Wander logo

The Edge of the World:

Population: Inspiration & I.

By Samantha ButteryPublished 3 years ago 19 min read
3
“I went looking for my dreams outside of myself and discovered, it's not what the world holds for you, it's what you bring to it.” - Lucy Maud Montgomery

Inspiration is not a guest that you invite to dinner. It is not a reliable friend you can count on when you need it most. Inspiration is not the type you introduce to your parents as your trusted partner. No. Inspiration is a fickle lover. An illustrious, delicious, ever flighty vagabond. It goes where it pleases and does not beg you to follow, however, you will. You cannot help but want to be along for the ride. Inspiration demands to be chased. A lustful, romantic, desire – oh how we peruse it all our lives! Therefore, I would not wait for inspiration to find me. The purpose of my solo trip would be to find it. I would at first think. Some may consider me a fool but where lust is present, so is foolhardiness. They say love is what makes you blind. Quite frankly it is my firm belief that, while this is true, it is even more true of lust – and by association – of inspiration.

Prince Edward Island

Day 1 – Settling

October 12th, 2021

Drenched, soaked to the bone! That is one way to begin this little get away. Of course, it was beautiful when I landed on the Island and for most of the drive, but the moment I get near where I am staying, the skies brought in the clouds! On the bright side, I have chosen the most beautiful accommodations! I am staying at the West Point Lighthouse Inn & Museum. I still cannot believe I managed to get a room in a lighthouse! It is one of the more visibly notable lighthouses on the Island! It has a box base and thick black and white bands on it. I read in the brochure that it is the tallest lighthouse on all of Prince Edward Island! I do not think my stomach could handle being on the top floor, so I have settled for a room in between. I love that we are right at the edge of the Northumberland Strait. The water is so beautiful. Right now, it looks so rough and terrifying. As if the wrath of every god throughout ancient history through their spears into the waves and set them upon the land! Alright, I’m exaggerating, it’s a light drizzle with some hefty wind. But to be fair, I am here to seek inspiration, so let me be dramatic! I hope this little get away clears up my writers’ block. It’s been months since I’ve written a poem, and I have been itching to get back to the Island since the first time I set foot upon the rust colored sands. But, as happy as I am to be here, I am also exhausted! I think I’ll grab a hot shower to shake this chill from the rain, have a tea, and then watch some television until I fall asleep. Tomorrow I will begin project R&R. No, not rest and relaxation. Revitalize & Rejuvenate! Until then, sleep awaits! Goodnight!

Day 2 – Unchartered Waters

October 13th, 2021

This was a rewarding day! I cannot decide if I should write poetry as I go or experience this trip and then write poetry once it is over. Decisions! Perhaps I could make these entries somewhat poetic so I can pull one liner’s later and build around it? Oh, I don’t know. I suppose I will just have to write when the urge to write strikes me. Anyway, back to my day! I ventured out to the beach, extremely early this morning. I did not want to be disturbed by anyone, so I got up around 6:00 am, got dressed (slowly), made a cup of tea, and went down to the beach at about 7:00 am. I set out my towel, sat huddled under a thick blanket, and drank my tea with some beautiful instrumental music playing. Finally, the moment I had been waiting for had arrived. The sun began to rise. It lifted itself rather slowly from its long slumber, the way I had done just an hour before. I watched as its splendor rose from behind the horizon, touched the waters edge and turned each wave, each swell, each drop of water into a pool of gold. One at a time until the rays of run were running from the supposed edge of the world all the way up to the pebbly shores of where I sat. It was so beautiful, and the vocal talents of Luciano Pavarotti only heightened the experience (I chose to listen to “O sole mio” of course). The entire experience was so moving I began to cry. How long it has been since an experience like this moved me to tears! It was wonderful! Until the other guests began to come outside to see the same sight. It was much too early still to converse, and being so happy with my own company, I almost felt as though they were intruding. So, I retuned to my room.

I got my things, got into my rented vehicle, and sped off down the road. I only have one plan for today. Lighthouses! There are 63 of them on the entire Island, but not all of them are active. Moreover, not all of them are accessible either. Some are privately owned or are only accessible by boat. I did not plan to see all of them. Just a few! Something about these structures calls to me. I’m not sure if it’s the romance of seafaring strangers that once walked those stairwells, the history, the shapes, the majesty of their height and girth. Whatever it is, it is intoxicating! I do not know where my writers block solution is yet, but I know to start with these lighthouses. I won’t go into detail about each one I saw, but I can tell you how wonderful it was to step into each. As though taking a step back through time. Everything was still the original structure that was built in the 1800’s. Each with a stunning view of the Gulf.

There was no rain today. In fact, there was not a cloud in sight. It was gorgeous, and I loved the calm side of the waters just as much as the monstrous roar that transpired last night. It really had me appreciating the seeming endlessness of the water running off toward the sky. I know, scientifically, that it ends at the next bit of land. But poetically, I could honestly believe in a moment like that that the waters just fall off the edge of the world and pour out among the stars. Once I had hit what seemed liked hundreds of lighthouses, I drove all the way back to O’Leary to have dinner at West Point and start settling down for the night. I had a dip in the strait (an extremely cool dip) and then ate a nice meal. I figured while I was here I would have to have lobster. I am so glad I did. Succulent and Island caught. I am full and content! I plan to have another early start tomorrow, so off to bed with me! Tomorrow I will stay more local, I think. With all the driving today, tomorrow will be a day of leisurely exploration. Until then!

Day 3 – Exploration

October 14th, 2021

Good evening! Today proved to be a very quiet day. Quite honestly, I almost became bored. I began to wish I had not risen so early. Tomorrow must be fraught with adventure. I love the quiet days, but they are more enjoyable with another person. I think exploring on my own means driving long distances to unknown places. That is not to say I had a bad day or anything. It was fine. I wandered down the shoreline this morning and watched the waves roll in from afar. It was gorgeous although quite chilly. I scanned the ground for interesting rocks and seashells. I found a few. The most notable I found were pieces of green and blue stones, what looked very much like sea glass. I have no idea if that is what it is, but I found them peculiar and I kept quite a few! There were many crab carcasses laying about as well. In pieces. Pinchers, legs, and bodies strewn about like a great aquatic battlefield. I suddenly felt bad walking in their field of dead but then realised, they are dead. They would not care one way or the other. I kept a few pinchers for posterity, but the rest I deposited back into the waters. I gave them a proper send off and continued my walk. The rest of the paraphernalia I found on the beach were driftwood and sand. Many a fisherman I passed greeted me with a kind good morning. That was pleasant. I walked for what felt like an hour. Eventually I turned back and got ready for the day. But not before having a cup of tea and a bite to eat. I tried to write a few things but got no where. Blast! So, I got into the car and drove into town.

I walked about until I read that the Potato Museum was in O’Leary! This sounded promising, and it was! Despite what you may think, spuds are actually very interesting and have a long-standing history! My favourite exhibit, I have to say, is the one regarding potato rot. It talked about what types of rot or disease a potato could get when growing. While this may sound mundane or a bit gross, it was not. It was very informative. But the reason I loved it so was the fact that they had set up little plastic potatoes, displaying each with a different rot or disease, and placed them in tiny coffins. It was both cute and creepy at the same time. I walked about for a long while and ended at the gift shop. My favorite part of any museum. I bought a few things and then noticed an eating area. Everything on the menu had to do with potatoes! It was so wonderful and smelled delicious! I had to stop for a bite.

Upon leaving it was about 2:00 in the afternoon so I kicked around town a little and started to get really bored. I managed to kill time until about 4:30 and drove back for dinner. It is now 7:00pm and I am watching television. Why does watching television on vacation feel so wrong? I guess because I could do that at home. Home. I think I’ll give them a call. Just to see how everyone is. Tomorrow will be better! I plan to do the one thing I have been most looking forward to. Until then!

Day 4 – Peg Bowen

October 15th, 2021

Today was the best day of the trip thus far! I ventured off to Cavendish to see Green Gables! I have been watching Anne of Green Gables since I was about six years old. This would be my second trip to see this historic place, but it was just like the first time all over again! The famous white and green house standing tall and proud! I decided to take the trail through The Haunted Woods. I remembered it being long, but it always felt like an eternity when I was brimming with excitement to get to the end. This time, just like the last, I took off running toward the house when it came into view. I can’t explain why I do it. It’s an impulse. Perhaps because in the films the children are always running, and it felt right to run toward a place I felt was home. It was the most “at home” I felt while on the Island. I knew where I was. I knew that this place was special and sacred to me. I walked around the property and took in the sights. Smelled the air. Watched the clouds go by while I laid in the grass out in front of the property. I went inside and it was like walking into my dream world. Growing up I considered Anne to be a dear and very real friend to me. Or as she would say, a bosom friend. Fiction or not, Anne was in every place I visited here and in very step I took upon the land. Meanwhile, the heartbeat of this Island was Lucy Maud Montgomery (the author of Anne of Green Gables). At least it was to me. It was a perfect afternoon.

Walking back through The Haunted Woods trail, I started to think about Peg Bowen. She was my second favorite character in the series after Anne. Mainly because I had very much grown to be like her. She was called The Witch of Avonlea. She perhaps became a bigger role model for me than I had expected. She was strong willed, intelligent, kind, and was herself beyond all the criticism she ever received. I thought to myself, how proud I was to have turned out like her. Partially like her and partially like Anne. The best of both worlds! I decided I was not finished my Avonlea exploration, so I took the red dirt road to New London. Here, I went to Lucy Maud Montgomery’s birthplace. What a beautiful little slice of quaint village life. I walked around the old house and read the plaques. Somehow, I felt even closer to Lucy. The little shop next door was owned by a very kind, older couple. I made friends with them and chatted of familiar things. It had been days since I really spoke to anyone. It was very nice to chat. The company of strangers can at times be very comforting. I have no idea why, but I suppose I feel I can tell them anything I want to. I won’t see them again, and therefore they cannot tell on me.

As I drove back to O’Leary for the night, I put on the soundtrack from Anne of Green Gables. What beautiful music! I could not help but feel as though the Island were singing with me. I hummed and whistled the melodies all the way back. I had a late supper and am currently about to fall asleep. My eyes feel heavy, and I have decided on an exciting excursion for tomorrow! Since it is my second last day, I plan to go whale watching! It seems I should have done it sooner with whales being my favorite animal, but I felt it would be a wonderful way to end the trip. Its supposed to be rainy tomorrow. This excites me and I cannot wait to be out on the water! I am rather nervous, but my excitement is so great that nothing could keep me from the Gulf! Until tomorrow!

Day 5 – Friends off the port bow

October 16th, 2021

Exhilarating! That’s the only word to describe it! That experience, those feelings, oh my! Who knew! Every time I imagined. I surely did not think. I could not believe. The magic, the wonder, the size! Pinch me! It was already raining when we were boarding the ferry. Since it is October it was also a very cold rain, but I was prepared! I wore layers and layers under my raincoat with galoshes and extra socks! Nothing would stop me! We pushed away from the docking area and sailed outward. Everyone was chatting and on their phones. I figured it was to take photos, but most people were scrolling on social media. A few had their cameras open but for the most part they were taking selfies. The only people looking out were myself, many of the seniors aboard, and a few younger people. I planned to take some selfies too but after the initial experience. How could anyone not be excited to be sailing out to see WHALES!? Nature’s giants! I may be excessively passionate about whales.

I knew that there was a chance I may not see anything, but I could not think this way. I had to stay positive! I had been so focused on the waters that I had forgotten that I was on a boat full of people. So, when the first whale breached for us, I screamed so loudly that everyone around me got startled and looked at me. I still had not noticed them, they were of little consequence to me. I was too in awe. I got my camera out so quickly and waited for the next jump. Someone asked if I was alright and I brushed them off quickly saying that I was fine. I felt bad after because I believe I came off rude, but I wanted no interruptions between myself and Betsie. Oh, I named the whale Betsie. She breached again and this time I caught it on camera! It was pure magic. The moment I saw her the first time it was like love at first sight. The second time brought me to tears. I really wanted nothing more than to dive into the water and dance with her. She was so graceful and beautiful. I wonder if she knew how magnificent she was. Whales are extremely emotional and sensitive mammal’s; it is not inconceivable that perhaps they too had insecurities. I would assume they were rather confident though. It just seems as though they would be. A few others came up and let their flukes break the waters so that they could show off for us. One swam so close to the boat my heart jumped with fear in the best way! Some of the people ran back and screamed but I screamed and stayed put. They warned us not to put any limbs out to the water and I obeyed, but I wanted not to!

Seeing how large they truly are was so incredible. It reminded me of my place in this universe. Our place. We think of ourselves as these powerful, mighty, beings at the top of the chain. In actuality, we are so small in comparison to so much that surrounds us in the natural world. I’m not sure where we get off thinking otherwise. The only thing large about us is our ego. In the whole universe, we are so infinitesimal, that we are barely an echo in time. The edifice of life seems to be so dependent on asking metaphysical, philosophical, and in some cases unanswerable questions. So why do we feel like we are large enough to give answers we have no idea of? Are we so unbelievably vain that we think we know all the secrets of the unknown? That whale I saw knows more about the ocean floor than any of us will in our lifetime. Only 5% of the ocean has been explored. FIVE. Whales have been to depths and have answers to secrets we will probably never know. Yet, we seem to think we are smarter than they are. That we can decide their fate. We seem to think we are gods among them but really, we are a curse! A halt in the natural evolution of creatures. Committing murder and destroying their homes. Yes, all this came to mind when I saw the majesty of this creature’s most graceful breach from the waters surface. I feel so humbled to be so small, and to be standing so close to these whales. Being allowed to marvel at their beautiful existence in such a strange and unjust world. Tomorrow is my final day. I must head to bed before I am up all-night dreaming with my eyes open. I have saved the luxury of packing for tomorrow. Until then!

Day 6 – Parting is such sweet sorrow

October 17th, 2021

As I write this, I am sitting in an airport, waiting to board my flight. Reflecting on this trip, I feel so happy to have had the opportunity to be here. So much has happened in such a short amount of time that I can hardly separate one thought from the next. My head seems to be spinning like a top! I have been reading back on my entries and realized that the points in which I felt most inspired, were when I fully immersed myself in the moment and let go of the conscious search for inspiration. It is a lesson I have learned time and again, why I have such a hard time retaining it I shall never know. I feel so sad to leave, and yet happy to be going home. I do ache to see familiar faces and hear sounds that need no curiosity. The call of adventure will never stop, and I will venture out again, but home is calling now. And I must go to answer it. I did however manage to birth a concept into somewhat of a comprehensive paragraph. I will leave it below. I will look at this paragraph as what I have learned on this trip. I think this will be the beginning of my next piece. Poem or story I do not know. But I know one thing. I will not try to figure it out. I will let it happen on its own. My flight is boarding! Homeward bound!

My Scribbles:

"For this is the heart of a poet. A child’s soul with a giant butterfly net, running to the nearest lambent flame of inspiration – and once you approach, once you taste inspiration, it is as if you have stepped through a looking glass. From a child you transform into an adult. What you feel is no longer wonderment but is now lust. It is now a fixation. That ineffable quality of inspiration. The fulfillment of your heart – no matter how brief – we long for it. Bliss. We will go to great lengths to feel it – wherever it takes us. May it take you far and bring you peace and discovery of the world and of yourself. I hope inspiration beckons to you to stretch your arms out wide with the intent to touch the horizon, as much as you understand that you cannot. May you always aspire to reach the horizon."

solo travel
3

About the Creator

Samantha Buttery

I am a 20 something poet and indie film director from a mining town in Northern Ontario. I also dabble in short stories, screenplays, radio dramas, and plays. I am forever seeking to expand my artistic horizons.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.