress enough: please leave your laptop at home. Bringing it through airport security is such a mess and wastes so much time. Download some movies on your phone or just wait until you have WiFi, because I promise, it just isn’t worth it.

Traveling on a Plane

Every time I’ve flown, it’s been on a very low budget so I always end up in economy seating. Which, for a two hour flight, is not that bad. However, on a eight or more hour flight where you’re trying to sleep? No, thank you.

The best advice I can give is if you have the extra money, it’s better to spring for a higher class or even first class. It may seem like too much money to spend but it’s worth it in the end to not end up with back or neck pain.

Yet, if you don’t have the money and have to make do, that’s okay. I’m the same way. The best way that I learned to manage is to pack a blanket and a pillow—or a neck pillow—and to wrap the blanket around the pillow and place it on the tray in front of you. Just lay your head on that and sleep like you would if you were still in school, catching a nap during a lecture. With some headphones, you’ll be out.

Besides being uncomfortable, it’s also common to feel anxious to suffocated. The best solution I’ve found for that is to look at a plane ride as a bus ride. With the slight bumpiness and packed seats, it can really feel like it. I find that this eases my anxiety. If that doesn’t work for you or you think it wouldn’t, if you’re of legal age, I would suggest some strong alcohol. If you’re not of legal age, then you can talk to your doctor about your worries and they can prescribe a medication that is strictly for flying.

TL;DR version is: Stay safe, have fun, and make some memories.

travel advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.