Wander logo

The Diary of a Romanoff

Little Black Book

By Trycia LinoPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like
The Diary of a Romanoff
Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

It was nighttime in Russia. Alexandar and Jennifer walked down the street after a nice dinner and movie. "Jennifer, I really enjoyed our time together", Alexandar said as he kissed the inside of her wrist. A little romantic move that I am sure he used on many American tourists. Jennifer really didn't mind he was tall with black hair and blue eyes. His skin was as soft as the peddle of a rose. His nose was perfect and fit his chiseled face. She had just met him yesterday on one of her walks around the square, but now she wished she had more time. She was leaving to go back to the US tomorrow.

Jenny as her friends call her really enjoyed her time. She loved that she was able to travel around with the job she had as a flight attendant. Her parents did not like it much, as they were always afraid: her traveling alone. She would try to calm them by telling them she would be with other friends but most of the time it was a lie.

"Jenny", Alexander whispered to bring her back to the present. " I wish you did not have to leave. There is so much more I would like to show you. I bet you think I am this way with all the girls, but you are different. I feel different when I am around you."

Wow, she had never expected this. She was pretty, but so were a lot of girls. "You might not say it to all the girls, but maybe just Americans " Jenny laughed.

"Now, you make fun", Alexander said turning away. "I was serious. I do not say much to all girls. I am very shy usually. You have not met my friends who would tell you this because I wanted all your time for me".

Jenny was caught off guard. "Well If you want I can fly in next weekend and meet some of those friends of yours and we can know one another better."

Alexander's face broke into a big smile which melted Jenny's heart. "It is a date". Alexander said still smiling wide. She did notice before.

She could easily fall for this guy, and she was ok with it.

She kissed him and went inside the old building where she rented a room.

As she climbed the stairs to her area there was a trail of old things going down the stairs. In broken English, she heard the lady of the house "I'm sorry for the mess. I just got some items from the attic.

By Library of Congress on Unsplash

It's ok there are only a few things left on the stairs. She spotted the small diary off to her right. "Are these things important? I can bring them down?" Jenny questioned.

"No, Jenny they are just old things from the attic", She said. "I inherited them with the house. I noticed the young man you were with. Never seen him before, and I have young pretty girls rent rooms a lot."

This made Jenny feel even better. She would text Alexander to meet her tomorrow for coffee before she left.

"I found a book on the stairs do you mind if I read it?", Jenny asked.

"Be my guest dear", said the sweet lady. She liked her a lot and felt safe in the home. She would come back many times. she decided, (not just for Alexander). She said in her mind as an afterthought.

Jenny opened the door to her room. The room was not large, but it did have a nice large queen canopy bed and a bench that matched the redwood. The tour book of the house said it uses to belong to the royal family. This is one of the reasons she chose this bed and breakfast. It was said to be linked to the Romanoff family.

She texted Alexander before she forgot. then she put on her PJs and laid on the bed. Opening the little book she could tell now it was a diary. The name on the book was smudged. She could make out Xenia Romanoff

What! Jenny really didn't believe the legend of the brochure where she found her lodging, and the owner who rented the room was a sweet older lady, but she did not look like the pictures she saw of the family. So to have this in her hand was a great surprise and treasure.

Jenny knew she should turn it into the government and then have them put it in the museum, but she wanted to know the story first of what happened to the family. She opened up the diary and started to read.

July 17, 1915

Today was a beautiful summer day. Uncle Romanoff the Sar of Russia had all of the family over for a picnic at the Catherine Palace. There were guards there protecting the family from the mobs that were mounting against us. I do not understand why. He is a fair ruler. When I was walking around I spotted one of the soldiers. He is handsome. He has dark hair, blue eyes, and the most gorgeous smile I have seen.

Jenny stopped thinking of her own dark-haired hunk. I bet he would even look amazing in a uniform. She read on.

Nicky met up with me behind the carriage hose today. He warned me about what could occur. I told him that everything should be fine. My Uncle was a good man. Why would people hate him, and why would they come after me of all people. Nicky took my hand and turned my hand over kissing the wrist a most tender part where I would always be able to remember it.

By Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

July 20, 1915

Nicky and I have met up a few times. We have even had him over for dinner at our estate. Mom said we must go to the Estate in the woods as there is a lot of things happening at the Palace. She said it was just going to be for the rest of the summer. Nicky said he put in to go with us as our guard and was approved. I was thrilled. I think my cousin Olga pulled some strings for us.

I must go to sleep now. I am to pack tomorrow and he will be at the house to help us load.

July 21, 1915

I can not believe my parents. My mom kept me away from Nick all morning. The only time I was able to see him was at lunch. I took several glances his way. He was dashing on his horse in the uniform. My heart was beating really fast when He walked by me and helped me pick up a piece of paper I dropped. It was a note for him. He was suppose to pick it up then take it with him to read, but instead, he picked it up and handed it back to me with a gleaming smile. I didn't have the heart to tell him it was a letter for him so I kept it. I could smell him on the letter and kept it close to my heart the whole day.

July 25, 1915

Nick had to leave with some of the other soldiers to check on the unrest in the streets of the capitol. I miss him and have been fretting about his safety. My mother said I looked as if I was a caged animal. She knows something is going on with me, but I do not think she is aware of the seriousness of the situation.

I got a letter from our mutual friend. He said the streets are starting to become very dangerous, but Nick was ok. He told of our Cousins in an estate close by that has been harassed by some of the people in the town. I do not know how they could give us such grief when we supply so much for them. My Uncle creates jobs for them and makes sure their families have enough to eat. My mother said it is just a handful of people who make it bad for everyone. I think she is correct. I just wish Nick would hurry and get back.

August 12, 1915

Nick arrived last week. We have been busy here at the home preparing in case anything were to happen. We have escape routes mapped out. Nick has made sure there is food hidden in the woods. He has taken us through drills over and over again. To be honest it is starting to scare me a little.

September 11, 1915

We were able to go back to the city today. Things have settled down enough for us to walk around without insults. Something could happen again, but for now, we are safe. My parents are very impressed with Nick and our relationship is now out in the open. I am glad we are not having to sneak anymore though the sneaking made it a little exciting.

December 25, 1915

Uncle Rominoff invited the family to the Palace for Christmas. There was an enormous tree. It was lit with beautiful candles and little presents.

Nicky was there. I thought it was odd but Olga had a funny look on her face She was up to something.

Nick took my hand into the ballroom where the family gathered. When I say family I mean everyone. We have a large family and everyone came from their estates in France and the United States to be with family.

I tried to steal him away from everyone, but he stayed in the room speaking with my parents. All of the sudden the music turned off and he grabbed my hand. He went to one knee and pulled out a box. Xenia will give me the honor of being my wife.

Olga came and hugged me first after Nick put the ring on of course. She was so excited and said she wanted a love like mine.

I told her I was keeping him. She smiled. She said "I am so happy for you. we will plan on being married in the summer at Catherine Palace where I first saw him.

May 10, 1916

oI can not believe I am a married woman. My Uncle gave us a home that some would say is a palace. It is located near the square. Uncle likes all the family close. My parents gave us a country home near theirs. He came from a well-off family too but joined the service for my uncle. We went to Paris for our honeymoon. Of course, our family there wanted us to stop by and see them. It was a great time.

Jenny closed the book. Many of the dates had been ripped out. She wished she could know more. She knew that not only were the Czar and his family killed, but all of the family that was found and related to him were killed.

She could not imagine how that would be. That night when she slept she dreamt of Xenia and Nick. She saw them together in an Incampment. Xenia was with her family as well. They were lined up men and women in lines that lead to a wooden wall. She watched as her father then her husband and little 2- year -old son were marched to the wall. The men with guns fired. Her father fell first. Her mother was pushed forward and she was shot. Crying she saw her husband and son pushed forward. The gun jammed and her husband was able to take the gun from him and killed the other man who was shooting. They ran as a family as fast as they could into the cold dark forest. The shoes were removed from their feet so the frostbite hit fast, but they were alive.

Jenny woke with a jolt. I wonder if this is what happened to them. She had to know. She remembered she was leaving that day. She would return and soon. Maybe she could dig up something from the US.

Jenny met Alexander in the morning for Coffee before she would go to the airport. You know you can come to visit me as well.

Alexander told her he would put in for a visitor visa. "The Visa is very hard to get here", He said, "but I will try".

Jenny smiled, "well when you can I will arrange your ticket".

"I can get a ticket", Alexander protested. He did not want Jenny thinking he was using her in any way. He really liked her.

"Don't be silly", said Jenny. "Friends and Family fly free".

Alexandar forgot she worked for the airlines. "Okay, then I will get the dinners".

"It's a deal", she said. She remembered the dream and diary, but at this moment it was time for her own romance.

Jenny had to hurry to make her plane. "Dosvidana", she said and kissed him one last time.

"Call me when you land safely", Alexandar whispered softly in her ear.

Jenny had a lot of research to do when she got home, and anew love to talk about with her girlfriends.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Trycia Lino

Trycia has a BS in Sociology and Gerontology. Her MAED in Counseling and a ABD PhD in Edication. She is the Author The Guardian of Machu Picchu Elixir of Life.

She is married to an amazing man Daniel, and has two amazing boys.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.