Wander logo

The Importance of Travel

Why should you travel? What does it offer you?

By Drew JohnstonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
A beautiful view in Pals, Spain

Throughout my childhood, I dreamed of seeing the world. I never knew how much I was going to love it. For years, I begged and pleaded for my parents to take me on a trip out of the country, and in June 2017, I finally got to go to London. I was so excited to go on this trip with my school’s drama club. This trip started my love for traveling. I thought one of the best parts of the trip was actually traveling with a group of people who had the same interests as me and who I could bond with and learn from while abroad. It was such a unique experience.

From there, I have gotten the opportunity to also travel to Barcelona, Spain; Paris, France; Tanzania; and Caye Caulker, Belize. Each trip was so unique and brought so much light to different cultures and the world. They each brought different experiences as well, whether it be zip lining through the jungle, scuba diving with nurse sharks, going on a safari, dancing with children, or marveling at the Sagrada Familia. Each country was so unique and beautiful.

How Travel Changed My Perspective on Life

Elephants on an African safari in Tanzania

Last summer, I got the opportunity to go to Tanzania on a mission trip. This trip not only taught me that people need to travel, but also that each country has something to offer those who visit it. I spent my time there in smaller villages hanging out with children who went to the schools there.

This experience was so different from life in the US. These kids had so little and yet they had so much love for each other, and especially for us. It opened my eyes to how materialistic I am and really taught me to try and back off from it and try my hardest to live in the present.

Anyone who travels often will find an experience and a country that will change their life for the better.

Group Travel

Dancing with the wonderful children of Mairowa Tanzania

I think that one of the best ways to travel is with a group. When I went to Tanzania, I went with a large group of people who I hardly knew before the trip. These people who I traveled with have now become some of my closest friends. Traveling the world with people brings you closer together and creates an unbreakable bond. If I ever see someone who I went on my trip with after not seeing them for a while, it seems as if no time has passed since we last spoke.

I greatly encourage seeing the world with a group of people. Whether it be friends, family, or people you just met, the dynamic of the trip immediately changes when you have someone to share it with.

Find Fun Close to Home

The beautiful view found on a day trip only two hours from home

You don’t always have to go out of the country to see the world and to have a lot of fun. If you don’t have the budget or time to travel overseas, you can still find somewhere fun to go either in your state or in a nearby state. I love taking short trips to California or just a day trip somewhere that is only a few hours away. You could even find fun events happening close to home.

Why Should You Travel?

The temple of Altun Ha in Belize

There is so much culture and so much to learn from the world. By traveling and seeing the world, you learn more about yourself, and it makes you more open-minded and open-hearted for the people around you. Travel makes you an advocate for other cultures. So go out and travel. See the world. Live your life and enjoy it.

Decide where you want to go first and what you want to experience. You may love wandering around Europe and sightseeing. You might be someone who wants to get down and dirty and venture through the jungle. Or maybe you are someone who wants to give back while abroad. There is always somewhere for everyone to go. Even if it is within your own country. You don’t need to go too far from home to see the world.

If you want to learn more about me and my travels, follow my Instagram @smallgirl_.bigworld

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Drew Johnston

The world needs to be seen and I have a passion to see it. I love sharing tips and tricks and stories about the world.

Follow my insta to see more adventures @smallgirl_.bigworld

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.