Wander logo

The Vortex

Chapter One

By Story TimePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Carter finds his brother Dylan after disappearing in Bali

If you’ve never been to Bali, I highly recommend you go there. By day the beach has its ways with your soul. The culture will make you feel as if you never existed. I'd eat the food off the back of a wet dog, the food is so delicious. By night Bali is a completely different story. If I was an alcoholic I’d move to Bali. If I wanted drugs daily, I’d move to Bali. If I wanted to get laid daily... well you get it. Parties, raves and sex. I was currently at the biggest nightclub in Bali that night. I never thought of my life as a movie, but ever since I joined the family, it truly has felt like one. All eyes on me, someone famous once said. Everyone was going to see me get incredibly hammered until I died of inability to breathe. What a way to go out. Death by alcohol. Unfortunately I couldn't die here in Bali, my family couldn't handle that shit. That or they'd have a party. Instead of overdrinking I decided to go find Dylan. Dylan was my brother. Not my biological brother but that didn’t make a difference. He was no slouch either, star football defensive end in high school. He would've gone D1 but he was expelled for beating the life out of this kid for talking about my mom. My mom died of cancer a while ago, she was the light in the darkness truly. She could put a smile on anyone. She really was very talented and at the same time the most humble person I knew. She was a math wiz as well. I keep a picture of her in my wallet to this day. I wouldn't want anyone to have to lose their mother. Dill felt the same, that's why he was one of my best friends despite our differences. I knew he'd have my back through thick and thin. And when times get rough, when times get good, I also knew I’d have my bros back. In this case he was probably yelling Yolo out the window of a limo, but it was up to me to ruin his high and get him home.

“Yo, Dylan!” I yelled looking up on stage at the Lxxy.

“Yooo,” I yelled again as he stared at me sarcastically pretending not to hear me. I didn't want to kick his ass in front of all these nice people, but we had to get the f*ck out of Bali.

“Brooo wass good!” he yelled at me as the music blared into my ear drum. “We have to go now! We have a flight at the airport in an hour, I exclaimed. “I'm not goin," he exclaimed as he took another drink.

“I’m free here, I can do whatever the f*ck I want to do. Do you know what that's like,” he exclaimed.

“You’ve been gone for two and a half weeks man, we were starting to get worried about you. We thought you got picked up by some Laskarian” I exclaimed. "Of course you'd shit yourself in two seconds if that were to happen.”

“Cmon man” he said. “Have a drink and relax. Take a break. We can leave the bullsh*t behind for at least one more night.”

“So you're saying you'll come home tomorrow?” I said

“If you get hammered with me tonight, I promise you I’ll come home tomorrow,” he exclaimed.

At that point the man spoke, my plans changed back to what they were initially. I found him and I'd have him back to my family in the morning. But for right now, I was on stage drinking tequila off a baristas chest not knowing what the f*ck was going to happen to me next.

asia
Like

About the Creator

Story Time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.