Wander logo

The good man "Nine Old Men"

Good people live in peace

By Hurry GreenPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
Like

"Nine old man" is my father-in-law. From an ethical and emotional point of view, it would be "disrespectful" for me to call him that, but because his mother-in-law and his peers used to call him that when he was alive, there was a special sense of familiarity and affection when I heard more; and because he was "good" and would not I even guessed that he heard me call him a good man "nine old herder", maybe he would still be habitually happy "hehehe" smile.

In fact, as a son-in-law, I am really ashamed, there is disrespect. I am fortunate to be the son-in-law of the "nine old herdsmen", whether from his own or his daughter, is the reward of heaven; but, we son-in-law a thirty-two years, now my father-in-law has passed away three and a half years, whether in the world or after his death, I have not done anything for him, and even in his memorial service I did not dedicate to him I did not even offer him a word or two at his memorial service. My heart is ashamed, but also regret; although my wife and mother-in-law did not say anything, I have a deep sense of debt and guilt in my heart.

The second half of this year I began to "idle" life, naturally there is time and energy to think about the past and all kinds of life, during which it is natural to think of my father-in-law "nine old man". Thinking of his face and face, remembering all his good, remembering that the 24th of this month is his birthday ...... remembering that I can no longer delay remembering. So, with all due respect, at a time like this, I offer my deepest gratitude and remembrance of him in words that are not well read but heartfelt.

The first time I met my father-in-law, the "Nine Old Men", was naturally when my wife and I were in love and met my old husband. It was the summer vacation in 1986, we took a bus to get off at Nanfen pond, and walked for more than an hour in the hot sun to get home. I remember when we arrived at home, my mother-in-law shouted on the steps in front of the stove house, "Nine old herdsmen, coming," and then came out of the house a dark, thin, smiling man in his fifties: "Hey, hey, coming! Then we were welcomed into the house. At that moment, my original shyness and nervousness, laborious and hot, like the cool breeze blowing in the snowy mountains in autumn, that is the relaxation of body and mind in the comfort. Only this time, my father-in-law's simple and weathered smile and the simple words "hey, come" melted into my heart: the image of a good man "nine old man" was initially laid in my heart.

After we became son-in-law, we naturally had more opportunities to see him. The time sequence changes, spring and autumn, different times, scenes, and even different moods, I saw my father-in-law "nine old man" but there seems to be no difference, he always said little, always the same seems to understand the age and fatigue of the busy east and west, always the same regardless of gains and losses, and good people, always the same seems to know the bitterness and bitterness to "Hey, hey" simple smile, accompanied by the very simple words "come", "um", "good", clearly give people a full The sweetness and simplicity: the years in my heart precipitated the image of a good man "nine old man", so I see more clearly, know more deeply.

In 1987, on the second day of the first month, "nine old man" decided to take his daughter and son-in-law before the wedding to go to the home of six uncles and six aunts in Changsha six companies to pay respect to the New Year, also considered to meet the elders before the wedding. It was the only city elders for our two country kids, but I was so dumb and stupid that I was really angry - the second day of the year, to go to my uncle's parents to pay respect to the New Year, but empty-handed and stupid to follow the "nine old herdsmen" behind. The actual fact is that you can find a lot of people who are looking for a good deal more than just a few of these people. Finally, at the gate of the six companies, he walked towards a small convenience store, asked for two bottles of five plus white, the shopkeeper with the fashionable packaging belt nimbly a tie, handed over. The "nine old herdsmen" counted the money, took the wine, picked it up and looked at it in front of him: "Hey, I want it!" --The first thing I did was to go to see my elders, all I had to prepare, and I hadn't even been able to buy wine for my husband, cigarettes to pay respect to him, but he gave me a "one-handed" job? And still cheerful, even a little child to order to go to the grandmother's house happy energy. The actual fact is that I'm really a very low EQ person, I didn't say anything at that time, and I never said anything, and I didn't know that I learned my lesson, in the future years to "nine old man" better, more filial respect; time, and even self-relieved: it's okay, "nine old man". The "nine old man" will not care, he is a good person.

The actual fact is that I have seen and heard with my own eyes and ears, "nine old man" is a good person. The first thing you need to do is to get a good idea of what you are getting into. I do not have enough first-hand information, but I think I know of two indirect things have been enough to prove that the "nine old man" to the good of people.

The first thing is that no matter what the year, the front of the village and the back of the store is always someone to invite the "nine old herdsmen" cha blood wine - Ningxia has a country custom, the New Year's Day, or a family wedding, usually the morning kill the pig, kill the pig before it is too early, two bowls of fresh pig blood, fried two bowls of Just now the pork is still screaming, call the family's elders or good neighbors, drink a few cups of hot wine, eat a table. "Nine old herder, where to go early in the morning?" "Hey, go to eleven pairs of × × family cha blood wine to go -" the words with a little bit of smugness. This kind of situation in the life of the "nine old herdsmen" seems to be a common occurrence. I often listen to my family when I go back: two days earlier, "nine old herdsman" went to x x home cha blood wine and drank too much, came back and fell. I asked him if this happened? He laughed again: "Hey, hey, it's not a problem."

There is another thing, is often heard mother-in-law said that a certain cadres, a certain teacher, a certain doctor specially to see "nine old herdsmen". The company's main business is to provide a wide range of products and services to the public. The actual fact is that the actual people are in trouble, or in a difficult time, "nine old man" on dozens of pounds of rice, a bag of vegetables to help people, good things to do more, remember the people naturally have, I have seen the township doctor Li Zhiyu came to see "nine old man", also often shouted The actual "nine old man" to have a drink. I am reminded of the family of my sixth uncle in Changsha, who seems to be happy to eat at the house of the "nine old maids" no matter who comes back home - in fact, on living conditions, the "nine old maids The "nine old man" family in several brothers is not considered good.

The "nine old herder" body type is relatively thin, but do things seem to have inexhaustible energy in the bones, whether household chores or farming, whether heavy work or dirty work, he never is silent shoulder up. When dressing grain, he likes to send grain, is mechanized rice, he got into the head of the dressing barrel, pull out the face of the grass, sifting clean, and then a skip a skip into the basket, and then is a shoulder pick up a couple of hundred pounds full of grain in the muddy fields deep a foot shallow a foot to send home. He moved quickly and did not see him take a break. He was able to pack a mechanized dressing barrel - some people may not believe it, but I do; because I often heard my wife say that when we went out for collective work, sometimes the "nine old men" would send a load of piglets to the house with my mother-in-law in the morning. I've heard from my wife that sometimes the "nine old men" will send a load of piglets with their mother-in-law to Zhu Shi Qiao, about 20 miles away, to be sold and then come back to catch the team's morning work. You know, Zhu Shi Bridge is not close, I now drive more than half an hour, even if they took the shortcut, it is estimated that the total 20 miles away, a round trip is 40 to 50 miles, or pick a load of piglets, if not a little "iron bones" "hairy legs If you don't have some "iron bones" and "flying legs", don't even think about it - when a mound of rice is finished, after everyone has finished packing up the straw, the "nine old herdsmen" drive out the oxen to yell again, and after some plowing and harrowing, the surface of the field is as flat as a mirror. The family naturally had already pulled the seedlings, "nine old herder" put down the plow and harrow and went to the rice field to pick the rice ......

This is the "nine old herdsman" who works hard and quietly during the busy season, no matter what he does or how much he is tired, he never cares or complains. The "nine old herdsmen" also never stop to rest during agricultural leisure time. We always go home, no matter when the conditions are tougher, or later on, the family is getting better, he is always busy, working non-stop. I just saw him carrying a sickle and a basket of grass out, and a while later he carried a basket full of grass to the cattle pen house. Sit down, light a cigarette, and unhurriedly cut up the pig grass.

A diligent family is naturally rich in grains and prosperous in six animals. It is his so diligent service, the family's pigs and cattle are growing well, a year down in addition to two pens of pigs, but also to sell a couple of cattle to earn a thousand or two thousand. Every time we went home, we had to catch a chicken, kill a duck, catch a fish; there were all kinds of seasonal vegetables, and everything was available for us to feast on. My most memorable dish was taro and pig's foot stew. It is a custom for Ningxiang people to have taro and pig's foot stew on New Year's Eve - it is a must! New Year's Eve dinner is relatively casual, but the resignation wine at midnight is particularly grand, everyone called to drink New Year's Eve wine, or directly called cha pig's feet, perhaps this is their real sense of the New Year's Eve dinner. Taro stewed pig's feet tastes really good, but the preparation of the dish requires work and effort can not be underestimated.

I remember seeing the "nine old men" preparing for this mid-year "feast" all day every year. In the morning, he would carry a hoe and a skimmer to the lake to dig up the taro, and after digging it up and cleaning the soil, he would carry it to the ditch, squat down, and use a knife to shave off the fur of the taro one by one with the water in the ditch. You know, this effort is enough torture, the cold weather, plus the taro skin numb people, skin allergies, a touch of itchy, straight into the heart of the nest. But "nine old herder" is to be in the cold wind, on the cold water, squatting at the edge of the ditch one by one to shave the taro clean, so a squatting is two or three hours. When he appeared in front of us, is carrying a bucket of tender white taro, while still "hey" smiling nervously, while dragging his legs a crutch to walk into the house. But this is only part of the taro stew pork feet preparation work, the next is the planing of the pig's feet, which is a delicate job, but also a technical job, you need to first burn hair, and then plan the skin. Burning hair to all aspects, more importantly, the grasp of the fire to be accurate, the fire is not allowed, either not burned clean hair, or the skin and meat burned paste. Plan the pig's feet a bubble three planes, and so these procedures are completed, two pig's feet also planed out, pack up a stop also on a time. To this point, "nine old herdsman" preparation is finally "finished", he stretched, light a cigarette, bla bla bla, listening to everyone laughing, watching a room of lively, "hehehe" smiled ......

The "nine old herdsmen" work constantly, but of course he also has time to rest, he rested in two ways: watching the flower drum show and sleep. The actual fact is that you will find a lot of people who have been in the business for a long time. turn off the TV. After asking him what he had watched, his answer was always "Hey, hey, it's good!" "Another way to rest is to sleep. Sometimes after breakfast or lunch, he goes to bed and can fall asleep after a while. One time, he came to my house in Zhuzhou, and after lunch, he was ready to go to bed again. He still smiled: "You have to work; hey, I sleep solid, not in the way." --I know he doesn't want to cause us any trouble: he hasn't read much, and he's a roadie, so if he goes out on the street, he won't feel comfortable without us; I heard my wife say that when she first joined the workforce, the "nine old men "The company's main business is to provide a wide range of products and services to the public.

The "nine old herder" is so everywhere for people to think, carry, do, even if the children do not understand, he is also a thought for the children. I remember when my daughter Ning Yu was small, she liked it most when her grandparents came to the house, because as soon as they came, "nine old man" would accompany her to play poker - dragging the cart, and is sure to let her granddaughter win a laugh, even if sometimes Ning Yu cheated, he was also smiling "Hey, hey, you win." Later, "nine old herder" old, can not do, and even can not walk, but he still chanting: "the second has not yet asked the cousin, the driving license did not buy a car, I have to save some money to help him buy a car ah!

"Nine old herder" good, perhaps you will feel too broken, not classic, but in my heart, in familiar with him, he is the most real, the most respectable good people. Especially his "hehehe" simple smile, is classic, is deep, is profound; I know, his smile is recognition, is tolerant, is generous, is responsible, is persistent, is understanding, is satisfied, is satisfied, is love, is sweet.

After the age of 80, "nine old herder" really can not walk more and more, especially his brain machine walking more and more tired, sometimes big solution small solution are a little unable to remember. We went home and asked him, "Let's go to our house to play or not?" "Hey ......" he smiled and didn't say anything. We know that he actually wants to go in his heart, is afraid to trouble us.

The first month of the 19th year, shortly after the Spring Festival, the good man "nine old man" gone, with his "hey" simple smile, with all his good, gone so hurriedly, so suddenly, so can not bear to think more. The two days to "nine old herder" to do afterlife, has always insisted that parents do not cry after the death of his wife actually cried "hysterical", and I am a big man, watching, listening, but also can not help but cry.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Hurry Green

I like a grass, a tree, a mountain in this world, I like the waves of the ocean more, taste the world's food, I would like to share everything with you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.