Wander logo

The Art of Solo Travel

Why we all need to get lost

By MR. ERIQPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

One of my New Years’ resolutions was to travel more and take more pictures. Fate must have heard because soon after the new year, I was on a plane to Paris! Just before I had booked the flight, I was turned down by what seemed like a dream job. During the application process, I was warned ahead of time that I would be subject to a pay cut if I were to be offered the position. Because of this, the money I had saved up in the event that I got the job (and the pay cut that came with it) made purchasing the ticket possible; and with perfect timing, I might add. If that wasn’t enough, the job I had at the time also gave me a pay raise that made me feel less guilty about my impulsive purchase. Everything seemed like perfect timing. I was nowhere near ready, but my camera was charged and I was excited to explore.

This has been my favorite trip so far. A week filled with museums, nightlife, champagne, and pretending to live like a local was better than anything I could have asked for. On my final day in Paris, I took a sightseeing bus to skim over everything I didn’t have enough time to see. The final stop before heading back was also my final go-to. The Arc de Triumphe was absolutely breathtaking. I climbed up the 284 steps and made my way to the top. If the view of the Arc didn’t bring me to tears, the view from the top definitely did.

As I stood over my latest conquest, I reflected on my time there, and all I’ve accomplished. The rejection that brought me here and how I’ve managed to make the most of it. Most of all, I’ve learned that I find the most joy in traveling alone. It comes with so many opportunities for growth. I’ve come to realize that solo traveling is a must.

Here’s why:

1. You get to explore cultures outside of your norm. Different food, different customs, different languages. Nothing is more exciting than figuring out the metro and finding your way around a city that speaks a different language than you. It’s very empowering to figure something out, finding your way back to your hotel, or just making the first move and asking for directions on your own. I can’t put into words the amount of pride I felt mastering the subway system in Paris to the point that when I fell asleep on the metro and missed my stop, I was able to confidently find my way back home. I felt like a true badass.

2. Because you don’t know the language, you’re put in a position where you need to communicate with people you don’t understand or that don’t understand you. I’ve learned that this is the best way to step outside of your comfort zone and meet locals. When I was in Paris, I paid for an international SIM card for my phone to use Google Translate but I find it much more fun for me to learn and practice speaking French and the person I’m talking with to practice their English. I’ve ended up making some amazing new friends like that. While planning my trip, I heard an excellent quote from my favorite travel vlogger, Jo Franco. “When you’re by yourself, you can truly be who you want to be because there’s nobody expecting you to be anything you’re not. So the people you meet are going to know the best version of you that you want to put out into the world.” I’ve learned that this couldn’t be more accurate.

3. Even with all these new friends, you get the joy of freedom when you’re traveling solo. There is no one to please when you’re all alone. You can sleep in if you want to. You can see whatever you want to see and take as many coffee breaks as you want without worrying about appeasing your travel partner’s plans. I took full advantage of this with breakfast in bed and a whole day enjoying the hotel’s amenities. That day, the balcony in my room and the spa downstairs were the only landmarks worth visiting.

4. I feel the most important reason to travel alone is that you learn the art of being alone. Being away (especially overseas), you are disconnected from any security blanket you may have. This is a great opportunity to conquer our fears of loneliness. You get the chance to check in on yourself and really think intrinsically. You build a better understanding and relationship with yourself. Just like when you were meeting new people, you have the opportunity to find and be the best version of yourself to bring back home with you.

While traveling alone can bring some anxiety, loneliness, or fear. I’ve learned on this trip, that there are some facts that are undeniable and help me find joy in the situation. Snails are pretty tasty. French is hard. Bars that also bake bread are Heaven’s cargo. When the Bible mentions Manna from God, they meant crepes with Nutella. French is also difficult. Castles warrant amazing views to wake up to.

Opera Houses have some of the most amazing ceilings. I made the Paris Metro system my bitch. Mona Lisa is the world’s most popular emo girl. Most of all, while my legs killed me after climbing to the top of the Arc, I would repeat this trip in a heartbeat.

solo travel
2

About the Creator

MR. ERIQ

I wanted this to be a fountain of knowledge but let face it, its a junk drawer of word vomit with morsels you can use.

But for those who want to know:

I'm a singer, writer, and queer teaching artist who enjoys talking out loud to himself

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.