Wander logo

The Venetian Last

Exploring the realms of Venice

By Mayudi PatelPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Rialto Bridge (July 2017)

‘Okay mom I have to go’ Jenni mumbled whilst laying her head down on the soft pillow beneath her. ‘It's already 11pm here and I’m tired from the flight’.

As her mother wished her good night over the phone Jenni swiftly grabbed the little black book which was neatly tucked into her rucksack next to her. She tried to keep everything close to her at all times because it was her first time staying alone in a hostel; that too over 1000 miles away from home. “The pick-pocketers around the world never have mercy” her Aunty Viola would say. Jenni’s idea of ‘roughing it in a cheap hostel’ changed as she walked through the doors of Hostel Genrie a few hours ago. The greeting staff welcomed her with warm coffee and an affectionate smile. As Jenni walked to the reception area she turned in all directions to assess the luxury demeanor of the lounge. ‘This doesn’t resemble a hostel, am I in the wrong place?” she muttered anxiously.

“Welcome Madame to Venice’s tip top Hostel Genrie, your room is 502 level 5 to the right” the receptionist announced. “Really?” Jenni burst out in excitement. She was impressed, truly impressed. “Yes of course Madame, why would I lie to you?” he questioned with a wide grin on his chiseled face. Italian sarcasm was something Jenni had never come across.

Her bunk in the room was shared with a loud snorer so Jenni didn’t converse too much. She just wanted to explore the beautiful city of love. Her little black book had all the places she wanted to visit scribbled down for tomorrow:

Dublin to Venice trip - July 2017

  • Free Guided tour @9:30am meet at Centre Point
  • Rialto Bridge
  • Shoe Factory of Italia tour - ask for Xavi
  • St Mark’s square - look out for the basilica and tower
  • The grand canal - have an ice cream or two

Remember you are on a budget so don’t get too excited!

“Piattaforma 1A per Venezia Santa Lucia, piattaforma 1A” was recited by the tannoy at Mestre Station at 8am the next day. “Oh, that's me!” Jenni exclaimed as she leaped onto the train as quick as a flash of lightning. She found her seat on the train opposite an old woman. Jenni beamed out a smile making the lady smile back with an eyebrow raised acknowledging how excited Jenni was. The views on the train journey were immaculate. Jenni had never seen such beautiful waters in Ireland, they were never so green there.

A few minutes later as Jenni disembarked the train approaching the station exit, shock crossed her face in memorization. The rich green canal which she had always dreamt of and stalked online of course was in front of her eyes. The sight was as perfect as a Van Gogh painting, so breathtaking. She hurried down the footsteps steering clear of the selfie takers and family photographs. “Selfie stick madam?” a foreign voice asked from behind her, conveniently pausing her day dream.

“No thank you” Jenni responded. She needed to check the directions to Centre Point for the city tour but her phone abruptly turned off. “Damn it, where’s my portable charger” Jenni thought whilst scuffling for it in her bag. As she charged her phone in her rucksack and carried on walking towards what she thought could be the Centre Point, she remembered she needed to visit the Shoe Factory too. She had spent quite some time researching manufacturers whilst studying her design degree in Ireland and wanted to see first hand how shoes were made. That too accompanied by the famous Italian craftsmanship.

Jenni entered narrow alleyways street after street; Calle the locals called them. She took her phone out in the hope to check google maps to see where she was but to her despair it still read 3% battery. The Gen-Z mind spoke ”Oh my god, how could this happen to me today?! Stupid phone”. Panic began to settle in slowly as Jenni came to realize she was lost and alone. She looked around for some reassurance as if to receive mothering solace. “I only have today, I must check off everything on the list” she repeated in her mind praying to the universe to answer. She looked into the lagoon and steadily admired the beauty of the streets. As Jenni started walking again her delight for the adventure rekindled giving her a boost of confidence. The free city tour was over already so she turned to her little black book to read the second stop - Rialto Bridge. This was the romantic bridge which held Venice’s heart and every walking person would know where this was.

“Excuse me sir, could you please direct me to Rialto Bridge?” the man pointed to the right and indicated Jenni to walk straight on from the turn. “Grazie” Jenni smiled and headed to the latter.

She passed through the calle and recognized one of the buildings with a bright purple and yellow board . It read ‘Calzaturificio d'Italia’ where the colors and font seemed familiar to Jenni. “This could be the shoe factory, Calza… umm let me ask inside” she mumbled to herself.

‘Ciao, is this the Shoe Factory of Italy? Xavi?’ she queried to the young girl at the counter. “Si signora” the girl responded and called for him.

“Si principessa” a middle aged man walked through from outside. “Madame, how can I help you? Are you here to place an order?” he questioned Jenni who was looking around the reception area amazed by the heel collections on show.

“Signora, I’m here for a tour,” Jenni replied.

“Tour? Why madame?” the man was confused.

“I registered for it online” clarified Jenni “to meet Xavi who owns this place. I’m a design student.”

“Xavi owns this place?! My dear you are very mistaken” the man laughed. “That rascal, pardon my Italian, does not own this place.”

Jenni became furious at this remark, “What? Then what did I pay €20 for?”

“I am very sorry, he is my son. He keeps selling people things that don’t exist” sighed Russo “Like this tour of yours. Why would you pay €20 for a factory tour anyway?”

“I’m a design student and this place manufactures for some of the most amazing designers. It did seem strange but I couldn’t resist” explained Jenni.

“You know what I have a shipment of lasts coming in now but after that I can show you around”

Jenni agreed to Russo and strolled around the showroom browsing the designs behind the glass doors. She also found a socket to charge her phone. After loading the shipment boxes, Russo ushered her down to the factory room full of heels, materials and machinery. It was cosmic and he was very insightful answering all her questions. Russo was very friendly and somewhat reminded Jenni of her late father. He picked up one of the shoe lasts from his shipment and showed it to Jenni.

“This is what we use as our base to shape the shoe. It’s like a pretend foot to help construct the magic around it.”

Jenni held the shoe last. “This is heavier than I expected,” she said.

“Ah yes, that’s the trick. If the shoe can hold a heavy last it can carry anything” Russo sniggered.

Jenni was fascinated by his knowledge and tips on footwear, he was a mastermind. “Sir, I want to start my own brand soon when I have some money, may I take a shoe last?”

“Of course, here you are” he handed over a piece that was very light.

“Amazing, thank you!” Jenni accepted it humbly but was very keen on the shiny new shoe lasts recently delivered. “I should head out now signore” she announced as she slyly swapped out the light last with the brand new one hoping Russo wouldn’t notice.

“Be my guest, and don’t forget your phone. Jenni..” he paused which caused Jenni’s heart to skip a beat “we may meet again some day, you are very ambitious”

Jenni nodded and headed out of the door before the mastermind noticed the change. She looked into her phone and directed herself to Rialto bridge instantly.

As the day ended she curled up into her bunk bed ticking off the checklist in her little black book. She was as happy as a clam especially after getting hold of the special Venetian shoe last. “This is going to be the ticket to my brand” she dreamed.

Her flight the next day landed in Dublin and she was ecstatic to tell her mother everything about her trip. From getting lost in Venice, to finding the special last for her first shoe to the glistening waters under Rialto bridge and the beautiful palaces in St Marks Square.

“I missed you my munchkin” her mother lovingly said as Jenni sat down at the dining table in their house. “I’m so proud of you for travelling alone but I was worried something bad could happen”

“Mom, nothing was going to happen, I’ve lived alone in halls before haven’t I” Jenni replied.

“Yes” Jenni’s mum agreed “but it’s not the same.”

“Hmm, feel this shoe last mom” Jenni passed it gently to her mother excited to show her the antique.

“Honey, it’s a tad bit heavy isn’t it? Oh very, what’s inside?” her mother curiously asked.

“Nothing mom, it’s the Italian trick” she winked. “No, mom don’t open it up! I need that.” It was too late, her mother had clicked open the last into two halves.

“WOW!” They both gasped and stared into the shoe last in revelation. Three bundles of dollars were carefully placed inside.

“Jenni, what is this?” her mother shrieked.

“ I don’t know mom, I just picked this up at the factory. Why would anyone keep money inside?”

“What do we do with this now? Won’t the owner come chasing us for this? It doesn’t belong to us, did he look dangerous to you?” panicked Jenni’s mother.

“I don’t know mom, I don’t know and no he was so friendly and genuine, just like dad. How much is in here? We should count.”

“19,900, 19950, 20,00. Mom there’s 20 thousand dollars here. What is Mr Russo doing with 20,000 dollars stuffed into these lasts?”

“Maybe you should ask him, call the number behind the last” her mother suggested now reassured that Italy is miles away so there would not be any imminent danger to them.

“I didn’t notice the number,” Jenni said surprisingly.

Her mother raised an eyebrow and remarked “You didn’t notice there was $20,000 in your handbag all this time.”

“Okay the phone’s ringing” Jenni stated “Ciao, is Mr Russo there? I need to speak to him it’s Jenni the girl who visited for a tour yesterday”

“Ah Jenni” Russo responded with ease “so you found the little surprise I assume? You thought I wouldn’t notice the last was switched?”

“I’m so sorry sir!” she panicked “I thought I could use this heavier one so my designs would be better. I didn’t know your money was in this.”

“Jenni, I should be fuming that you took this. You’re not a thief” he voiced “you’re a designer. Your aspiration should never be your desperation”

“Sir, I will bring this money and last straight back to you” Jenni assured Russo.

He laughed “What from Ireland? Don’t be silly dear. Do me a favor, I’m running short on orders this winter. Why don’t you design me some shoes and place an order and I will forgive this mistake of yours”

“Seriously?” She was surprised his response was so calm and composed.

“Yes, why would I lie to you?” Russo questioned sarcastically.

“Ok yes, I’ll get to work on this right away!” Jenni declared feeling both confused and elevated. “ But sir, why was there so much money in here?”

Russo smirked once more, “now that’s an Venetian secret I can’t tell you.”

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.