Wander logo

The Heart of Home

By Allison Harris

By AllisonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Yuma Arizona Photo By Allison Harris

They say home is where the heart is. When your heart is all over the world how can you pick just one specific place, or even one specific person? The Most home was New York, Then Yuma Arizona.

Home has always be a difficult thing for me because it took a long time to feel like i had a real home, yes a house is a home but in some aspects what exactly is a home? A house? Friends? Family? The understanding for me is home is in fact all of those things and so much more.

I've moved around a little bit in the last couple of years and home was the people that I met, friends that became family, home was solid ground a place i could count on.

Yuma Arizona has become a place i could call home, were i have met amazing people, I have the privilege of interacting with the community for example I enjoy volunteering my time as an assistant Foot Ball coach, spending time cleaning up surrounding areas.

There are many things that Arizona has introduced me to that i wouldn't have the pleaser of knowing if i never moved there, things such as cliff jumping, Bike Riding in the desert, Hiking, there are so many other things I could listed but it would be never ending.

The people that have become my family have introduced me to food that is so amazing you would never expect it, adventures that make nights worth remembering.

The Image that is depicted is the part of the desert where I enjoy cliff jumping with friends, the area is mainly desert but when going through the area you can see trees and grass there are rivers that family go to and enjoy their day. Yuma is the community were a stranger will help you just because they can and it makes you fall in love with the place even more, people go out of their way for a complete stranger.

Home has always be a challenging thing for me because home was something that was stable as i said earlier yes I had a home but the people that I lived with felt like complete strangers to me, they didn't know me and I didn't really know them, so when I say home is where the heart is I truly mean it, who you surround yourself with. Home is the love that you feel in the room from one person to the other.

There are many factors of why I truly appreciate Arizona, life can take you anywhere in the world and I'm truly happy that it took me to Arizona. Being there gave me the opportunity to not only explore the world more than I have before but finding a place I truly love, with everything that it is and everything it will be. The people that I've meet the life experience I got from being there.

Arizona has become a significant factor in my life because it's the first place that has ever felt like home from the people to the places to the food. It gives me this comforting feeling like I found my place even if it's just for a little while its mine, my home with the family that I made.

Home is anything place you want it to be, anyone you want it to be, home can be anything that feel right to you and for me home is Arizona. It's where I can see myself for a while even if it's not forever. Arizona became my home by chance and I'm happy that it did.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Allison

Poet at heart, connected to the sun, moon, and the stars above.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.