Wander logo

"The Dim Light"

"Beyond the Flickering Light"

By IsraPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
"The Dim Light"
Photo by Janusz Maniak on Unsplash

As I stepped into the old mansion, I couldn't help but feel a chill run down my spine. The air inside was thick and heavy, and the dim light that flickered from the candles seemed to cast eerie shadows on the walls. I had always been drawn to the supernatural and the unknown, and this mansion was rumored to be one of the most haunted places in the country.

I had arrived at the mansion in the dead of night, my car crunching on the gravel driveway as I pulled up. The house loomed before me, its turrets and spires reaching towards the sky like skeletal fingers. I shivered as I stepped out of the car, the wind whipping through my hair as I approached the entrance.

The front door creaked as I pushed it open, and I stepped inside, my eyes adjusting to the dim light. The interior was musty and decaying, cobwebs hanging from the chandeliers like macabre tapestries.

But there was nothing. No sign of anyone, no indication that anyone had ever lived here. And yet, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was being watched. I kept catching glimpses of movement out of the corner of my eye, but whenever I turned to look, there was no one there.

As I explored deeper into the house, I began to notice strange symbols etched into the walls. They seemed to pulse with a malevolent energy, and I could feel a dark presence lurking just out of sight. I tried to ignore it, telling myself it was just my imagination, but the feeling only grew stronger.

Suddenly, I heard a faint whispering in my ear. It was a soft, raspy voice, and it seemed to be coming from all around me. I spun around, trying to locate the source, but there was no one there.

I tried to run, but my feet felt heavy, as if they were rooted to the spot. The voice grew louder still, and I could feel a presence closing in around me. I was trapped, unable to move or escape.

And then, the lights went out.

I was plunged into darkness, the only sound the whispering voice in my ear. I was completely at the mercy of the darkness, and I knew I was not alone.

Suddenly, a faint light flickered to life in front of me. It was a candle, and it cast eerie shadows on the walls as it danced in the breeze. But it was not the candle that caught my attention - it was the figure standing behind it.

Tall and imposing, its face was twisted into a grotesque grin. Its eyes glowed with an otherworldly light, and I could feel its malevolent presence washing over me.

The figure began to move towards me, its slow, deliberate steps echoing through the darkness. I was paralyzed with fear, unable to move or escape. And then, everything went black.

I stumbled to my feet, my heart still racing with fear. I knew I had to get out of there, to escape the darkness and the malevolent presence that lurked within. I staggered through the rooms, my eyes fixed on the door, and I didn't stop running until I was back in my car, speeding away from the mansion and the horrors that lurked within.

I never went back to that mansion, and I never spoke of what happened that night. But the memory of the shadows in the dim light, and the presence that lurked within, has stayed with me to this day.

Even now, as I sit in my own home, surrounded by the comforts of modern life, I can feel the presence watching me. It's a constant reminder of the horrors that lurk in the darkness, waiting to pounce.

natureasia

About the Creator

Isra

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    IsraWritten by Isra

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.