Wander logo

Thanks Heather

For Heather Hubler's "Letter Challenge."

By Gerald HolmesPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
13
Photo by Author

This letter is for Heather Hubler's challenge which is linked below.

Photo by Author

Dear Heather;

I hope all is well in your world. I know we haven’t spoken in a long time and I’m sorry for that. I just seem to have a lot going on in my life right now. We just celebrated my granddaughters ninth birthday on Sunday– after returning from a three-day trip to Quebec. What a great trip that was! My wife and I and four close friends stayed in an Airbnb chalet on Mont- Tremblant, which overlooked miles of rolling hills alive with fall colours. The breathtaking beauty of this place, situated in the heart of the Laurentian Mountains, is truly inspiring. It would be the perfect place for a writer to unwind and become one with nature. There are several small French villages in the area that are filled with tiny shops and wonderful people and I would find it difficult to believe that any writer couldn’t find inspiration on those cobblestone streets. It was almost like traveling back in time– back to a time when life was much simpler and free from modern day worries.

As I walked the streets of those small villages, I let myself dream about owning a place in these mountains– A place where I could awake each morning with zero worries and excited to put pen to paper. Last night, I actually dreamed about the chalet we stayed in. I rarely remember my dreams but this one felt so real that I remember everything about it. I could see myself sitting in that chalet with its sixteen foot ceilings and twelve foot glass walls, looking out at the deck and hot tub and beyond that the multi-coloured mountains in the distance. Oh, how I wish I could afford to buy a chalet like that one but, alas, the two million dollar price tag is a little out of my reach.

I was working on an idea for my second story for the cross-Canada short story writing contest, feeling a little blocked, before this trip. But since getting back I seem to have found my will to write again. I guess I found inspiration there as the words are now flowing with an ease I haven’t experienced in a long time.

You know the contest I’m talking about as your input on my first story helped me to see things I didn’t see and resulted in a story that I felt proud to enter. Thank you so much for that, Heather, your willingness to help and thoughtful approach means the world to me. I am about half way done the second story, which needs to be entered before the end of the month, so don’t be surprised if you hear from me soon.

Also I’ve been trying to judge the Vocal awards without letting the disappointment of not making the cut influence my ability to read the entries with an open mind. For the most part I’m doing okay with it but there are moments when I say, “What? Why? How?” I know I shouldn’t feel like that but I can’t help myself. I think I may not enter another contest like this, on Vocal, unless they change the judging process and put more stories into the short list. I would like to see twenty stories make the cut in each category. At least then the real judges will have more say. And by the real judges I mean the readers. Sorry for the rant but it’s just how I feel.

Well I just got a call from my wife, reminding me of and adding to her honey-do list. So I better get to it. Happy wife, happy life and all that.

Thanks again for all your help and for being a good friend.

With love, your friend;

Gerald

My wife and best friend in the hot tub.

canada
13

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer7 months ago

    Enjoyed the letter. Good luck in the cross Canada contest

  • Sounds like a wonderful trip. But yes, stay on top of that honey-do list. And good luck with the contest.

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    Wow!! I found the link you shared...that place is amazing!! No wonder you felt inspired after coming back. Time spent with your lovely wife, friends and that view :) And thank you for the wonderful letter. I'd love to take a look at your 2nd entry. I sincerely hope you place. You deserve it!! And I agree, I have to say, it's not been easy reading through the Vocal Awards and seeing so few in the short lists. Trying not to feel down at being excluded again. Congrats to you though for placing in the Chapters Challenge!!

  • I'm so happy you're able to write again once you got back! I wish you all the best for the contest!

  • JBaz7 months ago

    First off, I want the #for the Chalet. This was great Gerald, I too find myself saying the same as I try to judge with an open mind. Sigh, maybe next time. Love the letter

  • Naomi Gold7 months ago

    OMG, that chalet and the views are stunning—well, from what I can see. If I was staying there I’d be so extra. I’d do a video tour of the entire place. I feel the same way about the Vocal Awards, and I didn’t even enter anything. It seems ridiculous to me that there are only 6 chosen for each category, like our votes don’t actually matter. Have you ever done the SixFold contest? I am considering it. I’ll never enter another Vocal challenge, because I know they’d never let me win grand prize again due to “fairness.” Not that I think everything I write is worthy of winning first place. But the fact that I know how Vocal is set up (where people who complain and bully hold all the power), it’s pointless for me to bother anymore. All other writing contests have completely blind judging, and rules perfectly spelled out about how long you must wait to enter after winning. I’ve usually got 2-5 contests a month I’m interested in, all from different places with different judges. Here’s Sixfold: https://www.sixfold.org/

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulous letter to Heather!!! Definitely enjoyed reading about your trip too!!! Loved it!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Nice letter, and sounds like a fun trip💚😁📝✌️

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Wonderful letter. I'm glad you found some inspiration on your trip a d that you had time to relax. Btw, you should have invited your sister. 🤣 Nah, just kidding. Imagine me trying to walk the streets of those rolling hills on a bum knee.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.