Wander logo

Tapping into feminine energy

Self-Love, Compassion, and Perserverance

By Angelequea BradleyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Tapping into feminine energy
Photo by Mukil Menon on Unsplash

Imagine making a priority to invest in your self-love and have compassion and perseverance to follow through with your plan.

That is exactly what I did! I decided to attend a Women’s Retreat in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica for 5 days and it has landed me on this journey of self-discovery and choosing to live in alignment with my feminine energy.

To connect and live in our divine feminine energy is difficult to practice on a daily basis in our masculine-driven, working and producing society. I have come to understand “feminine energy” is being still, resting, creating, and many other traits.

In Costa Rica, I was able to tap in and connect to my feminine energy:

Day 1- I awoke to the sounds of the jungle and the knock of a bird at my window each morning at 6:00am. The day began with breathwork, which means intentionally taking deep breaths and letting it out with a heavy sigh. Each breath I took the sighs became louder and louder until screams were being heard, followed by tears. The breath work was a release of repressed pain and hurt. After releasing through breathwork, connecting to other women was the next task, revealing my inner most secrets to a stranger provided me with a sense of belonging and giving myself the love I needed

Day 2- My trusted bird came to wake me up with a knock at the window, and the day proceeded with a full day at beach and being washed by the strong currents of the ocean. On this day, I was able to connect and create community with women I did not know. We were able to continue to release our pain and past hurt through writing to the ocean what we wanted to release and collectively walking into the ocean asking her to remove our pain and hurt and giving her an offering. Because carrying past pain and hurt weighs our bodies down and prevents us from seeing ways to love ourselves

Day 3- A knock by the birdy and I was on my way to visit the Bri Bri People of Costa Rica who live in the mountains and live in a matriarchal society where the men carry their mother’s name and go to live with their wife’s family. The Bri Bri people gave me a new perspective on the feminine power and ways to harness my own feminine power and how to trust myself. The strong feminine energy surrounding me led to the cleanse at the waterfall. Women all around me were able to release through breathwork and cleanse away the struggles of being a woman in our society. To restore their feminine energy through water and the rituals of harnessing feminine power.

Day 4-The birdy returned for a visit. Today was a day of rest and being still. I made connections with women from all over the US including 2 women who provided space to a tarot reading and a soul contract reading. Being in those spaces for the first time, gave me the power to recognize my purpose in this life goes beyond working morning to evening, producing for my professional care and family, and leaving little time for myself. The space of learning about my true purpose and how to prepare for it was a reset, it allowed me to reflect on how I’ve been running my life for the last 35 years is not sustainable and I can give myself permission to take a different route, to make adjustments in life that serves me.

Day 5-The last day of the retreat ended with more release and a new found understanding that my self-love, compassion, and perseverance lie in feminine energy and always have the ability to tap into that energy no matter where I am because that energy lives within me.

I send love and light to all living in their feminine energy!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Angelequea Bradley

I am licensed clinical therapist and want to share tools and reflections on mental health and healing through writing about my experiences!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.