Wander logo

The mountain of knowledge

Merlin’s friend

By White Wolf Published 2 years ago 4 min read
2

In my opinion, one goal in life is to reach the apex of the mountain of knowledge.

But we all seem to be in a rush to attain this, and all following the same path that has been laid down for centuries. But we must also remember that life is more about the journey than it is the destination. You may be saying to yourself "but there are many paths that go up this mountain." And you are right in thinking so, but generally once one has chosen a path that is the one they stick to.

So let's imagine two people at the beginning of one of these paths, one says to the other, "I'll see you up the top then some day, shall I?" So one heads off on a path trekking his way up, while the other who remains silent wanders off into the bushes on the side. Years and years pass by until the one who chose the path finally reaches the apex of this enormous mountain. While waiting for his silent friend he decides to build a hut to keep the wind and rain off him. Eventually settling down and begins to build a cabin.

Now, many more years later, he sees a figure approaching his settlement. It is the silent one. Overjoyed in finally seeing his friend he begins boasting how he had beaten his friend to the top and so long ago, and proudly showing off his cabin of labour. The silent one then spoke, "I have dwelled in caves in this mountain you have built upon, I have learned about every tree and beast and bird that also share this mountain, and now I can tell you, my friend, I am this mountain you have stayed upon," then added, "I suggest you go back down your path and start again, for you and your cabin are not welcome here." The cabin builder looking astonished retorted, "why not?" The silent one responded, "no man has the right to build upon me, they may use their paths but one day they too shall be reclaimed and overgrown." So the cabin builder says, "well then, I guess I'll see you sometime down the bottom my friend?"

The silent one replies bluntly, "I wouldn't hold your breath, my friend, like I said, I am the mountain now, and my place is living within it, and venturing around and around again." The cabin builder having lived there for so long now forgot even which path he took up, and asked the silent one, "which way do you suggest I go?" Then the silent one says, "makes no difference, you will get lost whichever path you choose, for they have all changed since you arrived, but if you are not in a hurry why not come venture with me?" "I can show you many wondrous places that exist here on this mountain."

Just then a Merlin hawk lands on the silent ones left shoulder startling the cabin builder, who then says, "and who is this?" "SHE is a friend of mine and has a nest not far from here to the north," the silent one replies, then adds, "you would know this if you weren't in such a hurry to reach the top." The cabin builder looked lost, and could not choose what to do. The silent one sensed this and said, "You may stay here for twelve more moons, but then you must decide, this hawk when you see her next will let you know of my return for your decision." Upon saying that the silent one turned his back and walked off into the thick of the mountain on the other side of his arrival. After eleven moons had past and close to the twelfth sure enough he saw the hawk high up in the sky above. And thought to himself, "I know not this mountain in which I live upon and have no chance of survival on my own, no matter which path I choose for my descent."

So he had decided he would take the risk and venture off with the silent one upon his return. Right on the twelfth moon, sure enough, the silent one returns and says, "what is your decision?" "I shall venture off with you into the wilderness," the cabin builder says nervously. The silent one then in a stern voice replies, "fine, but know this, if you come with me you must keep your mouth shut and never say a word unless I speak first." The cabin builder agrees to these terms and nods his head already obeying. So off they went this time in another direction entirely. One year had past and the silent one thought to himself, "I wonder how long he can keep this up." Another year past and still not an utterance. The cabin builder now was learning well how to survive from his friend, and one morning while coming out of the cave he had slept in saw a stranger walking upon a path nearby, but said nothing. But then the stranger had noticed him and yelled out, "Hey, can you tell me if this is the way to the top of the mountain?" The cabin builder replied, "yes, you are on the right path." Just then realising he too knew the mountain well, then behind him from the cave yelled another voice, "I thought I had told you to be silent."

nature
2

About the Creator

White Wolf

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.