Wander logo

The Place I Call Home

Stanley, ID and the Challis National Forest

By Alexandria PoulsenPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Mile marker 116, HWY 21, Idaho 

We all have a place we call home, even if it’s not where we live. For me, that place is Stanley, ID and the Challis National Forest. If you are a nature lover or outdoor enthusiast, I encourage you to plan a trip!

Nestled under the majestic Sawtooth mountain range, Stanley has so much to offer. From camping and hunting, to hiking and swimming in the beautiful mountain lakes, you’re sure to find something that peaks your interest!

Personally, I’m a big fan of camping and hiking. While there are many places to camp, one of my favorites is the spot between mile markers 115 and 116 on highway 21. Between beautiful creeks and lush meadows, the atmosphere there is unmatched. If you’re an early morning riser, you may just open your tent (or camper) to grazing elk in the meadow.

A typical day in Stanley for me usually consists of waking up early in the rooftop tent, starting a pot of coffee, and building a fire. By the time I’ve finished sipping my coffee and breakfast bar, i’m itching to go for a hike and see what new rocks I can find to bring home and put in my collection (i’m a bit of a rock hound). I’m always sure to fill my day-pack with lots of snacks, water, sunscreen, and a towel, just in case I find an alpine lake that I can’t resist jumping into.

When I get back to camp I usually make a sandwich, and get ready to head into town. North of Lower Stanley on the Salmon River sits Sunbeam hot springs. It’s a great place to relax in the hot water and watch the floaters and kayakers pass by.

Heading back into town, it’s about time for dinner. If I don’t feel like cooking when I get back to camp, I stop at either Bridge St. Bar and Grill for a tasty bison burger, or Papa Brunee’s for the best pizza I’ve ever tasted.

Once back to camp, I build another fire, start another pot of coffee (yes I drink coffee before bed), and throw on some layers while the temperatures drop. More than anything, I love just sitting by the fire, hot coffee in hand, looking at the stars, and listening to Lord Huron or Pink Floyd.

If you decide to plan a trip to Stanley, I hope you love it as much as I do. Make your own memories and create an experience that will last a lifetime.

nature
Like

About the Creator

Alexandria Poulsen

Hey! I’m 26, i’m a mom to a beautiful 5 year old girl named Ava Rose. I’m from the Boise area, born and raised here in Idaho. Figured I would try my hand at writing, hope you all enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.