Wander logo

The Joy of Brighton

Though this is but a place, it has great joy to it.

By Chess MasterPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
What can I do but look upon all this with steadfast appreciation?

We walk down the much-treaded snowy path. My friend and I laugh while listening to music. There is nothing but bliss in our hearts. The snow matches the sky and the people look upon life with joy. It is a natural day.

I was raised in Brighton Beach since childhood. I can recall the sincere teachers of P.S. 225, the unwavering friendships I had from people of every race and creed, the sacred day-to-day of Russian culture interspersing.

In every case, there was a feeling of joy that I was simply able to visit the beach, since it always reminded me of something more heavenly. When I was only 4 years old, I had a dream that the beach here washed over me and became a universe - I floated, drifted, flew through everything at once.

When Brighton was a younger soul, it was filled with drama and pain, but even then it was graceful. Coney Island was always recognized as a cultural hotspot for those who want the New York experience. If you hear the first few minutes of 'Sleep' by Godspeed!, You Black Emperor, you would know what I'm saying. "It was Coney Island, they called Coney Island the playground of the world". Kids would enjoy the rides and not want to leave. The culture was rich. Brighton is truly one of the wholesome spots.

When you go to Netcost to do some shopping, you don't just get whatever you want. You get whatever you want and much, much more. There's a feeling that whatever is available can also be imagined. When you head down to the local Georgian spot, you can get yourself fresh Georgian Khachapuri (cheese pie) and some authentic spinach salad. When you visit the nearby Chinese restaurant, you get the best sesame chicken I've ever had. You experience this feeling until you realize you don't want to leave.

Then there is also the beach itself, which stretches out endlessly and constantly has something to appreciate. I hug the boardwalk with my being. When you come here, you either look out to the ocean and embrace its waves, or you witness the chess park that has been here since time immemorial - you can ultimately realize that it's a piece of history. I have often invited friends to visit, and they really enjoy seeing my hometown.

My parents came here because they fled the Soviet Union. There is an irony to it all, of course - wanting to leave Russia to be part of it again - but I'll steadfastly say, in defense of this place, that we have found a much greater sense of identity here. In the Russia my parents knew, there were not many freedoms, nor a chance for self-expression, but here, interconnected with America, Brighton serves as a cultural nexus between the Russia they once had and the America they now appreciated. Nothing can take that away.

Not only this, but the feeling of taking me, a native born American, into a Russian cultural system, is not something that can be called trivial. There is an obvious pretense, especially because I play chess, but it never weighed down on me. Indeed, that is part of the beauty of my having been raised here. The truth is that a better place couldn't have been ordained for me. At 10 years old, the #2 chess player in the world, Fabiano Caruana, was raised in the chess-playing circles here. I strive to match that even now.

When I was young, I was genuinely intimidated by Brighton Beach. I didn't entirely know if my Russian was up to par, nor did I feel so comfortable being brought up in such a homogenous area. However, after a long time, I realized something - there are Americans and Russians, Blacks and Hispanics here, and that was not the root of the place. The root came from the interconnectedness of the whole thing. You never feel that there's some sort of fundamental rift between the people. Perhaps everyone is struggling, and yes, there are many elderly who came from the old country.

Can we really fault them?

I've met illegal construction workers from Russia and Ukraine and Poland here, virtuous people who do nothing but struggle for their families.

I'm great friends with the grocery owners from Yemen and Pakistan here.

More importantly, my soul feels connected to this place. Like other culturally complex neighborhoods, Brighton Beach, or "Little Russia by the Sea", has the most irrefutable of charms, the most memorable of icons, and the most spectacular of sights. I hope you, as a tourist, can come and visit here someday, because I guarantee that you'll impressed with its variety!

Don't judge people by what they seem like. Don't even judge them by what they are. After all, a place like Brighton is timeless, and cannot be measured in a single breath. Its people wouldn't appreciate a shallow look at their efforts, and they didn't arrive here without good reason.

Be beholden to the diversity and complexity of unique places. That's what makes life worth living. Everything I've said here is true. I certainly hope you can appreciate it and come to my neighborhood sometime!~~~

humanity
2

About the Creator

Chess Master

Play to win

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.