Wander logo

Things I Give Up to Travel the World

We make sacrifices for what's important to us - for me, that's travel.

By Lauren Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2022
47
Things I Give Up to Travel the World
Photo by Kristina Wagner on Unsplash

*This post was originally posted on Freedom Not Fate and syndicated to Vocal Media*

Lots of people seem to think I'm rich or have indispensable money and I don't. I make choices when budgeting to be able to travel more because it means more to me than the below things. Here's what I've given up in my life to be able to afford to travel more.

1. Living Below My Means

By Mark OFlynn on Unsplash

You've probably heard the phrase "living above your means" and the opposite is true. As my salary went up, by living below my means, my budget stayed the same. For example, I didn't upgrade to a new, higher cost apartment or buy a fancier car or new tech, you get the idea.

2. Not having a car and relying on public transportation

By Joël de Vriend on Unsplash

Pre-pandemic I worked close to where I lived so public transit was a great option and Ubers were very cheap since I thankfully didn't commute far. Since I work from home now, I don't need or have a car and save lots every month by not having a car payment, gas or insurance costs to pay for, especially living in a big city where the cost of living is higher for everything. If I want to go somewhere I have friends to carpool with or take road trips with and we split gas/parking costs. Public transit is also still a good option for me when I do have to take it.

3. Living in a small studio apartment

By Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

Could I afford to upgrade to one with more room? Sure. Would I rather save that extra 500-600 dollars a month and stay in my rent controlled, tiny studio? Yes. Also, this means my utility bills are lower as well which is great!

4. Limiting how often I eat out and do takeout

By Jay Wennington on Unsplash

I give myself a budget to eat out and grab a coffee or a drink out once a week. I also shop cheap at my dollar/budget grocery store and don't buy a lot of expensive foods.

5. Limiting beauty treatments

By Guilherme Petri on Unsplash

I pick and choose what beauty treatments mean the most to me. I don't do my nails and hair every month and do all of these treatments. I do my nails at home if I want them done and color my hair maybe twice a year and do a balayage so it grows out better. My skincare I do splurge a little on though because I value investing in good skincare.

6. Choosing to be a freelancer vs. working a full time 9-5.

By XPS on Unsplash

I sacrifice a steady paycheck and health insurance to be able to take as much time off as I want between contract jobs. I don't get paid in between jobs nor do I have paid vacation time but I am fortunate enough to work well paying gigs that I can take longer breaks in between if needed.

7. Random Shopping Sprees and Impulse Buys

By freestocks on Unsplash

Living in a small space limits how much I can own so I don't go on random shopping sprees or spend frivolously on designer items or clothes. I own a capsule/basic wardrobe and wear what I have until it needs to be replaced. If I want something bad enough I also don't put it on a credit card nor do I carry any debt. I also don't spend a lot of money on events or concerts or movies.

8. Upgrading technology every year

By Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I don't upgrade my computer and phone every year and I don't buy expensive, fancy tech items like Google Home, Alexa, speakers for my TV, etc.

By Amos Bar-Zeev on Unsplash

As you can see I sacrifice a lot to be able to travel and that's okay with me. The trade off for me personally, is worth it.

humanity
47

About the Creator

Lauren

Lauren is a published author who has been writing professionally for 10+ years. She covers topics such as entertainment news, solo female and budget travel and working as a digital nomad.

Blog

IG: @itslaurenkat

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Freddie's Lost Treasures10 months ago

    Easy to read article and gives a little hope and imagination to others in the process.

  • Emelia Beamabout a year ago

    I relate to this so much! Especially the living small, I'm definitely in the same boat, I have some of my own insights about travel preparations and how I make it possible as well if you're interested. Thanks for these tips!

  • I’ve often wondered how people can afford to travel so much. It is my dream to travel the world, but right now I have no money coming in. I’ve been trying my hand with freelance work, but I don’t have a lot of experiences, so I barely get any offers. Very interesting article!

  • Some of these sacrifices are, in fact, worth doing no matter whether you are a traveller or not. Very nice read!

  • Jessica Joyce2 years ago

    I understand where people think it's a privilege to travel. Many people give up these things and still can't afford to travel. For instance I don't know anyone that upgrades their phone yearly unless theirs breaks or it's for their job. I think it's wonderful when people can figure out a way to do it tho. Such a fabulous way to experience the world and definitely something to work towards. ☺️

  • Abigail Esparza2 years ago

    This is Incredible! Thank you for sharing, I will use this in my day to day life to save up for travel 🧳🥹❤️

  • Erika Ravnsborg2 years ago

    Wow! Excellent tips. Thanks for sharing your story.

  • Great story. As a traveler, I do believe that knowing how to spend & save your money is important.

  • Brittany Miller2 years ago

    One of the biggest things I think a lot of people need to do is live their lives below their means. Just because you can afford something doesn't mean you should do it, which also makes sense if you'd rather save that money and build upon it in case of an emergency. I don't have a car either, for that matter, and my job is two-fold. One is where I work from home as a Massage Therapist, the other is a contracted janitor at a local clinic that my sister takes me to a few evenings out of the week (otherwise it's a two-hour walk from my house to the place I work). I'm currently working on becoming a freelance writer on the side, as well, but that'll take time and effort. And a lot of patience. It's a slow process, but the work involved, for me, is well worth it. Much like how your way of living is more than worth it for you because you get to travel (which I would love to do one day, myself). Thanks for the article!

  • Dustin Walker2 years ago

    Great thoughts! Thanks for the reminder!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Choices! Excellent advice! Subscribed!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.