Wander logo

The Adult Scout

A reflection on my Scouting Journey and Where to Next

By Tilda CollingPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
The Adult Scout
Photo by Mael BALLAND on Unsplash

In the eighteen years I have had on this earth, more than half of them have been spent as a scout. To be quite frank I think being a scout is something that I will carry with me for the rest of my life, even if they get sick of me and kick me out. Scouting has been the most exciting, adventurous, supportive, caring and challenging part of my life for the last ten years, and I hope it continues to be for the next ten aswell. Scouts has taken me across the country, taught me skills I never imagined I would learn, given me job oppurtunities, introduced me to the people I now consider to be my best friends and memories that make me smile whenever they visit my brain. However, as is inevitable with age, I have begun to think back to the incredible times I had, and more importantly the people who were propping them up.

Zipling at a scouting event

When I was younger, these thoughts were present but not-so important, there were too many things to do and experience. Looking back, I realise that none of that would have be possible without the incredible Leaders I met within my scouting journey. My first leaders, Kaa and Quoka as they was known, were hilariously funny and taught me how to tie knots, use the phonetic alphabet and how to make sure that everyone in our scout group felt welcome, happy and safe. My second leader, who would then go onto be one of the most influential people within my life, is who made me realise how much time and effort he sacrificed, to provide this crazy group of kids with unforgettable experiences.

Phantom, as we call him, terrified me to begin with. He was six foot tall, and unlike all the other leaders and helpers, who wore shorts to combat the Australian heat, but every meeting night he wore trousers. I would later find out that this was because he would race to scouts directly after work, without time to go home and change into anything else. After knowing him for not even an hour I realised my fear was for nothing, he was a welcoming, funny and frankly caring Leader, although he would probably argue otherwise. As time went on I started to see how much he cared for myself and every other scout, keeping up to date with our lives and standing up for our opinions to other leaders. A jamboree, a scout camp where all the scouts in Australia camp together for ten days, was held in 2016. Myself and my older brother were both in scouts at the time, and my family couldn't afford to send both of us, so I was not going to go. I was resigned to this, however Phantom heard about it and figured out a way that the entirety of my fee was to be paid out of fundraising.

Myself and my brother getting ready to leave for jamboree in 2016.

As myself and a few others got older and ready to shift up a section we began to ask ourselves if it was worth it. The closest group that had an older section was a forty-minute drive away, and the scouts in that group were not entirely fond of us either. Phantom then rushed to the rescue and, giving up even more of his own time, helped us establish our own group's older section. Even when the group began to ostracise the older section, and only use us as adult helpers, Phantom started his own group for our section. He fought for us, a group of annoying teenagers, to be allowed to enjoy our youth for just a little bit longer, before having to be treated like adults. Later, when I was struggling to find a job, he helped me to get a job at my Branch as an admin worker. He truly was, and is one of the people in my life that has provided me with support whenever I need, and has helped me grow into the person I am today.

Phantom and my current group walking back after visiting a waterfall.

So thinking back to the amazing people I have met in my scouting journey, I feel indebted to help in any way that I can. The scouting community has given me overwhelming support, acceptance, the most incredible experiences of my life, friends, and honestly a family where I am always welcome. I want to be a positive influence to the new generation of scouts and help them to enjoy their youth in a safe, welcoming environment and to help shape them into respectful, kind and friendly citizens. So in the coming year, I will be trying to lead a scout group, singlehandedly. I'm going to give this amazing bunch of kids the scouting experience they deserve. I can honestly say that these scouts are incredible, outspoken, unafraid to express their opinions, full of laughter and they should get the scouting journey I have had. It will be challenging, Scout Leaders are a dying breed, I will be leading the troop by myself. There are many aspects to being a Scout Leader I am yet to figure out conquer, it is simply another learning opportunity scouting has given me. Whilst I may be thrown in the deep end, I can happily say I have my aquatics badge and am ready for whatever Scouting throws at me next.

student travel
2

About the Creator

Tilda Colling

she/her + yorta yorta woman

Hi, I'm an 19 year old uni student, navigating the world and stuck in writing everything I see, hear or feel. Hoping to give people a new perspective, or new ideas about my experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.