Wander logo

Ten Striking Things About Japan

Full of Eastern Promise

By Adam EvansonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Ten Striking Things About Japan
Photo by David Edelstein on Unsplash

At a time when I expect there will be a large influx of foreigners for the Olympics, it seems timely to point out a few things you can expect to see

I've lived in Japan for just over a year now, though I've been coming here since about 2015. And in all that time there have been quite a few things which have made a big impression on me, things which make me feel like I am living on another planet altogether.

1.Cleanliness.

Almost as soon as you land you cannot help but notice how clean everywhere is. The streets are so pristine you could almost eat your food off the pavement. I don't think this is so much because they have have a super dooper system of cleaning public places as much as they simply don't foul the streets to begin with. I remember way back when in the Uk when there was a 'Keep Britain Tidy' campaign. Here you will frequently see signs saying 'Keep Japan Beautiful'. Here you are not allowed to even smoke in the street. If you do get caught smoking in the street you can be fined. Which reminds me that still on the statute is an old law that decrees that anti social behaviour in a public place, like for example walking down the street drunk of fighting, is punishable by execution. And in all the years I have been in Japan I have still yet to see a dirty heavy goods truck. Every rig from a small rigid to an articulated forty tonner is kept in a state pristine cleanliness.

2.Automation.

Ahaaaa, here they have taken automation to an entirely new level. All motorway tolls are paid via an electronic card which you keep in a convenient holder in the car. You simply slow down just enough for the toll barrier to automatically rise a split second before your car comes within a few feet of the bar. The bar rises, the money is taken from you bank account and on you go with your journey. Equally impressive is that in a part of Tokyo they have self driving trains on a loop to take you from one part of the city to another.

Automation is also quite common in the home. At my mother in law's house you programme the plumbing system to run you a bath to the exact temperature you want. When the bath is ready a softly spoken female voice will announce the fact all around the house.How cool is that? It gets better.

Almost everywhere you go, be it a public place or somebody's home, you will find a very sophisticated toilet. By toilet I mean the ceramic pot you sit on. They all have an onboard computerised bidet with hidden jets of water which you can choose to

3.Manners.

I don't believe I have ever come across such a sincerely polite nation of people. I have never ever heard a cross word between two or more people, not anywhere. Either they do not have conflicts, or they resolve them all in as civilised a manner as you could wish for.

4.Tips.

A few times I have tried to tip restaurant staff after they have gone the extra mile with their service and attention, only to discover that tipping is just not a part of their culture.Why I do not know. Perhaps it's because the staff get well treated by their employer and receive a decent salary without the need for a supplementary system of tipping.

5.Food.

Like lots of foreigners I used to think Japanese cuisine was all about sushi. In fact, sushi is a very small part of the Japanese diet. In general the diet here is not that dissimilar to the Mediterranean diet that you will find in places like Spain. However, it doesn't matter which type of food you prefer, you can pretty much find any type of food you like, including a wide variety of Asian and Western cuisine.

6.Alcohol.

I can't speak for the whole of Japan, but in the parts I have visited or live in I have not seen a single pub. Perhaps in Tokyo they have them, though I would wager that the principle activity of any establishment serving alcohol is in fact serving food with alcoholic beverages sold as a complement to the food. In the Uk at least pubs have long been the centre of the uncontrolled consumption of alcohol, especially amongst youth, with the concomitant violence that goes hand in hand with it. I have seen nothing of the sort here in Japan.

7.Punctuality.

I have long since come to the conclusion that being punctual in Japan is seen as a matter of national honour. To put it another way, if a train driver is late it appears to be the cause of professional and personal shame.

The public transport system in Tokyo is a model of efficiency and to the second punctuality. In a city teeming with a population of some twelve million people it is essential to have a system that runs like a finely set Swiss watch.

8.Health service.

This last year has been something of a horrendous journey for me health wise. However, the level of medical care and treatment is mind bogglingly amazing. I came home to Japan with a raft of chronic and serious health problems and every single one of them has been resolved to the point of putting all into remission or under strict control. I swear had I remained where I was before I would have been long dead by now.

9.friendliness.

As a rule the Japanese are not only extremely polite and law abiding, but also incredibly friendly. I have not seen the slightest sign of racism, xenophobia or jingoism any where. The people speak very softly in a considered manner which is disarming to say the least. They certainly make you feel welcome every bit as much as the folks back home do, wherever your home happens to be. Of course, the least you can do is behave and treat them in the self same coin in which they treat you. Do that and you will have a truly wonderful time here.

10.Safety.

Safety is one of the things lots of foreigners worry about, perhaps with some cause. In my case the last country I lived in the streets were full of beggars and petty thieves. I had two bikes, an expensive mobile phone, a digital camera and some cash stolen as I went about my daily business. I also had my car broken into more times than I care to remember. I'm happy to report I have seen nothing of any of that sort of nonsense here in Japan. It is one of the many things which makes living here feel comfortable at a time in my life when I just want a bit of peace and quiet. If you are of a like mind then do not waste a second on booking a flight, you'll have the time of your life in the most civilised manner imaginable.

asia
Like

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.