Wander logo

The Sands Of Monahans

How They Taught Me About Change

By Janee EllingtonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

It was a spur of the moment decision. We were about four hours into our eight hour drive home when I saw the sign for the Monahans Sandhills State Park. I took the exit immediately, not telling my partner we were going for a small adventurous detour. This deviation was unexpected and short lived, but more than worth the experience that we gained!

The dunes went on for miles, like small mountains. It kind of looked like an ocean made completely of sand. Almost seeming like an inverted painting of the sea, the sky so blue it was mesmerising against the golden mounds of sand. As I brushed the sand from my lips, and gazed upon its beauty, I couldn’t help but notice that each footstep in the sand was a glimpse of both past and present. These footprints represented momentary duality, disappearing almost as quickly as they were made. As the footprints were wiped clean by the wind, as it seems without a trace; they instilled a sense of peace as well as adventure. These hills at Monahans State Park taught me the importance of living in the moment. They showed me how quickly the past can be wiped clean and how the future can be made into whatever you choose. But, only if you pay attention, live in the moment and do what makes your heart sing. Left with silence and space, this world of sand and wonder really reminds you to just listen. Everything lives in perfect harmony, the wind dances in the sand, the wildlife scurries about while the open blue sky calms the mind. I chose this photo, because it brings me peace in a time when peace is needed most. It reminds me that this world is and will always be a beautiful, harmonious place full of adventure and wonder. We as a collective are going through a major change, just like the sand that has gone through so many constant changes. However, we as humans tend to avoid the unknown. We hate change because we get set in our routines and assume that change will be negative. The sand that was once rock, that is now broken down into a million little pieces doesn’t avoid change but creates harmony with it. Change is subjective, and seeing it happen before my eyes showed me how beautiful it can truly be. Change gives us the opportunity to make whatever we want into our reality. During this time of massive worldwide change, we need to remind ourselves that this is opportunity instead of adversity. While the two do love to walk hand in hand, it is our choice to make on which path we will let change take us down.

These sandhills will always mean something special to me. This spontaneous decision resulted in unexpected life-long memories, and lessons I never knew I needed. It’s my happy place in a sense, and I am glad to share a piece of it with all who see this picture. I hope it brings everyone as much peace and happiness as it brings me when I see it. I hope my words resonate to anyone who is going through change, I hope you find its beauty. The verb form of the word change is defined as, “ to make or become different.” If that is the true meaning of change, we should embrace the fact that we all have the ability to change. Change is the only constant thing in this world. Once we accept that fact, we can use it to our advantage. I hope everyone who reads this makes one positive change whether it be small or big. Be like the sand, change constantly and dance in celebration!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Janee Ellington

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.