Wander logo

The Road to Australia

A Romanian's story

By Alina NeaguPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Berlin July 2018

at 9 pm I was on the night shift

in the old bar on the corner of George Street

it was the football championships on TV and I was bored to death and waiting for the doors to close

when he appears dressed in a black leather jacket, a cool haircut and sunglasses in his hand

I said he was English and asked him what he wanted to drink

he answered me in a serious tone gin and tonic

to change the atmosphere I asked him what football team he likes

He replied that he did not like football, to which I was very surprised

a man who doesn't like football in Germany

I let him drink his drink and I continued to work

he asked me where I was from and I said I was from Romania

and I asked him where he was from, he let me guess

England? Not

Australia replied

I talked to this mysterious man named Phil in the middle of the night until the bar closed

I felt a strong attraction from him as well

he asked for my phone number

Of course I gave it to him, I felt something I had never felt before and I wanted to see him again

I waited all night and the next day he called me he didn't do it but I felt he would do it or he would come back one day

Saturday night the bar was full of people music and I was super busy that night

I heard my shift colleague scream guess who's at the door?

I pretended not to know but I felt a strong emotion in my stomach I knew he was the mysterious man

all this time while I was thinking about him and I waited for him to call me but he didn't

I wanted to see him argue because he didn't call me and I waited for him like a silly teenager on her first date

he smiled at me and asked for a gin and tonic

I asked him why he hadn't called me or if he was just kidding when he asked for my phone number

he smiled and told me he was so drunk he wanted to call me but only do not see the numbers i write on the tiny paper

I gave it to him once more that night in the hope that he would do it this time

he didn't do it and the days passed and I lost hope

I was angry that a man could make me laugh in my face

but I still wanted to see him again, maybe I should slap him too

he came back and asked me to meet after work

I accepted

staying at the most beautiful hotel in town F or a moment I thought that this man would only want sex from me but part of me contradicted me!

Hugs and kisses for a whole night early in the morning in my phone were blocked half of my phone list led by my vicious boss

he asked me if I was going with him to Thailand that morning

I thought he was joking but he wasn't kidding and he asked me one more time

I said yes but that my pocket was empty where I will go so far in the situation I was in

no money no clothes nothing was all in the apartment I shared with my colleague but I did not want to go to get them

I called my mother and told her that I was going to Thailand the next day

with a man I've known for two weeks

I heard my hysterical mother on the phone telling me I was crazy and to dont do it

if this man is a murderer if he leaves me in the Thai jungle

I don't care I wanted to be with him to follow him he hypnotized me with his way of being especially when he plays the guitar every morning for two days spent at the hotel

the next night I was on the plane to Qatar where we were going to take another plane to Bangkok

I was afraid of the flight hours and I slept all the way only in his arms

I spent two months in Thailand in a paradise I only dreamed of

I felt so loved and special

if it was a dream I never wanted to wake up I was in love with the mysterious man I was his every second and I never wanted it to end

I was thousands of miles away from home with one passport with two changes of clothes ! without money ! but thousands of hopes and love in my soul1 I was at first love now at this age

unreal! I thought!

but I wanted with all my being to be with him and go to Australia together

I risked everything

for love and for my life to change! I was not afraid of anything!

I could die after that I was happy that I lived the adventure of my life and I don't regret it!

3 years from now I am in Australia and waiting for residency!

I'm going to marry the mysterious man who changed my life in an incredible way

from the boring bar work in Berlin to a life that wasn't mine.....

now I'm studying psychology and I'm going to have my first driver's license

I have big dreams and I can fly because a mysterious man in one night changed my whole life forever

believe in you believe in love you will get far as i go! can't go further than Australia! i am at the end of the world! I succeeded!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Alina Neagu

Hello, my name is ALINA, I am 34 years old, originally from Romania, but I have been living in Australia for almost 3 years, an adventure and an extraordinary experience far from my home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.