Wander logo

The Road Within My Past

Family, friends, Memories That's What Matters

By Daphne Doss SutherlunPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Road Within My Past
Photo by Jim Witkowski on Unsplash

Anytime I think about my hometown, I feel nostalgic because there are lots of memories from, my childhood to my adolescence that holds me to my hometown. I grew up in A small town on the outskirts of San Antonio Texas, and New Braunfels Texas. My hometown is A beautiful small town very quiet full of children running around playing laughing. When something good happens the town would gather and celebrate as a community and if A tragedy happened the town would get together do what we could to help. The name of my hometown is Schertz Texas.

MY Home Town

I was raised by my aunt and uncle. Kathy aka Oma and Buck aka Opa. My aunt and uncle took my brother and me in and, treated us like we were their own. My aunt had two girls Mandi and Jessie And my uncle had four kids from a prior marriage Lasara, Cody, Aubrey, and Lacey. During the summers there were eight kids there because my uncle's kids came in the summer to visit. My aunt was very family-oriented. My mom was not family-oriented at all in fact she hardly ever made it home or when she did she was drunk with some dude. When I went to live with my aunt my understanding of family became clear. This was A new start for me which is one reason Schertz Tx is so special to me.

The Best Kids

Meet Oma and Opa

I was a freshman when I went to live in Schertz Tx with my aunt and uncle I started High Scool there I seemed to fit in at that school. I made friends quickly and started to become a normal teenager. The weekends were always fun we had the Comal and Guadalupe River no more than A few miles away. There is the River Walk, also A few minutes away. There are so many things to do as A teenager. Fiesta Texa, SeaWorld, Sclitterbauhn, The Sanantonio Zoo is also amazing. I also meet my first husband there. I was A junior in High School, and he was A football player for Texas State University. He is also the father of my two girls Averi and Kristian.

The Guadalupe River

Every Sunday after Church my uncle would take us to Sonic for lunch. Then we would go to my grandma and grandpa's house for the rest of the afternoon. They had a swimming pool so we could swim and play. I think it was kind of an escape for my uncle because at this point my aunt went to Alaska to work for a year. Money was tight trying to support eight kids and living off saving from the military and working full time. Taking care of, eight different needs and personalities is difficult all in itself. My Uncle is definitely my hero.

The Church I went To

Time seemed to fly by before I knew it I was A junior in High School And I started modeling and tried out for the dance team and I also played softball. There was good and bad to all of this I became much more popular and keener to fashion. I had A lot of friends and started to have boyfriends.

When I turned 16 I woke up for school and there was an envelope taped to the front door inside that envelope was a single car key and a note that saying Happy Birthday you can drive the car when you show me you can change a tire and drive a manual transmission. I started getting into trouble after that lying and not going to school. I had quiet modeling. I had gotten thrown off of the dance team for fighting with my cousin Mandi in uniform during picture day. I gave my aunt and uncle every reason to give up on me , but to this day they are my mom and dad and never gave up on me.

My First Car

My hometown isn't just A town to me. Schertz Txs holds A special place in my heart. I have good and bad memories just like anyone else. I will always remember Schertz as my hometown and how it made me the person I am today. Schertz gave me A life I never knew existed it also gave, experiences about life and the true meaning of family and friends.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Daphne Doss Sutherlun

FeaR IsnT So DifficulT To UnderstanD AfteR All WerenT We All FrightenD as ChildreN

DO NOT PUT ALL YOUR FAITH IN A CAPE AND A HOOD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.