Wander logo

The Journey Starts

Escape from suburbia

By Vivian R McInernyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Me, far right, my travel pal & her parents who drove us to Canada early September 1974 where the adventure began.

I said goodbye to my parents in the driveway. The summer of 1974, I graduated from high school, turned eighteen and, with money earned at the mall, bought a round-trip ticket to what seemed like a shimmering fairytale across the Atlantic: Europe.

I grew up in a comfortable, blue collar, suburban neighborhood of Minneapolis. The dads on our block worked as roofers, brick layers, and gas meter readers. The mothers were homemakers. The only people I knew who’d been overseas were in the military. Some of them didn’t come back.

Two girls I knew in high school got pregnant and married before graduation. A third sat across the aisle from me in a psychology class crocheting loopy, pink-and-blue, baby booties for her “hope chest.”

After-graduation plans, or lack of plans, were shaping our futures. Three friends of mine enlisted in the armed forces. Some looked for full-time jobs. A few applied for college. Others figured they could live at home, get part time jobs, and take classes at the community college. All I wanted was out.

Europe seemed like a shimmering fairytale and I asked a few friends if they wanted to go. None even briefly considered it. I talked with one girl about moving west. I talked with another about moving east. I imagined living in a big house with poets and writers and artists and dancers but I didn’t know where or how or even, precisely, why.

When a girl in my English lit class, who I was just getting to know, asked if I was interested in going to Europe, I jumped at the chance to be travel buddies. But there was a catch. Margaret had pre-paid for a full-time, six-month, residential meditation course in Switzerland. She’d be staying in a dorm. And she’d be busy. Switzerland wasn't on my radar. But I figured if I could land a waitressing job in the same town, rent a cheap apartment, maybe on my days off, I could visit nearby tourist sites. I’d pick up a copy of Europe On Ten Dollars A Day and when Margaret finished her course, the two of us could explore the entire continent on the cheap! That was as detailed as my plan got.

I applied for a passport. In the travel section of the public library, I copied down the addresses of several Swiss hotels and wrote letters asking for work. Weeks later, two hoteliers responded with a polite but definitive “no.” One kindly explained that a foreigners needed work permits. And, he explained, an 18-year-old unskilled manual laborer was unlikely to be granted one.

My heart sank. Even if I were extremely frugal, without a job or housing, I knew my money would run out long before my friend finished her course. I hadn't bought my flight yet. I suggested meeting Margaret in Switzerland at the end of her six month course, but she didn’t want to start off alone and I think both of us suspected that if I didn’t go with her immediately, I probably would never go at all. Her departure was just a few weeks away. My vagabond dreams were slipping through my grasp like water. My mom said she never believed I was going anywhere anyway.

I felt foolish. Like that kid in my typing class who bragged about writing a letter to millionaire Howard Hughs asking for money and was embarrassed when he received a standard rejection. Now I was the buffoon. Who was I to think I could leap frog from my life into a new and exciting one?

I felt mortified that I'd ever dared to dream big and considered ditching the whole idea. It felt like extinguishing hope. The idea sunk into me like a dark death. Finally, I decided even a brief vacation to Europe while Margaret studied was more than anyone ever expected of me. I didn’t love the idea that I’d return flat broke. I imagined I'd have to live in my parents’ basement, get another minimum wage job, take community college classes and maybe transfer to the university of Minnesota. I’d be a semester or two behind kids my age, but at least I would have seen a bit of the world. I resigned myself to a modified version of my big adventure and bought a flight.

The night before, I was too excited to sleep. I said a groggy goodbye to my parents in the driveway. I hoped to see them in six months. My mother said I'd be lucky to last six weeks.

More than three years would pass before I'd see them again.

humanityfemale traveleuropediybudget travelasia
1

About the Creator

Vivian R McInerny

A former daily newspaper journalist, now an independent writer of essays & fiction published in several lit anthologies. The Whole Hole Story children's book was published by Versify Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021. More are forthcoming.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.