Wander logo

There I was...on the train

Appreciating one of the last train rides in Vienna

By Elias AltrichterPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

It were my last few days in Vienna. After working in the city for five weeks I’ve met loads of new people and made tons of precious and valuable experiences. And still I am not sure if it was a coincidence or simply the magic of the moment, the magic of leaving my internship with a broad smile, and a sad eye simultaneously. There was some magic to the moment.

Leaving the city meant letting go of friends and of habits and joining friends and habits at home. It meant letting go of the glimpse I had seen of how beautiful life could be, if I weren’t stuck at home.

These were the thoughts that hunted me that day I got out of work and made my way home. The commute home was nothing special, but for me it was full of excitement, full of people, it was the magic of the city, that made me look forward to the thirty minute commute I had to take on every day.

As I entered the metro the day was coming to an end. The moon took on suns job and she was laying herself to sleep, disappearing from the city’s sky. As I said, the commute must have been nothing special for a citizen, though I cannot – and will not – wrap my head around the idea, that even the oldest and the grumpiest Viennese Lady couldn’t feast her eyes on what laid on the train tracks before us, as we crossed the Danube, that day.

What laid before us was the magic of a last day at work. It was the city saying, goodbye thanks for coming. It was the city’s ambition to say goodbye to me, that made me shed a tear. It wasn’t the fact that I had to leave Vienna and it wasn’t the most adorable card, written by my colleagues, either. It was the city saying goodbye to me, with a sunset.

So there I was sitting in the train on my way home, with my eyes glued to the sky in all its simplicity and magnificence. Vienna was saying goodbye. I was saying goodbye. I knew in that moment, that it wasn’t the last time I would go to Vienna.

Yes, it wouldn’t be the last time. Now I know it wasn’t the last time. But it was the last time, that the city made such an effort for me. Maybe it did, for other people, on another day, who were also leaving their internship and the city altogether. Because there were other beautiful sunsets, but I knew that they weren’t for me. Though it reminds me, that once I was there sitting in the train on my way home.

photography
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.